We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely staff!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House
Ranked #501 of 784 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is a little bit far away from city centre....a taxi or tuk tuk about 15 minutes from city centre. Not walkable. However, the staff are sooo lovely, and value for money is unbeatable. the rooms are basic, but clean with air conditioning, t.v and fridge. The bathroom is a little small, more like a shower room, than a bathroom. But, if i came to Chiang Mai I would stay here again simply for the people that run this hotel. The little restaurant next door is so cute, and the food quite yummy!

If you're going to an Elephant sanctuary...go to Elephant Nature Foundation run by Lek. It is amazing there!!!!! And Lila Thai for massages and any kind of pampering. Both of these places are great causes, and Lila Thai massages are amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnies_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

A9 is out of town - just beyond the "Super Highway" a couple of miles north of Chiang Mai centre. We were a bit hesitant about staying so far out of the city, but the reviews won us over and we like a bit of peace and quiet.

It's surrounded by real Thai neighbourhoods and houses, a very un-touristy and genuine part of town. This means not a lot of English is spoken in the local businesses, but you can get a long way with pointing and gesturing.

There are several good places to eat along the road - another reviewer mentioned the garden restaurant a few hundred metres down and we can second that recommendation (We don't know its name as it was only written in Thai) - the staff were friendly, spoke a little bit of English and tried to teach us some more Thai words. We were the only non-Thais in the restaurant every time we visited. The food was great, but be warned, some of the curries are very very hot. We like our spice and usually in the UK we can't get restaurants to make our food hot enough - not a problem here! You might want to learn the words for "not too spicy please" ;-)

We went into Green Mill restaurant a couple of times - the crab pasta was nice, but can't say the same for their Thai dishes, and the prices are high too.

Very highly recommended is the place opposite Green Mill - again, I don't know its name as it's all in Thai. It's the first street restaurant on the right as you walk down from A9, it has painted tables and a banner hanging over the top with pictures of dishes. Wonderful food for 25-30baht per dish and you can have a drink from the chiller for about 10 baht. Favourites include fried rice (kaewpad), crispy pork rice (kanamoograb) but there's a huge selection if you can decipher the menu. We kept going back time after time and we genuinely miss the place! Maybe some of the other street food places are good too but we never got around to trying them after we found this one!

It's easy to get a tuk-tuk or songthaew into the city, takes about 10 minutes and we found it cost about 100 baht each way. You can walk into the city but it takes a couple of hours and it's not fun trying to cross the superhighway.

The hotel itself was great, not outstanding but friendly staff and clean comfortable room. We enjoyed having waffles for breakfast in the cafe next door. Nice to have free wifi, but it was quite slow at times. A few things that could be improved - the bathroom could use some updating, and the shower wasn't really hot enough. Would be nice to have a table & chair on the balcony. It'd also be good to have shutters or thick curtains on the inside window as light comes in from the hallway at night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bikehippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We initially booked 2 nights, but soon added 3 more. The rooms are extremely clean with efficient air-con, and they provided a fridge on request.
Next door is "Grandma's Kitchen" which is separately rented but essentially part of the complex. They do good breakfasts, and general snacky food, and are clean and friendly. The lady who runs it also has information about a great genuine village stay a few hours north if you fancied seeing village life from a comfortable lodge.
A9 reception was always helpful, there's free wi-fi and free use of computer. They have a 24 hour cold cabinet for drinks, snacks and beer (but cold beer is much cheaper in nearby loocal shops). A9 has its own DIY laundry, but there are others nearby too.
A9 place is out to the north of Chiang Mai just beyond the Lamma hospital, so you need an 80-baht tuk-tuk to and from the centre. We liked being out of the crush and noise, and you can get 4 people in a tuk-tuk, and they were easy to find. Reception can also call one.
2 bicycles were available free, good for seeing round the local area, very much a quiet Thai suburb.
About 300 metres along the road toward the hospital, on the left, is an excellent partly-outdoor but covered garden restaurant. Absolutely excellent food at bargain prices. There are also a few street stalls doing food, and an overpriced place on the same side as A9 on a corner but I ran away when I saw the prices on the menu.
A9 will store your baggage if you decide to take a trek out of Chiang Mai (which we did).
I originally booked through Agoda, then realised that direct booking was cheaper so cancelled the first booking and was happy to lose my 15 dollars deposit because booking rooms direct meant I got a decent double for under £8.
This place is much recommended, we would definitely go back. However, if you're a 5-star hotel type person, stick with the expensive options instead. A9 is fantastic value for money for those of us on a tight budget. It's safe and clean and friendly. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank SteveRichesRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

very friendly and helpfull staff, excellent value for the rooms speciallly if you plan to stay a month or so but also for shorter stays, nice quiet area with all the important service that you need nearby,the hotell have a very nice resturant, there is free wifi and free computer to use for guests and they help you with all travel arrangments that you need. you can drive to city center in about 10 min, on your motor bike or grab a taxi.
Highly recomended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Phil83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

This is our second trip to Thailand and our stay at A-Nine place was a breath of fresh air. This hotel was the perfect location: a quick ride into town to see the sites while not living in tourist ville. You are minutes (scooter ride) from local food markets where you can try home made curries, fresh soy milk, fresh roasted mango catfish, noodle soups, and so much more (no more then 25 bahts a dish). Not one useless trinket hawker in sight but food hawkers are accessible.

There is free WIFI in your room, complementary bicycles for use, cafe downstairs, and very reasonably priced laundry service. They have a washer AND drier unlike some local joints that hang dry your laundry. The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. The furniture in the room was in good shape (not tired at all). They had a good selection of channels including Bloomberg. We reserved the basic room and it came with a private balcony. The best part was how friendly and helpful the staff was here.

When we got in they worked to
1. find us a room asap (even when we were early by half a day)
2. helped us rent a scooter (which included delivery to the hotel - same service for car rental)
3. arranged cooking classes which we really enjoyed (well priced too, which we discovered after after visiting the main town square)
4. gave us pointers on what to see for self guided day trips with our scooter
5. reserved overnight trip to see the forest, tribes, waterfalls
6. gave us pointers on what places to avoid and what places to go to for Loy Kratong (Festival of Lights - if you are ever going to be in Thailand in Nov, Loy Kratong in Chiang Mai is a must see)

This was such a great experience. When we go back to Thailand again, we will not only go back to Chiang Mai but stay here again.

Note to travelers: Make sure you understand what is a basic Asian style bathroom. Bathroom does not have a tub.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tipharean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I just got through staying at A9 Place for a month and I couldn't have been happier with this friendly and full-featured guesthouse. I felt right at home from the free wifi in my room and lobby, the cozy cafe, and the excellent staff. It is a bit of a trek into downtown, so plan a spending a bit of money if you take public transport into town, but the quiet neighborhood is really a blessing for a peaceful getaway and renting a motorbike is a perfect and cheap solution that gives plenty of freedom. I will stay at A9 Place again in the future, especially if I plan to stay a a week or more, there is no better long stay option.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericroache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This is one of the best places we have stayed, the staff are very helpful. The A9 cafe next door does fantastic food. The rooms are lovely and clean and are services daily plus fresh towels. It is a ten minute drive into the city costing around 80Baht. Access to a kitchen in lovely grounds. A very friendly atmosphere, would recommend to everyone we are on our second visit here.
Beverely & Neil
From England

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
2.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 389 in Chiang Mai
911 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#201 of 784 in Chiang Mai
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House

Address: 51 Sukgasem Rd (Soi Lanna Hospital) | Pa Tun subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 784 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A9 PLACE FULLY SERVICED GARDEN HOUSE A-Nine Place is a charming, fully serviced garden apartment facility with breathtaking views of the Northern Mountain Range and relaxing garden areas surrounding a newly refurbished building with all the modern conveniences you would expect. A-Nine Place is ideal for tourists and business people as we have free wi-fi internet access and many conveniences on site making for a quiet, personal and private atmosphere, ideal for tourists wishing to escape the noise of the city and business travelers looking for a place to relax and get some work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your A-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a-9 Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House
a-Nine Place, Chiang Mai Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing