We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place if you want to be by the Night Bazzar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Great price and location, though i would have preferred more to stay in the old city at a boutique hotel...more cozy and better value. Le Meridian is right outside the Night Bazzar, the traffic during the day by the hotel is too busy and loud. Doesn't include breakfast, unless it's upgraded to a pkg, pool area doesn't have a hot tub.

i would reco to friends if they want to stay in a more touristy part of Chiang Mai, otherwise Old City would be the way to go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citrusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Dear Citrusy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel. Indeed we are located in the city center which is convenient to some travelers due to the easy access to the Night bazaar. Thank you also for the comment about the breakfast, when booked directly through the hotel or through our website we usually offer both to make it most convenient for each traveler; hence some rates are without breakfast and some include breakfast.
Thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback – much valued and appreciated.

Best regards

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 3,118 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

Decided to stay in le Meridien after all the positive reviews from Tripadvisor. Was also considering Dusit initially because they threw in free breakfast and complimentary airport transfer after I emailed them.

Checked in on the 11th Sept and out on the 13th. We booked three rooms for our parents on wheel chairs, 3 young kids and my brother and his family from Singapore.
All of us were upgraded to the rooms on the 20th floor. Thank you.

We were very impressed by the staffs who came to pick us up from the airport using the hotel van. The staff s were very friendly, informative and very polite. The concierge staff offered to book for us Khantoke dinner and to arrange for tours. Reception staffs need to be praised as well.

The night bazaar is just at the entrance. Night market and Mae Ping river are also not very far away.We have no problems with food, McD, Burger King< The Kitchen (Thai Food ) and the seafood restaurant at the night market (Ping Ping, must try the grilled crabs and fish).

The only disappointment was we could not get a birthday cake for my brother. We were told we need to pre order the cake by the restaurant staffs. Managed to get slices of cakes from Doi Tung next door as a substitute.

Will definitely come back the next time. And also do not forget to check out the jewellery shop next to the lifts. Got myself a beautiful bracelet for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggielsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Dear maggielsl,

Thank you for your detailed review, and thank you for your positive comments about our associates who picked you up as well as concierge and Front Desk. I have shared your comments with the team and they are very happy to hear that you enjoyed their service.

I have also shared your comment about the cake with our team and would like to apologize that he cake was not available to you. Usually we can arrange a special cake even with a short notice unless some of the necessary ingredients or the Specialist Pastry Chefs in our kitchen are not available in that moment.

I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed the convenient location as well as our Le Méridien Boutique located near the lobby.

Glad to read that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Le Méridien Chiang Mai in the future and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please do reach out to us.

With kind regards


Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We have just left the hotel and I had to write my review of this hotel straight away!

This hotel is amazing, from the friendly staff who cannot do enough for you, to the wonderful rooms which are an oasis after a tiring day of trips.

The rooms (we had one facing the mountains with a kingsize bed) are great. The beds are really comfortable and such a good size. The bathroom is amazing, huge bath, the best shower ever and fresh toiletries every day. The only thing which let the room down slightly was the air con which was a little noisy but we could deal with it.

The pool is such a nice size with a jet pool and decorative fountains. The hotel provide you with towels and also give you a glass of water and a cold face towel which is a reallty nice touch! The pool staff are really friendly too.

Breakfast was big, with a good selection of european and asian choices. They will make you fresh eggs and also other unusual items such as croque monsieur and smoked salmon on a scone with a poached egg and avacado, had one of these this morning and was very good.

The location of this hotel is very good, right on the doorstep of the nightmarket. You hotel is like an oasis though and you can't hear anything in your room from the street.

I would stay at this hotel again if I am ever in chiang mai again

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

Dear Plantie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience of Le Méridien Chiang Mai on tripadvisor.

We were delighted to hear that having chosen to stay with us you really enjoyed your stay, especially the room, facilities and location of our hotel. Your kind comments regarding the service of the team are much appreciated and will be shared accordingly.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Yes it was double the price for half the number of nights stayed compared to my Brother who stayed arround the corner......But I would pay it again in a second.
The lady at front desk was very helpful and pointed us in exactly the right dirrection so we could catch the All Blacks thrash the Wallabies "The Irish Bar"
The Beds were Oh So Comfortable, Breakfasts fabulous, and Pool staff great.
I had a mishap at the Gym nothing serious just a machine malfunction, Flowers and a letter of apology arrived!!!!!
All in all attentive proffessional staff and a fabulous stress free stay.
Nigel and Karen Wiggin, Otaihanga, New Zealand

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear Mr and Mrs Wiggin,

Thank you for your lovely comments that you had posted on trip Advisor.

We are glad to read from your review that you had wonderful experience in our hotel and was particularly pleased to read about the service of our associates. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with the entire team. My apologies for the malfunction of the machine in the fitness center, it had been fixed during regular maintenance intervals by the supplier and is back in operation.

The team and myself are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My family and I stayed here for 5 days and had an amazing time. Everything about the hotel was great. It is located right in the heart of the Night Market area and within short walking distance to many restaurants, coffee houses and shopping centers. The room was spacious and very elegant. The bathroom was huge and had a nice deep tub and a separate shower. The bed was very comfortable.The room came with a flat panel TV with a decent selection of channels. The pool area was also quite north. It is on the 4th floor with a good view of the city. The workout room was one of the best I have seen in an Asian hotel. Breakfast was amazing...one of the best I have ever had in 8+ years of living and traveling in Asia. Wide selection of both Western and Asian dishes. Most hotel coffee is not that good, but the coffee at the Le Meridien is real coffee served in a French press. Amazing breakfast!

The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous. My wife was given a 50% off voucher for the spa as a birthday gift. The 2 1/2 hour spa was one of the best she has ever had. Everything about the hotel was spectacular...it would be hard for me to find something negative to say about our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Dear Nangchen,

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Le Méridien Chiang Mai on Trip Advisor.

Glad to note that you had enjoyed your 5 days stay with us and that you were pleased with the service and facilities at the property. It’s encouraging to read your feedback and supports our aim to create lasting memories for our guests.

On behalf of myself and the entire team here at Le Méridien Chiang Mai, we look forward to welcoming you back to discover more about our hotel and the city of Chiang Mai.

Best wishes

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed across the road at the Centara last year, and this hotel far exceeds it. sure, its in a different class, but what a greay stay. Rooms not huge but comfortable and great views. We upgraded to a club room and the club lounge was great. The pool is fantastic as is the service. Lobby bar very good, and whilst we are very much into thai food, we tried the in house italian resturant and had one of the best meals we have ever had.
first class experience

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicko68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2010

Dear nicko68,

Sawadee krab from the northern capital,

Many thanks for choosing the Le Méridien Chiang Mai this time and for taking time to share your remarkable experience. It is great to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and you found our hotel a first class experience. In particular the service and facilities such as the Pool, Club Lounge, Bar and the Favola Restaurant under the watchful eye of Chef Gustavo. Your review is truly encouraging and supports our aim to deliver exceptional service to our guests.
We hope your travels bring you back to Chiang Mai in the near future and we hope to welcome you again.

Best wishes

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I am a fairly harsh critic when judging hotels and I could not find a single thing wrong with this hotel. The room was beautiful, comfortable, modern, elegantly designed, and the bed/pillows provided the best sleep of my life! I even bought pillows after checking-out!!

The breakfast was incredible, as was the hotel's location and friendly staff. I could not have asked for anything better in a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinoLindner, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2010

Dear nyujay2010,

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Chiang Mai. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our teams.

We wish you wonderful dreams with your new Le Meridien pillows and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the nearest future.


Best regards

Tino Lindner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $126 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing