We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
189
110
21
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
189
110
21
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 330 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nicely appointed rooms, a quick walk to the moat, super friendly reception, good air con and wifi made this an ideal place for our few days in Chiang Mai.

The people at reception were really extra helpful and sweet, which is a huge plus.

The rooms have modern stone floors and attractive, rustic wood furnishing. Toilet and shower rooms are separate, which I always enjoy when traveling as a couple :).

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

my husband and I stayed at this place for 3 nights and from the beginning to the end of our stay the staff was FANTASTIC! they all spoke perfect English, the receptionist are all lovely, the night time boy was sooo kind and very handy to recommend places to go.
The room was beautiful; we stayed in the best room, with private balcony and view to the garden, so nice! even the view to the shower was nice; good wide space in the room: high selling, little fridge with complementary water, hot pot with tea and coffee facilities, TV (with 85 channels in Thai AND English), a desk with a big mirror, towels for the swimming pool and the shower, the best was the bed is not one of those hard ones, it's like home!
the location is very near at the Saturday night market, and the other markets is about 20-30 minute easy walk, or you can rent a bicycle from across the road for a very cheap price.
The swimming pool is small but, with such a small and cosy hotel is just perfect, the garden is so romantic and the breakfast choices are very nice. For me being a Vegan the hotel make it easy giving me soy milk instead of cow's milk, all the staff was great and i'm looking forward to return!

Room tip: spoil yourself a bit more and stay in the upper rooms. The private Balcony with the view to the garden is the best.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I discovered this place through TripAdvisor in planning our month-long trip to Thailand. We were originally only going to stay for 3 nights in Chiang Mai after visiting Bangkok before visiting Chiang Rai and a few other places, but after we arrived we decided to extended our stay to over a week.

Immediately upon checking in, the owner Pearl was very pleasant and courteous, and genuinely happy to see us and help us in every way. She went out of her way to help schedule us into the best Thai cooking class (Thai Farm Cooking School) based on our likes/dislikes, helped us navigate us to parts of the old city where we could find some amazing restaurants, street food and spas, and helped schedule day trips for us to Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle.

The room was very cozy and well kept with a great breeze that came through the hallway and bathroom window in the afternoon. There was an computer outside our room that we could use free of charge to check email and make adjustments for future travel plans. There was also a nice little pool there that although we didn't go swimming in, was nice to lay next to and read for awhile with an outdoor fridge with cold beers, soda, juices and water in it.

The location was very easy to use as a base of operations for the city. Its just southeast of the city walls, so its easy to walk from The Castle to anywhere you need to go for visiting temples, getting one of the many $5 1 hour Thai massages, or grabbing a quick bite to eat. Its also easy and cheap for the tuk-tuks to get to if you want to ride over to see a night market or weekend market.

However, my absolute favorite part of the stay there had to be Pearl's mother who is the main cook for the breakfasts in the morning. Everything she cooked was absolutely amazing. My favorite thing was this dish that was like a little Thai omelete with rice inside with a little soy sauce on top (see pictures). I think I had that almost every morning with a big cup of fresh coffee and freshly squeeze orange juice. Pearl's mother got a kick out of how much I loved the food, and she even gave me a little extra on the last couple of days. =)

The Castle was certainly one of the nicest places we stayed during our entire Thailand trip (including Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Koh Samui and Koh Phagnan), and the level of hospitality and comfort we felt while staying there was one of the reasons Chiang Mai became one of our favorite places and became an extended part of the trip. When we go back to Thailand again, we are definitely going to stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christopherrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent our 5 wonderful days at The Castle during our SE Asia trip last week. Normally we would stay at hotel, so this was our first time for staying at guesthouse. It was perfect in every way at incredibly low prices, yet included personal touch. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. Our room was nicely decorated and immaculately clean. The free Wi-Fi had worked well with strong connection during our stay. They also have free public computers on the ground floor and third floor. Good location (very quiet at night but still is walkable to the tourist spots (i.e, weekends market, night market, Chiangmai Gate, Wats, etc) Free breakfast was excellent. It was real yummy and came in a large portion. We are fruit lovers and were totally in love with the fruit waffle. We ordered it for 3 mornings in a rows. They also have french toast and bacon which was really yummy too! All the staff were really gracious and very helpful to all our needs without being intrusive. Booking the excursions through them got a cheaper price than booking from the internet. We started out by taking a full day cooking course at Cooking School, Gibbon and Trekking and spent the last two days exploring the city. We can't wait to go back again. Highly recommended to everyone.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel was small but perfectly formed. We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip with another couple, we booked extremely last minute and were very lucky to get rooms during Songkran. On the first night we stayed on the ground floor which was a bit on the noisy side but the next morning Pearl kindly informed us that there was now a few other rooms available if we wished to move- we moved to a room on the 3rd floor and it was perfect. The rooms we had were just the standard rooms but I found them to be of an extremely high standard, they were really modern, really good bathrooms, good AC, clean, nicely decorated, good size.
There was a cute pool and a nice little breakfast area and the breakfast was really good, there was lots of choice and everything we ordered was beautiful.

The location was great with a short 5 min walk into town and Pearl arranged everything we needed from day trips to scooter higher.

We would highly recommend The Castle and will definitely stay here again if we re-visit Chiang Mai. This was an extremely lovely hotel with a budget hotel price tag.

Room tip: Try to stay on the upper floors as the ground floor can be noisy.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews