We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. Great atmosphere. Excellent all round!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicythai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spicythai Backpackers
Ranked #63 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place. Great atmosphere. Excellent all round!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We met some of the best people here while on our travels. The staff were excellent and always helping us with information and friendly.
I would recommend anyone to come here and join in the excellent atmosphere. Best value for hostel aswell!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OisinHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a lovely place. Great beds with good a/c! Staff are super friendly and the location is a simple 5 minute and 20 baht tuk tuk away from all the main sites in the center of chiang mai! Luke at reception is amazing he can sort you out with everything in regards to tours and sightseeing or just anything else you can think of!

Room Tip: Just ask for luke at reception he can give you anything you need! Absolutely Anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place and I loved its affiliated hostel- Spicy Pai. Very sociable with organised trips/activities to help people integrate. A large TV area to watch films together and a large table area to sit and chat to people. Free internet. Rooms are pretty basic but clean with a locker and everyone had a room key. Toilet and shower facilities could be better- the upstairs toilet was broken so you had to go through the common area when going to shower/use toilets which was a bit of a nuisance, but personally, the social aspect certainly outweighs this. The location isn't close to the hub of things but quite often the staff will drive you into town (? only if there's a group, I'm not sure). Basic breakfast of tea and coffee and toast with banana or jam.

Room Tip: All shared dorms I think. I think you can request female only but not sure- I was in a female only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huckleberryfinn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We didnt actually stay in the hostel but we found ourselves there daily.... Noom helped us organise our elephant trekking experience and they were all so welcoming... hung out outside drinking endless amounts of Chang.... If there was room for us to stay im not sure we would of ever left!! Def recommend to anyone going to Chiang Mai

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteLucy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hostel is great! I wasn't sure of what to expect, but absolutely happy with it.
It is very close to old Chiang Mai, easily reachable by foot, or 20 bath with red taxi.
The hostel is clean - cleaned everyday.
Lovely common area with big table where to meet people, happy and sociable atmosphere, tv area and backyard.
Big showers (one with hot water) and bathrooms.
Kitchen available, but used only to wash up - haven't cooked as food is so cheap in Chiang Mai.
Rooms are clean and big enough, with lockers, air con, clean linen.
Breakfast offered for 10 Bath - tea, coffee, bananas, bread and jam.
Travel desk as well.
Lovely staff, kind and useful.
Tuk tuk and taxi at disposal outside the door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anninafe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here one night in Jan '13, it was busy and nearly full otherwise would have stayed for more than one night.

The lobby is okay, with TV and lots of films, very trusting staff that allow you to take a beer and mark that you owe them one on the side of the fridge - quite rare..

Rooms are okay, you get what you pay for, don't expect 1st class things at 2nd class price.

Overall quite clean, slight problem with mosquitoes, but managed to meet a lot of likeminded travellers and it helped spur my next choice of destination onwards.

220 baht for a dorm, 200 baht key deposit, 30 baht towel deposit, would happily stay here again. English speaking staff, but not 24 hours, very friendly and not pushy to certain treks or tours.

Room Tip: Book in advance, likely that you may turn up and be turned away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mglinearart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had the best experience staying at Spicy Thai. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful! It was very clean and well kept. It is a great place to meet people while traveling, as the common areas are nice and welcoming. I will most definitely be staying here again when I go back to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: The coed room at the top of the stairs was a bit bigger than the others and I really liked staying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#124 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#168 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#138 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#232 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicythai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicythai Backpackers

Property: Spicythai Backpackers
Address: 36 Hassadisewi Rd | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006, we created our Spicy Hostel that has since hosted thousands of very happy travelers... Do not miss your opportunity to experience the spiciness in Chiang Mai.Beginning in September 2006, we have shown this country what a real backpackers hostel is and how to run a great hostel. Rated No.2 in Asia 2007 and No.1 in Thailand 2008, Spicythai has really brought the backpackers hostel to life in Thailand. A group of young locals with lots of travel experiences and warm hearts have created each Spicy and have brought them to the top of the game in a very short time. Six years of success prove very well that we have been doing the right thing.Now Spicythai is in its new location: an even bigger and more beautiful house in a more convenient location, close to the Old City.Special Features at Spicythai;Apart from normal stuff that you will get at budget hostels such as free toiletries, a book swap, reference books, bed linens, parking, city maps, tour information, etc, we offer more including:- Strong and firm handmade bunk beds (no funny noises to annoy you while sleep)- AC in all dorms (we live in the city so AC is a good investment for climate and pollution)- Free coffee and tea with toast, butter and jams- Kitchen with free spices and oil- Original honesty system mini-bar with 24/7 easy access- Big-screen TV & home theater system with cable TV and an incredible collection of movies and TV series- Communal computers with high speed internet until midnight and 24/7 free WiFi- Free use of storage closet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spicythai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicythai Backpackers Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing