We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
LeMeridien.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Expedia.com$88
Hotels.com$88
eDreams$88
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,128)
Filter reviews
4,128 results
Traveler rating
2,561
1,146
302
81
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,561
1,146
302
81
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le meridien night market latest recipe the club lounge executive suite concierge desk mountain view infinity pool doi suthep old city breakfast buffet wonderful hotel thai food nice pool tuk tuk favola starwood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,534 - 2,539 of 4,128 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay at Le Meridien was wondeful. The staff were always so friendly and helpful. It was my Birthday while we were there and had a wonderful surprise of recieving a Birthday cake on the day, which was a lovely gesture. The rooms were very clean. With a big bath and the whole hotel was stunning. It is right in the middle of the hussle bussle of the night bizzar, yet in the hotel it was nice and quiet. I highly recommend this hotel. It was fabulous!!!!!!!

Room tip: Dont get a room to close the the lift, you hear people going in and out and doors opening and closing.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 991leahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Leah00711,

Happy Birthday (one more time) - one of our favorite wishes in the world! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am overjoyed to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, especially with our friendly and helpful team members.

It sounds as though you had a wonderful Birthday trip and I was very glad that Le Méridien Chiang Mai could be part of your surprising beautiful memories, and we're happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed your clean room, a big bath and the entire hotel facilities. As you said, nothing is better than our great location – a peaceful contemporary oasis in the heart of the buzzing Night Bazaar!

We strive to provide excellence, and certainly hope to welcome you back again one day. Perhaps for another special birthday celebration! Thanks again.


Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much…” - George Harrison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in June, while travelling to Laos.

Got a room on the 16th floor with great views over Chiang Mai and the mountains in the distance. Room itself is excellent, big, clean and modern. Beds are amazing, some of the best I've ever slept in. Bathroom excellently appointed as well, with a big rain shower and a separate bathtub (which has a window looking into the room. Nice, but fortunately there's curtains to close before you go to the toilet)

Amenities of the hotel are execellent. Beautiful pool with very nice staff that serves cold towels and water. Fitness center is well-appointed and has enough equipment to satisfy most fitness-fanatics.

Location is good, about a 10 minute walk outside of the old walled city and right in the middle of the night market area.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 83Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Bartje83,

Thank you for your kind words and detailed review as it is very much appreciated.

It is my pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your 03 nights with at us at Le Méridien Chiang Mai and that you liked your room and its magnificent views, the signature LM Beds, hotel amenities, splendid pool with all-day delights from our staff, the state-of-the-art fitness centre and most importantly our top location in the heart of the famous Chiang Mai night bazaar.

With our bathroom layout, aesthetics do play a key role in design, however I do agree with you that a perfect product should be both aesthetically pleasing and functional simultaneously to entirely suit our own lifestyle. This is a great learning point for our next product enhancement programme or for the new openings of our future Le Meridien hotels worldwide.

Bartje83, once again thank you for staying with us and for your opinion. I and my dedicated team look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“The happiest people in the world are those who feel absolutely terrific about themselves, and this is the natural outgrowth of accepting total responsibility for every part of their life…” - Brian Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After a couple of 'false starts' (including being given an undeliverable email address by customer service) we finally ordered the hotel car to pick us up from the airport as we were arriving around 11.30 pm. It took some time for our 'meet and greet' representative to appear, however, the car was as expected and soon had us at the hotel. The receptionist was fine but it soon became obvious that our 'booked room' did not exist and at midnight, after travelling from Sydney via Bangkok, hold-ups are not what you want. We were eventually upgraded to a Royal Class room - but this was not available on a non-smoking floor and told that 'there had not been much smoking' in it!. With no other option we took the room and, thankfully, their was no 'smoke' smell lingering. Being on the 21st floor, however, gave us good views and the shower was always hot and powerful.

The hotel is ideally located for a stay in Chiang Mai being almost opposite the Night Market, a short walk to the left and the Ping River and another short walk to the right takes you to the walled Old City.

Breakfast was a little hit and miss with the staff only becoming more friendly and actually smiling on our third morning. The hotel seems to also cater for quite a number of large parties which affect the ambience of the lobby and made for a very chaotic and noisy breakfast one morning. The coffee (cappacino) was good but took some time to arrive and the buffet offerings were okay but nothing special.

A fnal pet-hate of ours is also that for the rate charged by hotels such as Le Meridien, wi-fi should be included in the room rate, not as an extra charge or the option of sitting in one of their public areas.

Upon leaving, even though we had asked for a taxi to be booked for 1.30 pm, arriving back at the hotel around 1.20 pm from our final walkabout, this was not happening and only around 1.40 pm did a taxi booking appear to be made.

In summary, an average 4-star hotel with spasmodic service but in a very good location.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear the_stoddarts,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and giving us thereby useful feedback.

I was very concerned that your recent stay was not up to expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for some disappointing aspects of your stay. Clearly, the experiences you have encountered are not at all the kind of fine service we strive to provide all our guests. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed and we are committed to make adjustments and take the necessary measures to prevent these issues from happening to future guests.

I would be very happy to communicate further with you, should you wish to provide me with more details about your issues so I could look into this matter further and guide my team to provide our guests with a superior experience through our product and services. I can be reached at jitsak.limpakornkul@lemeridien.com.

The next time that you visit Chiang Mai, I do hope you will honour us a return visit to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai


“Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning...” - Benjamin Franklin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We got a room on the 19th flr and had a good view of the night market and the city. The room was large, beds were comfortable and really loved the huge comfy pillows. Hot water was plentiful with good water pressure.
Breakfast was delicious but on certain mornings, there were huge crowds of people who were extremely noisy and somewhat spoilt the ambience in the restaurant and lobby.
The hotel was located right at the night market where we walked every night, from one end to the other....
We tried the Buffet Lunch one day and the food was excellent... I still miss the delicious cookies and pastries!
Guess our only grievance was the free wi-fi which was available only for 1 hour at a time in the lobby. Wished it was available at anytime and even in our rooms.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear LL721,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are absolutely thrilled to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your 5 nights with us.

We are particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed your room on the 19th floor with stunning view of the night bazaar and the charming Chiang Mai city and that you loved our signature LM beds, huge pillows, the location of the hotel and the buffet lunch at Latest Recipe, our signature restaurant.

With regard to the complimentary in-room internet access, you will be entitled to this privilege when you enroll into Starwood Preferred Guest programme and step up to SPG Platinum status after 25 stays or 50 nights. You may find more travel benefits and details at spg.com/platinum. As you indicated, we provide complimentary wireless internet to all guests through our key interactive spaces such as the latest launched ‘Le Méridien Hub’, Lobby, Business Centre and Le Royal Club Lounge.

LL721, I thank you once again for staying with us. We strive to provide excellence, and hope to welcome you back again one day. My sincere gratitude to your recommendation and review.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“When one man, for whatever reason, has the opportunity to lead an extraordinary life, he has no right to keep it to himself…” – Jacques Cousteau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I'd got the room with the mt.Suthep view, which is excellent. The room was clean, big and I can also see the mountain view from the bathroom. This should make a pleasant stay. However, the reception (Japanese one) is rude (in this level of hotel standard). I asked her to reconfirm the check out date and time for 2 rooms and I didn't know she is Japanese. So I spoke Thai in my normal speed. She kind of sighted, and said something kind of " WAIT - A - MO - MENT", word by word, no smile, looked at my face with unfriendly eyes....It was very clear that she didn't has a service mind to help me or may be she was selective to help only the JP guys?? I never expect this in the starwood hotel.

The breakfast is way below standard in term of choice. However the eye opening coctail shot is stunning. Highly recommend to try.

I'd a chance to go for the spa. Just excellent.

So in total, some good some bad. I rated this hotel "Average".

Room tip: The rooms with the odds number has the mountain view. The even number will give you city view.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momofagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitsak L, Manager at Le Meridien Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Momofagal,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I’m glad you were able to enjoy a relaxing holiday at our hotel. It is with a great delight to learn that you were pleased with your room overlooking the spectacular view of Doi Suthep (even from the bathroom) and your relaxing indulgence at The Spa.

Nevertheless, I do regret for the imperfection of service extended to you by our Japanese Guest Relations Agent. Clearly our associate had no intention to make you feel frustrated with the handling of the situation and we wish to sincerely apologize for this incident. Please be assured that the individual has been counseled and provided with necessary service and cultural trainings to ensure that the improvement is made immediately.

Your helpful feedback about breakfast experience has been addressed with our Executive Chef and we are continually fine-tuning to serve choices/varieties of cuisine to suit all palates and will look for ways in which we can improve. Thank you for brining this to our attention as it is invaluable in helping us to improve our services and products for future guests.

Thank you once again for staying at Le Méridien Chiang Mai. It would be my distinct pleasure to personally welcome you and your family back for your future holidays.

Yours in hospitality,


Jitsak (Gino) Lim-Pakornkul
Hotel Manager
Le Méridien Chiang Mai

“Just don't give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don't think you can go wrong…” - Ella Fitzgerald


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews