We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel! Questionable Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel! Questionable Service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed at the Meridian Hotel on our honeymoon to Thailand! We arrived NYE and were so excited to stay in such a new and beautiful property in such a lively part of town (right next to the Night Market). Unbeknownst to us in advance, we were required to participate in a mandatory New Years Eve Gala Dinner at the hotel. This is not what we planned to do on NYE, but since it was not an option, it sounded fine enough.

We made our table reservation, as required, and arrived to a bleak brightly lit conference room with an less than average jazz trio in the corner. A huge buffet was set up but since our reservation was at 8:30, the food was cold and unappetizing. We finished dinner and to our shock we received a bill for $260 USD!!! For a dreadful buffet dinner!!! In Thailand!! Those who have been to Thailand know that this is outrageous. Naturally, we questioned the waitstaff who simply shrugged their shoulders and said "Sorry". We complained to the front desk who pretty much said we were required to pay for the mandatory $260 dinner, whether we liked it or not- they claimed that we were informed of this required dinner before arriving, which is not true. The manager was unapologetic and quite rude when we claimed to never have received notice of this requirement upon making our reservation.

This was a very disappointing way to start the honeymoon! Thailand is full of very friendly and accommodating people- however, the Meridian is an unfriendly corporate bubble in the middle of an amazing city. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone- there are many many lovely places to stay! The rooms at the Meridian are nice, but it is not worth being treated like an idiot with dollar signs written on your forehead! Stay somewhere else if you want the real Chiang Mai experience!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank liv2travel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    905
    250
    57
    20
See reviews for
555
1,299
215
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

I've stayed there for 3nights with my parents.

The hotel located exactly in the night market area so it is so convenient to see and find what we can do in this city as well as tasty local food!

I stayed in higher floor and the view is spectaculous. I was supposed to have an extra bed but they didn't. It's fine as they provided me a superior room with 2 double beds.

Breakfast were cool esp their "signature dishes". The restaurant service was excellent on normal days. What i mean is that on my third day morning, there's a conference in the hotel where there are lots of participants went into the restaurant for breakfast also and the staff were not able to take care all guests with good standard.

The city map which provided by the hotel have good design. Swimming pool area was a bit crowd even there are only half of the sun seats occupied.

Only one negative point here- as the hotel was newly opened, lots of visiting guests walk around with the hotel staff which made us feel a bit disturbing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

I recently stayed 3 nights in one of the Le Royal Club rooms and was pleased with every aspect of the stay. For a very modest upcharge, Le Royal Club provides greatly enhanced service and I absolutely recommend it. In addition to private check-in and check-out in the club lounge, it provides staffed service from 6:00 am until 10:00 pm, including an excellent breakfast, evening cocktails, computer stations, and all-day beverages. The lounge staff is extremely helpful and quick to learn your name, and the facility is quite spacious and nicely turned out.

While the club level service with a mountain-view room enhanced my stay, I found the spa, gym, and pool to be excellent, and the massage therapists were of top-tier international standards and at a price quite reasonable for the quality of the spa facility.

Just as importantly, the entire property was immaculate and the sleep quality was the best of my Thailand trip. Both interior and exterior noise suppression were excellent and the maximum speed of the AC fan also provides both white noise and the ability to keep the room extremely cool in the hot Thai afternoons.

The location makes the hotel an easy walk to the key historic areas inside the moat of the old city and a tuktuk can easily be had for 50 baht if one does not care to walk.

I considered the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Devi and the Four Seasons, but both are further from the center, especially the Four Seasons. That said, I did go to dinner at the Mandarin Oriental's Thai restaurant. The food is excellent and music and traditional dance is offered complimentary in the evening on the verandah, making the evening a special experience at an extremely reasonable price.

The design is, at least to me, well-thought and fashionable without being edgy, but I do agree with other reviewers that the Ikea-esque room cabinetry may not age very well and mine had already had numerous touch-ups that higher quality materials would not have needed. Still, that is a small niggle for now and I absolutely will return to the LeMeridien if I'm back in Chiang Mail.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtleCreekTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

This hotel is quite new with modern decoration. The room I have facing the mountain and gives me a good view through a big glass window. The gym, swimming pool are in good condition and very nice. The buffet breakfast has variety of food and very good.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Overall good experience. The hotel is pretty new and rooms were clean. We paid for the daily breakfast which I would highly recommend. We relied on the staff a number of times to help us with directions and find locations and they were consistently helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

This hotel is amazing. New, clean, modern and great location. Literally right next to night market and many restaurants. Front desk was helpful in planning excursions. Great breakfast buffet (at a typical American price). We found room service to be excellent and a great value. The pool is wonderful. Not huge, but large enough for a dip and leisurely swim. The rooms were absolutely amazing. Flat panel tv, super super comfy bed, large tub and rain shower. Amazing views! Found a promo, and paid around $70/night, it was worth every cent. I would have paid much much more for this caliber of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

This hotel was perfect, in the heart of everything, clean and beautiful room

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 376 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing