We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Not used to this class of hotel and was thinking I would be overawed,
. But i was so pleased we came it was really lovely ,staff,food,pool and bar all were brilliant.Wish we could afford to come here more often,great,

Room Tip: we had the royal class very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    915
    250
    58
    21
See reviews for
559
1,314
216
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was my first stay at a Le Meridien and I definitely enjoyed the overall design and modern style of the property and the room. The staff, while definitely helpful when approached, did not seem very welcoming compared to other places I stayed in Thailand...impersonal is the word that feels right here.

The gym is great, the breakfast buffet good and the location is excellent for doing most anything in town. The room itself was modern and clean and in good condition overall. However, despite the property only being a year old, the faux-wood grain counters of the desk and nightstands were quite worn and scratched up from use, showing much more wear by far than anything else in the room....sure the hotel isn't happy with this design flaw as well.

Room Tip: Avoid a room across from the freight elevator like mine was...I could hear maid's carts coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KozyKritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great hotel. Enjoyed the experience. Stayed for a vacation upgraded to a suite. Nice and large rooms and the contemporary design of the hotel is simple and nice. The lounge area too is great - free wifi and always stocked up with drinks and the breakfast and evening snacks are excellent. Our family actually spent a lot of time here in the evening after a great day out. The staff here are terrific - friendly and attentive - especially the staff at the lounge. In the general restaurant downstairs though there is one or two that was not up to the standard of the rest. Another good thing about this hotel is that the night market is right in front of it. So it is terrific fun to go out in the evening to observe and be part of the bargaining process and then within a few minutes be back in the comfort of your hotel. I think this is one of the nicer places to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLMC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with two young children. The hotel did everything possible to ensure that our stay was comfortable, including upgrading us to a suite for all 4 nights and somehow squeezing us in for the last two nights even though they were overbooked. There were a lot of small things as well that the hotel did to make it a great stay. For instance, we were late calling for a cab. So the hotel sent us in their van to the airport free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorinthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
620 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Comfy bed - fabulous pillows - wonderful breakfast in a great location. Right next to the night bizarre and within walking distances to many clubs and restaurants. About 5 blocks from old town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaleAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located just steps from the night bazaar. It's a solid four-star hotel - modern, clean, comfortable. Service is mostly very good, with the exception of service at the restaurant and club lounge.

While food was excellent, service was not. The restaurant is tailored for buffet diners. This is fine for breakfast, but at dinner we wanted to order a-la-carte. We were told "no problem" and were seated and given menus. Then we waited... and waited... and waited even more... The place wasn't even busy, but there were no staff around to flag down. All other diners were helping themselves at the buffet. After 15 or 20 minutes without any service, we walked out.

To avoid the crowds at the main restaurant, we decided to use the club lounge for breakfast. There were relatively fewer customers, but service was erratic. The few staff were running around and they were professional, but there weren't enough of them to meet expectations. We stayed there over New Year - the busiest season - and the hotel was sold out. Perhaps that's why they couldn't cope. But that's no excuse for a hotel of Le Meridien's stature.

Everything else was good. If you can avoid using the facilities at meal times, you'll be perfectly happy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We recently stayed at the Le Meridien Hotel in Chiang Mai, Thailand. While it was nowhere near the level of the Le Meridien property in Chiang Rai we also stayed in on this trip, it was a lovely experience.

Very nice room, lovely amenities and a very nice breakfast. It is in an urban setting and a great location for getting around the main tourist sights in downtown Chiang Mai--the Night Market, the city wall and moat and o much more. This city is a must see if you are traveling to Thailand and this hotel makes a great headquarters for your stay.

Very nice amenities, buffet breakfast, restaurant and spa facilities. The pool and gym are also very nice.

It is harder to find the words to describe this Le Meridien property. After staying at their Chiang Rai resort, it was a bit of a let down. It's decor tends more toward to ultra-modern which leaves me kind of cold, but it is a very nice hotel with a great staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mguelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chiang Mai

Property: Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Address: 108 Chang Klan Road,Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal destination for savvy travellers who enjoy the mixture of Le Meridien's European heritage and local Lanna style to deliver a contemporary cultural experience. The hotel's 383 guestrooms, overlooking Doi Suthep Mountain range, are equipped with broadband internet and offer a modern entertainment experience centered on a high-definition LCD television. A perfect location adjacent to the famous night bazaar will ensure guests encounter the vibrancy + energy of Chiang Mai, just at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Meridien Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing