We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean small hotel.”
Review of The Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castle
Ranked #65 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great, clean small hotel.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a lovely week's stay at The Castle. It is a small hotel, older but very clean and comfortable. The manager, Pearl, is literally a gem as she answers emails quickly and helps with all arrangements. Once on site she helped set up tours, find restaurants, order taxis and guided on laundry etc. We really appreciated her help. The pool is small but fine for a couple of kids or adults, an honor drink's bar is nice, and the breakfast was much nicer than the 5star we stayed at in Bangkok en route. The hotel is located on a quiet street about 5 minute walk to the main road. This is a positive in some ways but also note there are limited restaurants or shops in the immediate location. Not too much a problem as taxis are cheap and readily available though. My children (4 ranging from 23 to 7) all enjoyed this place too.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then get the higher up rooms away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    110
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
172
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I planned to stay 4 nights at The Castle, but ended staying a week due to its great location and friendliness of staff. Pearl, the owner, was very welcoming and booked everything from taxis to tours and cookery classes. She was very honest when helping me to decide on which tour company to go with, for example the low budget good ones etc. She recommended Asia Scenic cookery school and it was fantastic.

My room was in good condition and cleaned daily. When I arrived they upgraded me to a bigger room, I did not complain. The breakfast was delicious and included in the price. You chose your breakfast the day before and there would be a few options, for example, American style breakfast, omelet etc. This always included tea, fruit juice and mango or passion fruit.

The location was good. 10 minute walk from the Saturday market and 15-20 minute walk from the night bazaar area. There were no noise disturbances as it was located in a very quiet area away from the main road that surrounds the old city. I used the pool a few times just to cool off in the evenings.

If you are looking to meet people I would not recommend this place. Ideally it is for couples, families or like myself solo travellers looking for a quiet place to stay. It was very quiet when I stayed, however this did not bother me as I met people on tours etc.

Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at The Castle and will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnbro, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family stayed here in April 2013. This is a great small Hotel, just out side of the south east corner of the old city. We had the family room and a double room. Pearl and her staff are great and very helpful. The pool may not be large, but I never heard my kids complain until I asked them to get out. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I always stay at The Castle when I travel to Chiangmai.

The hotel is located on a quite street not far from the airport with walking distance to weekend walking street market.

The room is simply nice at valuable price.

The staff is helpful and attentive with kind hospitality.

There is a small pool inside the hotel ground next to the lobby for you if you like.
Breakfast is not served buffet style but the it will cooked for you a la minute. You can choose
ABF set or one plate dishes i.e., fried-rice with omelet etc. Its portion is quite big to make sure
you are filled and its food quality & taste is very good. I stayed here 5 times already and found that service has not been dropped in all aspects.

I simply recommend you to stay here and you will see why it is always my choice to stay in Chiangmai.

Room Tip: Up stair rooms are better and more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this nice cosy hotel at the end or April and we thought it was an excellent place for a few days in Chiang Mai. Just less than 10 minutes walk to the centre, which we thought was very convenient as we wanted to stay in a quite place. Pearl, the manager, was a great host during our stay. She was very quick in replying our mails when arranging the bookings before we got there. She even upgraded us to a bigger room. I think all rooms have safe and of cours tv, aircon and en suite bathroom. Breakfast was great. No buffe but you can choose options a la carte. We want to thank Pearl for her constant smile and great hospitality.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide a better few to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelVillarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

its a small little hotel but comfortable rooms are not big but had a nice vibe to hotel small pool , staff are great friendly and make you feel at home , every morning they cook your breakfast fresh not sitting baymarrie and about 10 to 15 walk to night market i had scooter so easy to get around chiang mai

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick210372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The selling point for this hotel is the location. Just off the moat outside the old town. The rooms are quite small and the pool is more like a plunge pool than anything else but good to stick your feet in after a long hot day. There is a fridge where you help yourself to beer or soft drinks and make a note of what you had on the pad so they can charge you which is a nice touch.

The night porter was a bit miserable if disturbed from his film!

The breakfast was very tastey, lots of variety, there was a morning we were getting collected at 7 and they made us a sandwich each to take with us which was very sweet of them. Would definitely recommend. One thing to note however is that there is no lift. we were on the 1st floor so if you have issues with stairs request a downstairs room.

Room Tip: no lift so make sure you choose a lower floor room should you have issues with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#52 of 757 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#49 of 757 in Chiang Mai
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#40 of 757 in Chiang Mai
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
#88 of 757 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#11 of 757 in Chiang Mai
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chang Thai House
Chang Thai House
#103 of 757 in Chiang Mai
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle

Property: The Castle
Address: 8/3 Rat Chiang Saen 2 Ko Haiya | Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run boutique bed and breakfast in Chiang Mai. Cozy atmosphere, great breakfast, affordable price. Located on Rat Chiang Saen Road soi 2Ko, it is very close to the historic Chiangmai Gate, the heart of Chiang Mai old City and yet very well served by public transportation.Our accommodation is only 10-minute drive to the international airport as well as the train station and within walking distance to other major tourist attractions, including:- - The famous Night Bazaar and Anusarn Market - Wualai Community (the well-known silversmith and lacquerware) and Wualai Walking Street (Saturday Night Market - the open-air showcase for the area's famous handicrafts) - Old temples (Wats) i.e. Wat Daowadung and Wat Muang Mang - Chiang Mai foreigners’ strip of Moon Muang and Loy Kroh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing