We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast for a Sightseeing Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle
Ranked #63 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast for a Sightseeing Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the Castle for 5 nights. I more or less used small bed and breakfast as a place to sleep at night, while I toured during the day. I really enjoyed my stay at the Castle because it was clean and centrally located, yet far enough from the main road so that it was quiet and restful. The small team that runs this bed and breakfast is so pleasant to speak with everyday. They were willing and able to assist me in English with getting a taxi, renting a bike, booking tours and finding various locations. They have a little menu of options you can pre-order your breakfast from for the next day and you can let them know what time you would like it served. Everyday the breakfast was yummy and beautifully presented. I found the Castle to be very affordable and I felt safe there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    109
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
169
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keerbergen, België
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at The Castle, Chiang Mai for 3 nights. The place is an oasis in bustling Chiang Mai city. Guest are well taken care of by this family run business. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is a real treat! The size of the swimming pool is a bit disappointing as it is much smaller as the pictures shown. Apart from that: Very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Small swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristVanneste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

W stayed in the connected family room on the third floor. Rooms were very nice, very clean and a bit small, but we spent most of our time touring the beautiful city and surroundings. The location is quiet, but a short tuk-tuk ride to any of the various sights.
The service we received was superb! The prices to the attractions that we booked through the castle were even lower than the ones on the attractions website. We forgot our child's shoes in a taxi and the staff tracked them down for us. Breakfast is very nice, fresh, and they remember the little things- like placing a glass of milk for our child every day after we asked for one on the first day.
I would recommend staying at The Castle, and our family is looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only spent one night in Chiang Mai and this little B&B was just what we needed. The room is simple, the bed is hard (just like every bed in Asia), but the breakfast was VERY good! The waffles were delicious! Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nicely appointed rooms, a quick walk to the moat, super friendly reception, good air con and wifi made this an ideal place for our few days in Chiang Mai.

The people at reception were really extra helpful and sweet, which is a huge plus.

The rooms have modern stone floors and attractive, rustic wood furnishing. Toilet and shower rooms are separate, which I always enjoy when traveling as a couple :).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

my husband and I stayed at this place for 3 nights and from the beginning to the end of our stay the staff was FANTASTIC! they all spoke perfect English, the receptionist are all lovely, the night time boy was sooo kind and very handy to recommend places to go.
The room was beautiful; we stayed in the best room, with private balcony and view to the garden, so nice! even the view to the shower was nice; good wide space in the room: high selling, little fridge with complementary water, hot pot with tea and coffee facilities, TV (with 85 channels in Thai AND English), a desk with a big mirror, towels for the swimming pool and the shower, the best was the bed is not one of those hard ones, it's like home!
the location is very near at the Saturday night market, and the other markets is about 20-30 minute easy walk, or you can rent a bicycle from across the road for a very cheap price.
The swimming pool is small but, with such a small and cosy hotel is just perfect, the garden is so romantic and the breakfast choices are very nice. For me being a Vegan the hotel make it easy giving me soy milk instead of cow's milk, all the staff was great and i'm looking forward to return!

Room Tip: spoil yourself a bit more and stay in the upper rooms. The private Balcony with the view to the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I discovered this place through TripAdvisor in planning our month-long trip to Thailand. We were originally only going to stay for 3 nights in Chiang Mai after visiting Bangkok before visiting Chiang Rai and a few other places, but after we arrived we decided to extended our stay to over a week.

Immediately upon checking in, the owner Pearl was very pleasant and courteous, and genuinely happy to see us and help us in every way. She went out of her way to help schedule us into the best Thai cooking class (Thai Farm Cooking School) based on our likes/dislikes, helped us navigate us to parts of the old city where we could find some amazing restaurants, street food and spas, and helped schedule day trips for us to Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle.

The room was very cozy and well kept with a great breeze that came through the hallway and bathroom window in the afternoon. There was an computer outside our room that we could use free of charge to check email and make adjustments for future travel plans. There was also a nice little pool there that although we didn't go swimming in, was nice to lay next to and read for awhile with an outdoor fridge with cold beers, soda, juices and water in it.

The location was very easy to use as a base of operations for the city. Its just southeast of the city walls, so its easy to walk from The Castle to anywhere you need to go for visiting temples, getting one of the many $5 1 hour Thai massages, or grabbing a quick bite to eat. Its also easy and cheap for the tuk-tuks to get to if you want to ride over to see a night market or weekend market.

However, my absolute favorite part of the stay there had to be Pearl's mother who is the main cook for the breakfasts in the morning. Everything she cooked was absolutely amazing. My favorite thing was this dish that was like a little Thai omelete with rice inside with a little soy sauce on top (see pictures). I think I had that almost every morning with a big cup of fresh coffee and freshly squeeze orange juice. Pearl's mother got a kick out of how much I loved the food, and she even gave me a little extra on the last couple of days. =)

The Castle was certainly one of the nicest places we stayed during our entire Thailand trip (including Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Koh Samui and Koh Phagnan), and the level of hospitality and comfort we felt while staying there was one of the reasons Chiang Mai became one of our favorite places and became an extended part of the trip. When we go back to Thailand again, we are definitely going to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christopherrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#49 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#67 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.0 mi away
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
#99 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle

Property: The Castle
Address: 8/3 Rat Chiang Saen 2 Ko Haiya | Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run boutique bed and breakfast in Chiang Mai. Cozy atmosphere, great breakfast, affordable price. Located on Rat Chiang Saen Road soi 2Ko, it is very close to the historic Chiangmai Gate, the heart of Chiang Mai old City and yet very well served by public transportation.Our accommodation is only 10-minute drive to the international airport as well as the train station and within walking distance to other major tourist attractions, including:- - The famous Night Bazaar and Anusarn Market - Wualai Community (the well-known silversmith and lacquerware) and Wualai Walking Street (Saturday Night Market - the open-air showcase for the area's famous handicrafts) - Old temples (Wats) i.e. Wat Daowadung and Wat Muang Mang - Chiang Mai foreigners’ strip of Moon Muang and Loy Kroh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing