We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but some rooms bett” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but some rooms bett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, and always been impressed.

Overall its an excellent hotel.

This time, however, my room was less inspiring than previous experiences. The other rooms I have stayed in had great views over Doi Suthep. This room had a much less interesting view over downtown Chiang Mai.

Still, breakfast was good, as were the staff.

One thing that would really improve the guest experience would be unlimited free wifi, not just a short period for free as the case now. It cant be that expensive for the hotel to do this. Many guest houses (which are 10x cheaper than this hotel) in thailand manage to do it for free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booyeahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    898
    245
    57
    19
See reviews for
539
1,273
212
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Le Meridien is a nice hotel in Chiang Mai close to the Night Market. Rooms are comfortable. Some minor design issues in the hotel room, however. The curtains to the room, for example are behind the couch making it awkward to get to in order to close them at night. In the bathroom, the towel rack is at the back of the bathtub, and there isn't a convenient place to place your towel if you are in the shower. Tables in the restaurant are spaced too close to each other making it difficult to get from your table to the buffet and back again without taking a fairly circuitous route. Pool was an infinity pool which afforded a nice view, but fairly small. Still these are minor issues and do not really detract from the quality of the room and hotel overall. Rooms were very nicely cleaned every day. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was quite good overall. Very convenient to get to the night market including the weekend night markets. Recommend if you get a good price. Otherwise there are many other good hotels in Chiang Mai as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is near chiang Mai downtown and different kind of bazaars..
Friendly staff, wonderful&luxury room. You should stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumsal1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My second night in Chiang Mai trip was at Le Meridien Chiang Mai.

After arriving, me and my friend were impressed with elephant sculpture at the entrance as owner here is owner of Beer Chang.

We were upgraded to Junior Suite Room. It made our holiday so full of greatest things. Rooms are spacious, 2 LCD TVs; one in living room and another in bedroom.

All amenities in room are what I called 5-star hotel. Especially, our bathtub get a 180 degree view,, such a romantic one.

All staffs are helpful, concierge gave me a good suggestion of our dinner.

Love to be there again.

Room Tip: What a nice Junior Suite. I really love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Due33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The great thing about chains is that you always know what you are getting, no matter what far flung destination you find yourself in you can always rely upon a chain to provide good friendly service, a clean, fully functional room, and above all, not to rip you off.

This was our logic behind staying at Le Meridien in Chiang Mai. Unfortunately, it seems our logic was terribly flawed.

Having checked into a room we were sent into an instant panic when we found several black insects nesting in the bathrobe. It was the start of a disastrous two-night stay.

On the second night of our stay, coming back after a long, tiring day trip, we returned to our room to find that our hot water wasn't working. We phoned down and the maintenance team gave us the helpful advice of "turning the tap the other way". After assuring them that I had had hot water that morning and knew which way to turn a tap, they sent someone up to fix the problem. He spent fifteen minutes turning the tap on and off, leaving the room and coming back, while we sat around in our robes, tired and desperate for a shower.

After a while they informed us that they couldn't fix it and would be moving us to another room. To compensate for the inconvenience they upgraded us to a junior suite. We packed up and moved rooms, relieved that we would finally be treated to a hot shower.

However, the long awaited shower was ruined by the fact that a loud, ear piercing whistle – which was audible throughout the suite – accompanied the flow of water, making it unbearable to stand for very long with the water running. What's more, the seal on the shower door had obviously seen better days and having only had the shower on for a matter of minutes, it had flooded the bathroom floor.

We called down again. This time they sent up two men and a step ladder. After spending another 20-odd minutes sitting around in bathrobes, waiting for the problem to be fixed we decided to abandon any hope of having a shower and go out. We informed the front desk that we weren't happy and they assured us that it would be fixed when we came back.

Returning to the hotel two hours later the receptionist informed us that it had been fixed, and that they had sent up a "fruit basket" for the inconvenience. Not only were we totally disappointed by the "fruit basket" – a plate with a couple of moldy apples and a dragon fruit (with no knife in sight, I have no idea how we were supposed to eat the dragon fruit) – but while the noise had been dampened the door was still leaking terribly.

So, we decided upon a bath.

The bath was no better – it creaked so much that we were worried that we were going to end up going through the ceiling and into the room below, and we are by no means large or heavy.

To top it off when we checked out we were presented with a bill that was considerably more than the rates we had been quoted when checking in. Unsurprisingly, upon questioning the extra cost, they quickly took it off, leading us to believe that this is simply a scam they try with everyone.

Not only were these specific incidents a blight on our stay, but the overall quality of the hotel was very disappointing. The rooms were very bland, more akin to a travel lodge than a supposed five-star hotel, and the junior suite that we were upgraded to was equally disappointing it was very badly designed and laid out, the tiles in the bathroom were quite cracked and grimey, and the taps on the sink were extremely stiff.

Having stayed in the likes of the Mandarin Oriental and the Sofitel, we were totally disappointed by our stay at Le Meridien. it just wasn't up to scratch with other five star chains and we won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a suite, they really aren't worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights early May for a meeting I attended in the hotel. The hotel room was spacious, clean and well furnished. Breakfast was of good quality despite it was crowded for tour groups and a major conference going on in the hotel. The gym was well equipped, well lit and well attended. Nice location, right next to the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazar. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the city.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 143b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing