We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smile House Boutique
Ranked #215 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I made a reservation for the Smile House Boutique through LateStays.com and received a quick confirmation. When my friend and I arrived, I was told that they had canceled the reservation because they did not have room. With a bit of back and forth it turned out they did have a room available but it was now 200THB more than I had already paid. I did not have access to email so I could not verify that they had indeed canceled my reservation. I was charged for the room with the original reservation and not refunded in addition to the new cost (I paid more than double!). I was in Chaing Mai for Loi Krathong and many places were all booked up. I would have went elsewhere if accommodations had been easier to find.

The room itself was dirty. There were ants everywhere. The beds were so hard it might as well have been on the floor. Breakfast is not included in the room price and is expensive compared to the little restaurants just down the street. I have stayed in better hostels for the same price. My advice would be to go elsewhere, you can get MUCH better for the same cost in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svjetski_putnik206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Small budget hotel on quiet side street within walking distance from Chiang Mai Gate to old city and Saturday Market. Clean basic AC twin room with spacious common sitting area on upper floor. Super friendly & helpful staff. French style bakery on street corner & several 7-11 nearby. Stayed during Kratong Festival. Highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a hotel that provides good service which is complimented by very friendly staff. It is is ideally located by the Chiang Mai gate and is 5 minutes walk from the Saturday market and approximately 20 minutes walk from the famous Walking Street Sunday night market. We found that our room was very comfortable, it was cleaned every day and fresh towels were provided on request. We have now stayed 4 times here and would recommend highly to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom Orachorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here as our other guesthouse had no room so were moved here for the same price at 700bht. At first we were disappointed, we were put on the ground floor next to the kitchen/reception so basically you could hear everyone and everything including guests and they could hear us too. There is a certain amount of charm to the room but I would say more rustic than boutique and there were plenty of mossys in the room which i know cant be helped sometimes but was a bit annoying. Apparently breakfast is included but we were not told this or encouraged to have breakfast which is disappointing too. Maybe if we had had breakfast we might of thought we got more of our moneys worth.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms were probably better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was hard to find, especially in the dark down alley way. Not far from the wall, but still got walk or get a tuk tuk everywhere. Rooms were cute and clean. Bathroom was very modern. Staff were ok, sometime didn't seemed bothered.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about this hotel, given the limited number of trip advisor reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is one street away from the south east corner of the moat and so is 2 mins walk from old city. This location is great as having also stayed in the old city, its nice to be away for hustle, traffic and tackiness of the central tourist area.
The rooms are large, with huge beds. The beds are a bit on the hard side but at least you have space. Rooms are minimally but tastefully decorated with teak furniture and dark wood floors. Bathroom looks horrendous on website but it is styled as "distressed concrete" and overall effect is actually quite stylish. Wet room bathroom, so you do get water on the toilet seat from shower but bathroom is large enough that you can hang clothes and toiletries at far end and they stay dry. Very clean.
Best thing about hotel are lovely communal areas. There is a huge balcony with large wooden chairs. It's pretty quiet as the hotel is small and guests are not the party types, and so we brought our own beers and chilled out there every night. Much nicer than facing the crowds in old town bars.
Also staff are very friendly (though English is a bit ropey) and they gave us a discount for off season price, even though we had booked full price (and we were unaware of another rate) on website.
The two negatives about hotel were nearby construction and breakfast. The building next door is being renovated and we had an end room so could hear drilling from 8am. Not the hotels fault but negated the peaceful ambiance of evening! Also breakfast isn't great. It's included in price and consists of industrial portions of papaya, some stale toast and eggs with 4 different types of unppealing bacon and hot dogs. However you can just eat fruit and get an early lunch!

The room cost 900 baht a night. I don't know rates elsewhere but for a tasteful (if not basic) room in a quiet location with great communal spaces but not a hostel vibe, this seemed fairly priced and a good option to us. We would stay again.

As a final note, there is also a Smile Guesthouse in old town. Same company, but don't confuse the two. The Guesthouse has a pool and is in centre of old town and so is much more "amongst things" with a younger, party atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception have better wifi reception and are away from the temporary construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a small guest house located a few minutes walk outside of the old city. The staff are vey friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable with aircon and hot showers. Breakfast is included in the rate. Chiang Mai is a great city and I would have liked to have stayed longer. Taxis and Tuk-Tuks are plentiful and cheap to use to get around. The night bazaar is a 5 minute ride from Smile House.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank ElwoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#150 of 394 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Ngern Village
Baan Ngern Village
#184 of 394 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#116 of 394 in Chiang Mai
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#111 of 394 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#125 of 394 in Chiang Mai
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#313 of 394 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Boutique

Address: 3/5 Suriyawong Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $22 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smile House Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing