We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for long stays who want to escape the busy city centre.”
Review of Good Night

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Night
Ranked #533 of 829 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In the past I have stayed, on and off, at A9 for a period of almost three years. The main attraction for me is the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, the clean rooms, friendly staff and of course a great price. It's leafy garden is also a big draw. For guests who are short term it is easy to get into city, either by tuk tuk/Redcar or your own motorbike. Tips for potential customers; top floor is great for mountain views. Local restaurants are great, as well as the in house restaurant which does good breakfasts, try out some of the local restaurants as there is a wide selection of local dishes that you might not sample elsewhere in Chiang Mai.

It is also a short journey to 700 year athletics stadium, where you can swim, run, workout or just enjoy walking around the leafy sidewalks and paths. Best time to go, either early morning or early evening.

Overall I recommend A9 to visitors to Chiang Mai, who aren't so concerned about being in the centre of the city, but are looking for a safe, clean and comfy hotel that doesn't break the bank!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

The staff is friendly and helpful, the wifi good, the rooms orderly. It is quiet here, but other hotels I've stayed at in CM were quiet, even cheaper ones.

I booked a room for two nights here due to good reviews and, at 380 baht for a fan room, its low price. I found the stay rather pleasant. The drawback is that it is a bit farther from town than I thought. You can rent a motorbike here, but bear in mind that your first intersection is the CM superhighway, meaning I don't recommend it if you have little to no experience.

Taking a tuk-tuk one way into/out of town is about 100 baht. This adds up and offsets the low cost of the hotel. On my third night, I stayed in a hotel just off of the central moat. 600 baht for a room with AC (A9 is 550 for an AC room), also with a mini bar and a nice pool. No need for tuk tuks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMackerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our rooms were clean and tidy, had wi-fi, and satelite TV and complimentary water in the fridge. They also have laundry facilities, so we got a load or two of laundry done while we enjoyed our stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Although it is a 10 minute drive from the old town, we had hired scooters (Through the guest-house) so it was not inconvenient, although if we didnt have the use of the scooters, I would have felt a little isolated. The hotel is in a nice residential area. Rooms were very reasonably prices and well worth what we paid. We booked through hostelworld, and I would definately come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Lovely hotel that's about 10 minutes out of the old town. This was no problem for us and we enjoyed being in a quiet residential area. Staff were extremely helpful when providing advice on trips and never pressured us once to book with them. The room was perfect for what we wanted. Was nicely decorated, tv, hot shower and fan that was just as good as a/c. For £10 a night you can't complain. Would definitley stay again if ever visiting Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Cafe next door does good food and prices are reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Defo worth the price, rooms very clean, stayed in very expensive places compared to this and had worse facilities... Location a little far out but no big deal... It's quiet... Staff lovely and helpful... I booked through hostel world the decided I wanted to stay long so contacted the hostel direct to stay longer and they replied within minutes... They arranged airport pick up for 300thb... Worth every penny... No complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eg901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is a little bit far away from city centre....a taxi or tuk tuk about 15 minutes from city centre. Not walkable. However, the staff are sooo lovely, and value for money is unbeatable. the rooms are basic, but clean with air conditioning, t.v and fridge. The bathroom is a little small, more like a shower room, than a bathroom. But, if i came to Chiang Mai I would stay here again simply for the people that run this hotel. The little restaurant next door is so cute, and the food quite yummy!

If you're going to an Elephant sanctuary...go to Elephant Nature Foundation run by Lek. It is amazing there!!!!! And Lila Thai for massages and any kind of pampering. Both of these places are great causes, and Lila Thai massages are amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnies_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

A9 is out of town - just beyond the "Super Highway" a couple of miles north of Chiang Mai centre. We were a bit hesitant about staying so far out of the city, but the reviews won us over and we like a bit of peace and quiet.

It's surrounded by real Thai neighbourhoods and houses, a very un-touristy and genuine part of town. This means not a lot of English is spoken in the local businesses, but you can get a long way with pointing and gesturing.

There are several good places to eat along the road - another reviewer mentioned the garden restaurant a few hundred metres down and we can second that recommendation (We don't know its name as it was only written in Thai) - the staff were friendly, spoke a little bit of English and tried to teach us some more Thai words. We were the only non-Thais in the restaurant every time we visited. The food was great, but be warned, some of the curries are very very hot. We like our spice and usually in the UK we can't get restaurants to make our food hot enough - not a problem here! You might want to learn the words for "not too spicy please" ;-)

We went into Green Mill restaurant a couple of times - the crab pasta was nice, but can't say the same for their Thai dishes, and the prices are high too.

Very highly recommended is the place opposite Green Mill - again, I don't know its name as it's all in Thai. It's the first street restaurant on the right as you walk down from A9, it has painted tables and a banner hanging over the top with pictures of dishes. Wonderful food for 25-30baht per dish and you can have a drink from the chiller for about 10 baht. Favourites include fried rice (kaewpad), crispy pork rice (kanamoograb) but there's a huge selection if you can decipher the menu. We kept going back time after time and we genuinely miss the place! Maybe some of the other street food places are good too but we never got around to trying them after we found this one!

It's easy to get a tuk-tuk or songthaew into the city, takes about 10 minutes and we found it cost about 100 baht each way. You can walk into the city but it takes a couple of hours and it's not fun trying to cross the superhighway.

The hotel itself was great, not outstanding but friendly staff and clean comfortable room. We enjoyed having waffles for breakfast in the cafe next door. Nice to have free wifi, but it was quite slow at times. A few things that could be improved - the bathroom could use some updating, and the shower wasn't really hot enough. Would be nice to have a table & chair on the balcony. It'd also be good to have shutters or thick curtains on the inside window as light comes in from the hallway at night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikehippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 395 in Chiang Mai
694 reviews
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#388 of 829 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night

Address: 51 Sukgasem Rd | Pa Tun subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand (Formerly A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Good Night 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Good Night reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a-9 Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House
a-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing