We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Jennyalv
Taipei, Taiwan
Good Service, location ok!!
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 4, 2013via mobile
I was there with another friend for three nights. Staff was really nice and helpful; lady at the front desk arranged elephant tour THB 2000 and long neck tour THB 900, really good prices compare to other places. The location it was ok, 15 min. from main pub. and restaurant street, still a really nice walk through a souvenir market and some other parks!! Hotel was clean, and rooms were big enough!!
Date of stay: February 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$51
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $42
  • Expedia.com
    $50
0.5 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$134
  • Vio.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Algotels
    $257
1.1 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$98
  • Vio.com
    $99
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Expedia.com
    $114
1.7 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$269
  • Hotels.com
    $279
  • Vio.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $279
1.2 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$27
  • Priceline
    $35
  • Expedia.com
    $21
  • Agoda.com
    $22
0.6 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$83
  • Official Hotel
    $84
  • Vio.com
    $71
  • Expedia.com
    $83
1.8 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$95
  • Vio.com
    $88
  • Official Hotel
    $91
  • Hotels.com
    $88
0.7 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$44
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $46
  • Agoda.com
    $39
  • Trip.com
    $42
1.8 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$48
  • Hotels.com
    $84
  • Agoda.com
    $35
  • Expedia.com
    $84
2.0 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$19
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $22
  • Agoda.com
    $16
  • Expedia.com
    $26
1.8 miles from Panda House Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
29
31
27
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
31
27
9
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 102 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

2 negative points ..
smelly room (3rd ) floor
away from markets and city happening

2 positive points
nice service.
pickup at trainstation

but we don't stay another day
there are nicer possibilities

there is nothing else to say

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entfernt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at panda house 3 times whilst doing elephant parks and jungle treks, we felt the staff were very nice and helpful.
We're on a budget and found the rooms comfortable.
They remembered us every time we came back and allowed us to leave our stuff behind. Muchly appreciated.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanNmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Panda. The young guy at reception was very helpful from the minute we arrived without having to ask. The rooms are basic but that's what you pay for. Food was good but you could probably find cheaper at the street markets. It seems to be run by a nice family. It is in a quiet earlier so you would get a great nights sleep. We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We booked for 3 nights and stayed 6. I loved that many generations of the same family are around the house all day. Kids doing their homework, young people working the reception desk.

The staff were very helpful with booking tours and making recommendations based on what we wanted to see and do. They also gave us free advice on transfers and onward travel to other countries (visas, border crossings, etc). We booked two tours directly through these guys and each was high quality. They helped with postage, transport and were always on hand with a friendly smile.

The hotel itself is basic. We paid about 500 B per night for a twin room. The bathrooms are very simple (but had both western and Thai showerheads). I travelled with laptop, i-phone, MP3 player, kindle and a large SLR camera. No dramas with any of the gear.

The food onsite is amazine. Some of the best Thai food we had. The hotel is within walking distance (we do like to walk) of everything - the insect museum, sat and sunday night markets and the night bazaar. We walked to the night bazaar (obviously) at night and felt totally safe.

The hotel is far enough away from the hubbub of tourist areas that you get a decent night's sleep but it's only a 10 minute stroll to the sunday night marketplace and all of the tourist joints and restaurants.

Panda House was a great choice for us. It was simple, it was cheap, it was well located, we felt safe (as mother and daughter travelling together) and the staff were kind and patient.

Room tip: You either face the road or the drainage ditch at the back. The smell of fish sauce being made was a little overpowering one afternoon. All rooms have aircon and hot showers.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samanthamorriswrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Panda house Chiangmai

We stayed at panda house for three nights while in Chiangmai. We were not impressed with this run down, old, outdated hostel. The lady at the front desk gave us lots of booklets on the different tours but was not available to ask any of our questions regarding the tours. She sat behind a glass wall and let her 10 year old nephew answer our questions with his poor broken English. The location is not as centrally located as other hostels. The front lobby is filled with screaming children from 4pm till 11pm. When we wanted to leave our key at the front desk they put it in a basket on the counter. We were very worried to just leave it there so instead decided to take it with us. At the end of the hallway on each floor you have smoking areas. On a good note our washed laundry came back clean and smelling fresh. 
We are backpackers traveling the world for a year so we don't have too high of standards. It just would have been nice to have friendlier staff, quieter common areas and less mold in the rooms.

When you are in Chiang mai and don't have a hostel booked just take a walk around the downtown area and you will find loads. Don't settle for this hole in the wall.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews