We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brand new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #22 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed March 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Le Meridien for 4 nights ---- we have to say this hotel is absolutely fantastic in everything ---- Location, Room, Service and Staff more on that later. We booked promotion rate on Le Meridien website stay 4 pay for 3 nights which offered very good value for money in a high standard 5 stars hotel. We booked Royal Club Room but the hotel occupancy very low so they upgraded us to Junior Suite which was brilliant. We had a perfect stay for our first time in Chiang Mai.

Arrival: we booked the limousine transfer so when we arrived at Chiang Mai Airport we met by Le Meridien Airport Rep. (Limousine cost THB 850 net per car/way) since we walk in to the lobby we knew that we chose the right hotel --- we've been escorted to check in at the Club Lounge on 21st floor --- very contemporary design which we are both like so perfect for us ---- checking is was smooth then she escorted us to our Junior Suite room on 18th floor room number 1834.

Room: Junior Suite # 1834 very big room over looking the city and mountain seperate bedroom --- very large bathroom section which included oversized bathtub over looking the city , big shower room , walk - in wardrobe and toilet. It has 2 big LCD TV both in the living room and bedroom. Coffee and tea making facilities as well as free drinking water.

Royal Club Lounge: on 21st floor serving breakfast from 06:00 - 11:00 or if you like big breakfast you can go down to Latest Recipe Restaurant (06:00 - 10:30) afternoon tea from 15:00 - 17:00 and happy hour with alcoholic drinks and snacks from 18:00 - 20:00. The lounge itself open from 06:00 - 23:00. We must say Club Lounge staff wer brilliant always willing to help you and make sure we are well look after. Can't see any negative at all.

Location: right in the middle of Night Bazaar so you can walk out of the hotel to buy something and also got lots of restaurants nearby. It is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai Airport. Also very close to Doi Suthep Temple on the top of the mountain about 25 minutes which is the highlight of Chiang Mai City that you must visit.

Restaurant & Bar: We tried Latest Recipe Restaurant for dinner 1 night which was great food , ambiance & service but very quiet because hotel occupancy is too low and lots of restaurants to eat on your door step. We also had lunch twice at Latitude Bar next to Latest Recipe again great food and drink "Pad Thai with Prawns" very delicious. We went out to 2 different restaurants nearby --- one is Riverside Restaurant by Ping River nice but more for local people good price and another one we went to Daalabar Restaurant great ambiance good price but if you sit outside be careful mosquitoes.

Departure: It was smooth , luggage down with in 3 minutes and limousine waiting for us to take us to the airport.

Overall, fantastic stay ---- staff was absolutely brilliant , room was superb ---- no negative at all. Only one thing Chiang Mai is a one off destination so we won't be back but will reccommend to anyone to stay at Le Meridien Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,053)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,100 - 2,106 of 3,053 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

This was probably one of the best stays we've had at an international hotel. We've probably had thirty different international hotel stays over the past few years. Le Meridian Chiang Mai really stands out. Wonderful people, great room, location right at the night market, a quick Tuk-Tuk or Taxi from the Temples to the inner city. The breakfast buffet was very nice. To be honest, really the only negative would be that at times the service was TOO attentive. Maybe it's because I'm a Starwood Platinum member, but during the meals in the restaurant if I so much as glanced in the direction of one of the staff even accidentally they were rushing over to see if everything was alright.

The staff in the executive lounge was quite nice and helpful. I would have liked the internet connection to be a little less involved (such as having them print out a document with the userinformation) and just "free" without having to get set up for one hour or whatever.

But there is nothing to complain about, just trying to put something in here that is balanced and realistic. My wife and I came up here for a few days of vacation before heading to Bangkok for Business. We have stayed at most of the Starwoods in Bangkok, and this hotel ranks right up there with the Sheraton Grand Sukumvit in terms of service. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logisnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

we had two rooms for 3 days in Dec. of 2008.
we loved our rooms, the conner room was the way to go.
the hotel is new, very nice, clean, great work out room, nice pool area, great towels and sheets.the best part were the people that worked there. they were all wonderful and really made our stay.
Annie at the concierge desk along with everyone else that worked there really went out of there way for us. we had a great trip. it is also a great location.
the only down side is that it does not seem very Thai like.
you will love it if you stay there. the only thing i would say if you have the money you should stay in the high end places but if not this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank barbara sanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at this new hotel (opened in Nov 08) in the heart of the Night Market at a local friend's recommendation, and loved it. Even though it was peak season, the recent political messiness and protests meant that rooms were going for a song, and the hotel was nearly empty. It seemed that there were more staff than guests, and the the level of service reflected that.

The hotel is conveniently located downtown; the night market is literally at its doorstep, but we didn't notice any noise. The interior is ultra-modern, and being still brand-new, it's very clean. The down side is that the decor lacks local flavor, but you can get plenty of that by stepping out into the street. Although we were there as tourists, I'd recommend it as a business hotel due to the location and level of service. Definitely a city hotel; if you want to experience the outlying natural areas of Chiang Mai and surrounding areas, you'll need to arrange transport. We didn't use the concierge or any of the tour facilities. The pool is on the 4th floor, modest but suitable for kids or lap swimmers; very well-equipped gym. Both those are good to work off the breakfast buffet, which was excellent. The hotel has a spa, but considering the ubiquitous local spas and Thai massage places, including a major one across the street, I'm surprised they bothered.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MRBBKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We booked this hotel using Starwood points on the last night of our two week holiday. The two rooms were lovely (we were on 19th floor) with a good view of Chiang Mai. The location is excellent if you choose to be down town. (We had already stayed at the absolutely divine Mandarin Oriental for the first part of the holiday which is about a 15 minute drive from here).

The pool area is good but you need to be careful on the slippery tiles - the pool was extremely cold and could have benefitted from heating at this time of year. We enjoyed snacks and cocktails by the pool but didn't have any other meals at the hotel.

The night market (which is absolutely rubbish) is just outside the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Outstanding service, great room and perfect location! We stayed here for 3 nights 10 days ago. It is brand new hotel with superb location - right on the night market. When we made our reservations, we were concerned that the hotel may not be fully operational and the staff not fully trained. The reality proved to be much better than we expected. This hotel has been excellent in all aspects from the room itself (modern design) room service to pool and breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s5351b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

What a gorgeous hotel! My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights this past November and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel had only been open for about 3 weeks so I'm sure we were probably the first to stay in our room. Everything about this hotel was perfect; the decor, the staff, the location, the food and especially the service. Starwood Hotels has done an exceptional job making their guests feel appreciated across the board. We were there during the airport closures in Bangkok and Anothai (concierge manager) and Serena (Favola manager) did an amazing job keeping us informed with developments. Anothai even called us from her home and Serena contacted friends for more information!

We would also like to mention that we had to travel all the way to Thailand to find the BEST linguine fungi dish (at Latest Recipe restaurant) we've ever had and we've been to Italy numerous times. On top of that we also enjoyed the best tiramisu we've had at their Italian restaurant, Favola. We do consider ourselves "food snobs" to some degree, so this is not an easy accomplishment in our books; a well-deserved stamp of approval! The head chef was amazing and spent quite a bit of time out of the kitchen speaking with us and ensuring that everything was to our liking as well engaging us in great conversation. He certainly made our dining experience extra special.

The concierge desk was extremely helpful as well helping us plan all our activities. They really went the extra mile throughout our entire stay.

We would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SSmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $111 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing