We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I couldn't recommend this place more highly - we had a wonderful experience staying here. The staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was tidy and secure with air-con which we needed! It has a large garden area and covered outdoor area with table and chairs and free internet access. Its walking distance in the city or a cheap taxi/tuk tuk ride back to the hostel. I want to say a huge thank you for making our Chiang Mai experience so memorable!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

After staying 2 nights at a REALLY cheap and not recommended place I found Gongkaew and I'm so glad I did! The staff was extremely helpful in booking everything from Thai cooking school to arranging transport to Pai and the airport.

Rooms: I stayed in the female dorm and it was clean, spacious and the air-con was POWERFUL! It was great to know that even though it was unbearably hot in Chaing Mai I was going to go back to a nice COLD room :) I also met a few great people in the dorm as well which added to the positive experience.

Bathrooms: The bathrooms are clean, concrete, and hot water worked well. Good setup.

The hostel also provides free wifi (which was a little hit or miss in the dorm) which worked fine in the common area. There's free coffee/tea and toast with butter/jam all day and certain mornings they had gone to the market and has fresh bananas or other fruit.

One of the best things about Gongkaew is that you don't feel like you're in the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. There's a nice garden area and it's peaceful and quiet. No honking or motos all night. It was definitely a nice escape from the noise!

If I even return to Chaing Mai I'll definitely be staying at Gongkaew again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Beautiful garden with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Staff are very friendly. Best place we stayed in Thailand!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurenjenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were picked up free from the airport in the middle of the night and taken to the hostel where a clean secure room awaited. In the morning we awoke to the crows of cockerels in the lush gardens. The charm of this hostel was a large covered outdoor area, with all manner of comfy hammocks and couches, to chill out, eat or catch up on the internet - complete with wandering chickens.

Our host was very good at matching up people to share tours and adventures. We were inside the old city walls and it was only when we drove up the mountain to the temple that we looked down and saw that Chiang Mai was a big modern city with sky scrapers. Thanks goodness we never needed to go there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidAussie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We only stayed one night here but were suitably impressed. We would have liked to have stayed longer but they were completely booked out and I understand why.
This place was clean and well kept. Our room had an ensuite bathroom and air-con both worked well.
The common area is great with lots of places to sit and mingle with other travellers. There is free tea, coffee and toast 24hrs.
We had to move to another guesthouse and the owners were very helpful with recommending another guesthouse that was close by. They even drove us to the guesthouse when we checked out.
Would recommend this place as it is clean, cheap and well located.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewgarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We met up with a friend in the airport and had a ride from the hotel. Our friend's flight was delayed 2 hours and the woman (who turned out to be one of the owners) picking us up was as nice and cheerful as can be even with the long wait. Everyone who works there is nice. They even have a good friend who is starting up a wine business and was selling some great wines there. The outdoor seating area is fabulous: hammocks, loungers and free internet. Location is good, we had some issues with noise too but as it was Christmas, it was to be expected. And they had the most comfortable bed we slept in our whole trip!

Room Tip: All the room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine_b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Family run hostel, very nice people very willing to help with anything, from giving directions to booking the next tour, even to booking the next hostel that you are going to be staying at. Common area is in the open so you'll be surrounded by many salamanders, geckos and mosquitoes (bring repellent). The rooms were big and clean, showers and toilets were clean. Computers and free wifi and several hammocks available to relax. We were picked up at the airport by hostel staff for free, he took us back to the airport for just 100 Baht. The beds were too firm for my taste.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.9 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#66 of 933 in Chiang Mai
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#29 of 933 in Chiang Mai
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#125 of 933 in Chiang Mai
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
60 Blue House
60 Blue House
#20 of 933 in Chiang Mai
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#52 of 933 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Walking Street Hostel
Eden Walking Street Hostel
#34 of 933 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gongkaew Chiangmai Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Address: 5/2, Soi 3, Singharath Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gongkaew Chiangmai Home 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gongkaew Chiangmai Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing