We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$102
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$550
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$96
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,349)
Filter reviews
3,349 results
Traveler rating
1,960
1,024
271
65
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,960
1,024
271
65
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketspg memberlatest recipespg pointsthe club loungecorner suiteburger kingconcierge deskmountain viewinfinity pooldoi suthepold citylobby barupgraded to a suitebreakfast buffethigh floorfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,232 - 2,237 of 3,349 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We booked a prepaid room including breakfast for two for ~$114 inc. tax, not a lot by western standards, but pricey for the area. As a Starwood Gold member, we got upgraded to the Preferred Guest floor to a very nice room. The room was adequately sized with a nice bathroom, but like the Le Meridien in Bangkok, it has a curious bathroom design that connects directly to the bedroom...fine if you are by yourself on business, but odd for a couple.

The hotel is modern, clean and has nice amenities. The rooms have rainfall showers, comfy beds with two types of feather pillows and French press coffee makers. The elevator has some signature soundtrack that is amusing at times and odd at others.

The gym overlooking the pool is quite nice,with a dozen or so cardio machines, new weight machines, a smith machine, and dumbbells up to 25 KG. If you want to exercise on your trip, this is a nice option.

There are a couple downsides: We had high hopes for breakfast, but were disappointed. There seem to be countless choices, but none of it tasted very good to us. And as others have noted, the coffee, like the food is served lukewarm. I got smart a couple days in and asked for a French press extra hot. They still couldn't quite get this right. I would expect that would get better with time. The hotel also has mosquitoes inside the restaurant, and many of them around the baked goods. They seem oddly stingy with towels...how about a couple extra ones folks, especially since the rainfall shower gets lots of water on the bathroom floor.

If you want a nice, clean hotel with a good gym and great location and don't mind paying a bit more than local Thai places, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattle_maslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Had 3 nights in Chiang Mai and am very happy with the decision to take Le Meridien as my option for this trip; rooms and ameneties are perfect, clean and spacious with personnel willing to find solutions; the thai restaurant 'latest recipe' serves a very good food and i strongly recommend; prices are a bit spicy compared to the city and other locations but cheaper than in Europe; cleaning service is perfect;
Location is also very good, 20m from the Night Market and on the Loi Kroh Rd., which is Chiang Mai's replica to Bangkok's Nana, full of bars, clubs and massage centers + street food.

Concierge always helpful but not always there, sometimes you need to wait few mins; but it did not bother me at all;

I recommend taking a local taxi from the airport, negociate sth. around 150-200 Baht per car; hotel shuttle was outragious, 10 times more expensive, about 1500 Baht.

All-in-one, one of the best deals price-quality i have ever had in Asia and i strongly recommend the hotel for both business and leisure

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinks_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Although some people may find fault with the hotels character we were perfectly fine calling it home for 4 nights. It is located across the street from the Night Bazaar which is a blast to walk through as well as stop for a midnight foot massage with a beer in hand for a total of 3 dollars. The hotel also has a great pool (although a bit chilly) overlooking the mountains that are north of the city. One of the reasons we really liked this hotel was that it was two blocks from the old city. You can walk anywhere from there. Did I mention we paid 63 dollars a night ?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights in a standard room. Very similar to Le Meridien in Bangkok, although IMO the Chiangmai rooms are perhaps not quite as nicely finished as Bangkok LM.

Room size is adequate, maybe a little on the small side. Bathroom good, with separate (very nice) rainfall shower & bath, and well lit shaving mirror (essential for my make-up!). Loved the coffee plungers and complimentary sachets of ground coffee in the room - so you can make real coffee, not the dreaded instant sludge. Bed is VERY comfortable, with two kinds of pillows. However, I found it difficult to sleep due to the air con - would wake up freezing, then an hour later wake up hot. Problem may be specific to that room only - if staying longer I would have requested a room change. Also, no DVD player in the rooms, which seems rather penny-pinching for a new hotel aiming to be 5*.

Gym is above average for hotel gyms, several treadmills, cross-trainers, free weights and an acceptable amount of weight machines (no leg press though, just my personal gripe). Open 24 hrs - after the pool closes around 9 pm they also close the gym, but you just swipe your room card for access, go in and turn on the lights & air con and you're in your own private gym.

Pool is fine for doing laps (I think around 20m?), a little chilly in February, but manageable. No sunlight hits the pool area at all until around midday, but in full sunlight by around 1 pm - great for me, as I don't like sun and got my swimming done early, but those who want to sunbake by the pool in the morning would be disappointed.

Breakfast - Range and quality of items way above the average breakfast buffet in Thailand. Worth getting up early for - finishes at 10, although staff seemed happy to extend for late-comers. On the negative side, first morning arrived at 9.15 and several of the popular cooked items had finished and were not replaced at all, simply leaving the empty dishes with their delicious sounding nametags to taunt me. Also, was often difficult to get a cup of hot coffee - or any coffee at all. Had to ask three times one morning and when it arrived it was barely lukewarm. Kind of odd for a hotel that makes much of its illy coffee.

Front desk service was excellent, dealing politely and quickly with my many requests, addresses to be written in thai, breaking large notes into small change, etc, etc. Housekeeping also handled my requests for extra hangers and towels quickly.

Overall great hotel, not perfect, but I'd have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zippo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

So I am going to try and make this shorter, but basically, this hotel is a real downer. The front desk is woefully understaffed and I have seen a concierge only about 1 hour over the past 4 days. With one more to go, I am looking forward to the Marriott in Phuket. this is my second try at this as I lost my first review once I hit submit. The connection died. that gives you an idea of how this has gone. First there is no information available anywhere (unlessthe net--but that is a whole other problem) on the amenities at this hotel, so write it down before you come. The rooms are modern, but the designer must have been on drugs when he/she came up with the design. You have to climb over sofas and tubs to open/close shades. Hone up on the acrobatic skills before coming here. There are two plugs (with two outlets each) in our room, so if you have cell phones, a computer, the coffee pot, and the hairdryer, you have an issue. The plug in the bathroom will only take electric shavers--do that many people use them?- and not hairdryers--what is with that? There is a big desk in the room with two drawers for hanging files. I just have to wonder do that many people carry around lots of hanging files? What were they thinking? There is a big window between the bathroom and the room. This would not be so much of a problem, but there is no privacy for the toilet, maybe I am just too old for this.
My key card has broken twice, even after I have watched where it was so it would not get demagnetized...they are just bad.
Finally, you can only get wifi in the restaurants and lounge....not in your room. This is just totally unacceptable for such a major hotel. My husband is in the convention business and so we have been in lots of big hotels, this is by far the worst. I have noticed issues with Starwood properties as there is a lot of glitz, but not much substance. This only confirms my worst thoughts. If you want glitz, come here, if you want good service, a hotel that cares about its customers, look elsewhere.
The highlights here are the restaurant and the pool, but that is not enough of a reason to come here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmsWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews