We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in Chiang Mai!!”
Review of The Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle
Ranked #70 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Cyprien, France
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in Chiang Mai!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Location : 15 minutes by walking to Tha pae gate. The hotel located where is very quiet place so is perfectly to sleep.

Staffs : Helpful,useful and smiley ;-)

Rooms : The Hotel not as big so the room was unique and tidy but careful in the bathroom (floor abit slipping) bed is big enough and is was clean. (Hotel are provide dvd etc as you like to watch)

Breakfast and Bar : Breakfast is a set menu you can choose what you like (about 6 choices) and drink is quiet cheap but when you are drinking please make a note and write it down (for staffs to check later on)

Facilities : Pool quiet small but at least you can relaxing after you have walk too much in the centre of CM.

PS : if you do need more drink or food, should buy from outside because is not so many restaurant and bar nearby.

Room Tip: High floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbtoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    110
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
171
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Castle is ideally placed being a 5 min walk to the main shopping area/temples etc.
The rooms were basic but nice and clean. The breakfast is quite good. There is a nice pool, it never sees the sun so it is extremely cold, the Europeans wouldn't get in so we (Aussies) felt we had to just to show them up.
We befriended a black cat that hangs around the hotel, it lives next door apparently.
There is a lot to do and see within an hours drive (get one of the red taxis, basically a ute and you sit in the back, it's more comfy than a tuk-tuk for longer rides, and cheaper), this is where the staff were fantastic, we arrived knowing nothing about the place, they gave us options, advice and called the taxis for us. They also made sure our kids were ok while I took my wife to a hospital.
I've stay in many 'fancier' places before but would not hesitate to return to the Castle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed for an enjoyable 16 nights at The Castle Chiangmai. Upon arrival the new owner upgraded us to a more spacious room - what a wonderful gift! Our room was simply furnished with dark wood pieces and old-fashioned decorations. The huge shower room must have been 5’ x 5’ and was separate from the lavatory. A lovely feature was the balcony, with a table and 2 chairs, in front of each room and overlooking the pool. Perfect for reading and computer use. Set in a lovely enclosed garden, the pool was delightful. It’s too small for swimming but perfect for cooling off on hot days. Breakfasts were very good. So much choice and variety! Their muesli was the best we ever had. The hotel staff were all friendly, and it was actually a bit sad to leave our Hotel Castle Chiangmai family after our 16 day stay.

Any downsides? It IS outside the old walled city and requires either a 10-15 minute walk to the gate or you can pay to be transported. (The big advantage of the location: peace and quiet at night.) We don’t expect hotel staff to be detailed tour guides. That said, there should be some knowledge of major touristic importance. We found the staff were not knowledgeable about the Loy Krathong Festival events taking place when we were there. We’d have been very happy for some guidance on when and where-to-go, as well as what was actually scheduled. However, given that the new owner and staff had only just begun operating the hotel, we expect that will resolve itself quickly, and they will soon become knowledgeable. Also, we and other guests were each given a kom loi (a Lanna Sky Lantern) to launch at night, so that we could feel a part of the festivities. That was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are well equipped and kept very clean which makes the stay very enjoyable.
The hotel is only 5 minutes from the old city by foot, so easy to get to the backpacker region. It is also about 20 minutes walk to the night bazar too so well located. Not much in terms of bars or restaurants close by without going back to the old city and just a fridge of beers at the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ilovehippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this Boutique hotel.
Everything was clean, the breakfast was included in the room price and was good, the Internet fast and always available.

The hotel staff and the new owner were great and useful all the time... we felt like at home.

The standard rooms are a bit so it is worth paying a little premium and get the superior ones.

The hotel us 5 minutes walking to the center and 10 to the night attractions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diavoletto_Direttore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! First we lost a piece of artwork very dear to us and these guys helped us navigate the language barrier with our previous hotel and tracked it down for us. Then they organised a daytrip for us far cheaper than anywhere else coupd offer. The service here is so incredibly helpful, especially the young thai man with almost perfect english. He really made our stay. Besides that the hotel itself is lovely. The pool, though small, is cool and clean as are the rooms :) the wifi is also fast and works everywhere. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundabout789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We arrived late at the castle but the staff was waiting for us. We hardly stayed inside the our room but I must say that the place is clean and neat. Rooms are not big but spacious enough. We reserved the family room and we have no complaints in terms of cleanliness. The cost is also very reasonable. Perfect for families with a budget.
The staff are friendly and the free breakfast is simple but enough to fill your tummy. My kids loved the waffle. I did too. The castle is located just outside the old town. It is quite a walk... maybe 20 minutes to the old town. There are a lot of restaurants nearby and its also a few minute walk to the night market on sundays. Location is quiet. There is a massage salon in front of The Castle. Oh and before I forget and probably important to many, the wifi connection is quite fast. :D

Room Tip: For family travelling with 2-3 kids, ask for the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuttereyebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#60 of 747 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 747 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#55 of 747 in Chiang Mai
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#38 of 747 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chang Thai House
Chang Thai House
#100 of 747 in Chiang Mai
283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little Lanna Cafe & Premier Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle

Property: The Castle
Address: 8/3 Rat Chiang Saen 2 Ko Haiya | Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run boutique bed and breakfast in Chiang Mai. Cozy atmosphere, great breakfast, affordable price. Located on Rat Chiang Saen Road soi 2Ko, it is very close to the historic Chiangmai Gate, the heart of Chiang Mai old City and yet very well served by public transportation.Our accommodation is only 10-minute drive to the international airport as well as the train station and within walking distance to other major tourist attractions, including:- - The famous Night Bazaar and Anusarn Market - Wualai Community (the well-known silversmith and lacquerware) and Wualai Walking Street (Saturday Night Market - the open-air showcase for the area's famous handicrafts) - Old temples (Wats) i.e. Wat Daowadung and Wat Muang Mang - Chiang Mai foreigners’ strip of Moon Muang and Loy Kroh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing