We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #90 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A difficult review as the owners of this guest house are absolutely lovely and so helpful but the guest house needs a face lift in general. Maybe if they charged a little more and replaced the linen (always clean but very worn) there would be a big difference in the feel of the rooms. We stayed one night in the front room facing the street but then moved to the back room for the rest of our peaceful stay. We came and went from here and had a total of 5 nights. Mr and Mrs Kem were delightful and full of information, nothing was too much trouble. They had lots of suggestions and made sure we were picked up for tours at the right times - without being asked! The night market is near by and in the opposite direction is the river with a supermarket and good coffee shop on the other side - just ask Mr Kem. Best wishes to both Mr and Mrs Kem.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 602 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Located 5mins walk from night bazaar. Room clean and comfortable. Mr Kem is very helpful. Cute dog. No transportation problem. Food and massage nearby. Convenient and inexpensive. Tour packages can be arranged by Mr Kem. Breakfast served limited option. Rooms 2floors up by stairs only. Key card to get in n out of guesthouse. Homey and limited occupancy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank amecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Mr Kem was so friendly and efficient both ahead of our arrival and in giving us tips about Chiang Mai such as where to eat good food on a budget, the free dance show in the market and booked us tickets to a Thai boxing match. "Happy" the dog is ridiculously sweet and friendly too. The rooms are nice and clean, we slept well and the location is really good - very close to the night markets. We had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohcarolina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my third visit to Chiang Mai and once again I chose Vanilla Place to stay. I spent 5 nights here during April while visiting to attend a friends wedding. Myself and fiancé stayed in the superior room which was very reasonable for the cost. We had a/c, wifi, tv, fridge (including 2 waters per day), hot/cold shower, daily room service and included was a continental breakfast. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, very basic, but it did the job.

Mr. Kem was always very friendly and answered all of our questions, including booking excursions at a discounted rate. He even lent my friend some mosquito repellent one night when he heard we would be dining by the river!

Vanilla Place is located on a one way street, very close to Anusan Market and the Night Bizarre. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, or if you're not up for the walk, there is always a tuk tuk near by.
K
I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I will was very fortunate to stay at the Vanilla Place during April and experience the fantastic hospitality of Kem and him family.

What made my stay so memorable was the extra effort and service that Kem so freely offered. For example providing non biased expert local information, helping with travelling and securely holding my luggage for 10 days all from the goodness of his heart!

Something you would not even experience in a 5 star resort!

Between the handy location, comfortable rooms, great value and unbeatable service it is THE place to stay in Chiang Mai for those who want a personal and homely stay :)

Thanks again to you Kem and your family (including Happy the dog) for everything :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is amazing. The host, Mr. Kem, is pretty much the greatest human being you will ever meet. He was great in helping us plan our things to do in Chiang Mai and since we were on somewhat of a tight schedule, he managed to get us into some activities that others had told us were booked up. Location was good, just a 10 minute walk to the central areas of Chiang Mai.

Rooms are nothing special, but they were comfortable with AC, television, comfortable beds, and daily cleaning. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were very well taken care of by Mr Kem, the owner of Vanilla Place.

Our room was very clean and always had that nice sun-dried refreshing smell which I love. Oh, and I am very impressed that there ain't any mosquitoes in our room. We had very good sleep every night.

Mr Kem was very kind to help us arrange for our daily activities and got us good discounts.

Thank you very much! It really made our vacation a very relaxing and organised one.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hu1qun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 403 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#70 of 403 in Chiang Mai
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#25 of 403 in Chiang Mai
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#123 of 403 in Chiang Mai
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 403 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#89 of 403 in Chiang Mai
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $21 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing