We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
102
32
16
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
32
16
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 155 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I stay at spicythai while ago but I loved it. I had left my friends in Bangkok and headed off for a solo voyage. The Hostel are able to organise all activities for you and host some of their own. One of the nights we walked up to see the cities lights, another the host took us to a thai dance club called the monkey bar which was lots of fun. We also model some traditional thai costumes for some photogaphs for future activities (i'm not sure if we are still on the walls).

The Hostel is located in a safe and quiet area, you do require a taxi / tuktuk to get to the centre but the hosts are only too happy to organise it for you. I would reconmend that you also go in November/December as there is a latern festival on which present chiang mai in a most romantic light. While in Chiang Mai i would also go for a couple of day hike with a guide in the mountains. My experience of hiking/elephant riding/bamboo rafting/traditional thai cusine was one of my most memorable holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingypsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This place is absolutely incredible! For the price you pay and for the location it is so worth it to stay here. I stayed here for 4 nights and the staff was super accommodating. Pong, the owner, was so helpful when it came to booking tours or finding great places to eat. He really loves getting to know his guests. He took me to a Thai BBQ with the rest of the house guests. I felt more at home here than anywhere else I stayed in Thailand. If I came back to Thailand I would definitely go back there. It was the best part of my trip! Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed in a dorm room during peak season, had no problems checking in and getting settled in. The hostel offers free self-serve breakfast which includes cereal, toast, and fresh fruit.

The owners are fluent in English and can assist with organizing activities and tours, as well as giving you great local tips. They recommended this great local buffet place where we were the only farangs (foreigners) there. It was a great meal and a truly local experience.

The area where the hostel is located is really nice and quiet, great for when you're tired from a day of checking out wats or coming back from a trek. They have sister hostels in Laos and Vietnam as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Spicythai Chang Mai for one week in their private room. The location is quiet and in a private village ( only 1 way in through a security post) surrounded by large houses with nice gardens. You are near the nicest part of town - the University area with many inexpensive restaurants as well as good shops and banks.The hostel has a great friendly atmosphere with everyone chatting to each other and a good mix of people ( old and young) The owner and his wife are extremely helpful and speak excellent English as well as other languages. They allow people to enjoy themselves without getting out of hand and disturbing the peace of other guests ( late night parties take place away from the hostel bedrooms). A really good friendly place to stay. The owners also help arrange tours, transport and have their own group 'fun' nights out.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splitterzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews