We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed for a long weekend, as part of a longer trip to Thailand. I found the hotel to be of a very good standard in relation to: location, cleanliness, service, check-in, check-out, housekeeping, standard of rooms and the size of the room. As a Starwood Preferred Guest I really appreciated a complimentary room upgrade. The only negative point from me is that the towels were thin, a bit rough of medium bath towel size. At 5 star hotels I accustomed to softer, plusher large bath towels of bath sheets.

Overall I enjoyed y stay and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LAMN8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,701
    924
    252
    58
    21
See reviews for
569
1,329
219
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spænd a hole day in Chiang Mai to find the bedst Suite!! And we dicovered the Royal Suite at Le Meridien hotel!

In our opinion it's the bigest Suite and the most up to date, and the staf is wery frendly, we came in from the stret looking like we had no money, our cloathing was baad and we had water guns with us from a water fight on the street, but the staf dit not juge us on this, they dilevered frendly service from begining to end, they even gave us a room for our water guns,

The pictures dosen't do it justice, its bigger then it seams!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
288 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel is its location - very convenient as the daily night market is located just outside the hotel lobby doors. In addition, there are plenty of shops and fast food joints (MacDs, KFC, etc.) all within a short few minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are adequate, clean and modern in design and the pool and gym are also good. There is also a long sofa in the Deluxe rooms which a 3rd person can sleep on - useful for families travelling together.

Staff especially at concierge are friendly and helpful. Concierge was especially good as they were eveready to provide suggestion on places to go and visit, restaurants to try and they even helped me get a birthday cake at the very last minute for my mother. She was especially surprised to see the cake waiting in our hotel room !

Breakfast is generally okay although not the best for a 5 star hotel.

This is a city hotel - so it is not a luxurious resort type hotel with gardens or sprawling walkways. If it is a resort type feel that you want, you will need to go to a hotel which is further away from the city such as the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms overlooking the hills which is nicer and more pleasant. The other side has views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The front-desk staff were very professional and always helpful at the Club Lounge. Terrific selection at the buffet breakfast. Great view of the mountainside from our 20th floor. Swimming pool is beautiful and the gym fully equipped. Oveall a wonderful stay at a 5-star resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view and the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArielsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A big brand and new opened hotel, with excellent location and great pool. Nevertheless, comparing the other hotels in chiang mai, this hotel is not so good for value to money. I was paying THB 2,800+ per night, excluded breakfast and internet. The breakfast was branded "Signature". It costed me THB 650 net/per person, I paid for two. The variety was good, but taste and the quality have a big room to improve.

The pool was great, the pool attendants have a room to improve, we were group of four, my parents went to the pool first, they were served by cool towels, bath towels and two cups of ice-water. They even needed to register with their room for the above services. When I and my girlfriend went to the pool afterwards, none of the attendants care us, we need to ask for towels, however, the cool towels and ice-water were not available. I saw one guest was curious where to find a shower before get into the pool, he walked around, the staffs noticed him but without providing any assistance and thus that guest just get into the pool directly.

For the concierge and the bellboys, different staff has the different service standard, they were still helpful and polite. However, some were cool, some were working with passion, some were slow, some were efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FernandoCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear FernandoCg,

Thank you kindly for your candid feedback of our hotel. We are glad you were pleased with our excellent location and great pool.

However, I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with the inconsistency of service level and the quality of our breakfast. Please accept our sincerest apologies and rest assured that the issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, and we are committed to make adjustments accordingly and to guarantee the best experience for our future guests.

In addition, I truly appreciate you also taking the time to complete our on-line guest post-stay questionnaire, which has been responded to you personally under separate cover.

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Chiang Mai.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

"Each problem has hidden in it an opportunity so powerful that it literally dwarfs the problem. The greatest success stories were created by people who recognized a problem and turned it into an opportunity…" - Joseph Sugarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

this is my first trip to chiang mai and i had a 4 night stay in this hotel, it was great!

The check in was extremely smooth and professional and the front office team is extremely professional and friendly without being overbearing.

The room is spacious and clean..the pillow is abit too soft but if u stack pillow together the height is really comfortable for watching tv..everything u need could jus find it in the room.
the bathroom is really clean.u can watch tv in the bathtub..if u dun like the bathtub there is a stand-style shower and is really comfortable after u walk for whole day.

the security in the hotel is really good...u had to put in ur room key into the slot to activate the lift so that the non hotel guest could not use it,.

Defitnitely look forward to returning. Fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weiwei_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear weiwei_12,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our hospitality during your 4-night stay at Le Méridien Chiang Mai.

Your kind words about the extremely smooth check-in to the professionalism and friendliness of our Front Office team are very much appreciated and are being shared with our team. They are definitely such a great inspiration for us to continue delivering the very best service to all our guests.

Excellent hotel security is an absolute necessity, as you said, electronic key card access for all rooms and elevators are designed and implemented to ensure our guests feel safe and have a fabulous stay.

weiwei_12, we are happy to have been able to make your experience at our hotel much more wonderful and we absolutely hope to see you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“There's nothing half so pleasant as coming home again...” - Margaret Elizabeth Sangster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rooms were nice. Breakfast wasn't anything special. Needed a keycard just to work the elevator which was realy annoying. Overall its just not worth it for the price with so many other options around the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Jim M,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. I do regret that the overall experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very much appreciated and are being reviewed with our team.

We understand your concerns with the keycard access in the elevators. For your ease of mind, all rooms are with electronic key card access and the key card is also required to stop the elevator at your floor. These security features help ensure a safe and pleasant stay for all of our guests.

Please let us know if you would like to discuss your stay further. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“Nothing can bring a real sense of security into the home except true love…” - Billy Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing