We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Kem makes a very welcoming host!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #69 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my third visit to Chiang Mai and once again I chose Vanilla Place to stay. I spent 5 nights here during April while visiting to attend a friends wedding. Myself and fiancé stayed in the superior room which was very reasonable for the cost. We had a/c, wifi, tv, fridge (including 2 waters per day), hot/cold shower, daily room service and included was a continental breakfast. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, very basic, but it did the job.

Mr. Kem was always very friendly and answered all of our questions, including booking excursions at a discounted rate. He even lent my friend some mosquito repellent one night when he heard we would be dining by the river!

Vanilla Place is located on a one way street, very close to Anusan Market and the Night Bizarre. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, or if you're not up for the walk, there is always a tuk tuk near by.
K
I will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 599 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I will was very fortunate to stay at the Vanilla Place during April and experience the fantastic hospitality of Kem and him family.

What made my stay so memorable was the extra effort and service that Kem so freely offered. For example providing non biased expert local information, helping with travelling and securely holding my luggage for 10 days all from the goodness of his heart!

Something you would not even experience in a 5 star resort!

Between the handy location, comfortable rooms, great value and unbeatable service it is THE place to stay in Chiang Mai for those who want a personal and homely stay :)

Thanks again to you Kem and your family (including Happy the dog) for everything :)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Derek O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is amazing. The host, Mr. Kem, is pretty much the greatest human being you will ever meet. He was great in helping us plan our things to do in Chiang Mai and since we were on somewhat of a tight schedule, he managed to get us into some activities that others had told us were booked up. Location was good, just a 10 minute walk to the central areas of Chiang Mai.

Rooms are nothing special, but they were comfortable with AC, television, comfortable beds, and daily cleaning. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were very well taken care of by Mr Kem, the owner of Vanilla Place.

Our room was very clean and always had that nice sun-dried refreshing smell which I love. Oh, and I am very impressed that there ain't any mosquitoes in our room. We had very good sleep every night.

Mr Kem was very kind to help us arrange for our daily activities and got us good discounts.

Thank you very much! It really made our vacation a very relaxing and organised one.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hu1qun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 6 days at Vanilla Place. It was our first trip to Thailand, and Mr Kem was such a treat. He advised us so well, from restaurants, to shopping, and massages. He arranged rides, negotiated prices, and made our visit to Chiang Mia quite delightful. He is so friendly, and always has time to answer any question. We would highly recommend spending time at Vanilla Place, and taking Mr Kem's advice. We accidently left with our keys, so I advise you to remember to leave them. He was even very understanding about that, and we were quick to mail them back!!
Have a good time in charming Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YogaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Can only say great things about Mr Kem and his wife. Gracious hosts with terrific advice and help arranging travel around Chiang Mai.
Rooms are large with AC and a nice shower. Beds are firm and if too firm they have extra covers to soften the ride.
Nice continental breakfast to start the day. Convenient to the "old city", night markets and temples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThorYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent a week at Vanilla Place. Booked a superior room on the 4th floor with window overlooking the street. Yes, we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs, but we knew that so it didn't bother us, plus we needed the exercise. Traffic during the day on the street below, but quieted down at night. Also, this isn't a party place so was quiet at night in that respect. As others have said, Mr. Kem and his wife are wonderful people and are very willing to help you plan activities. Keep in mind that this is a mid-range hotel at a low price so don't expect a 5 star resort. That said the rooms were cleaned daily and continental breakfast was served in the common area. Be sure to ask him for restaurant recommendations in the area. We ate at several and they were all delicious.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Size wise, the rooms are fine for 2 people. Trying to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#70 of 394 in Chiang Mai
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#24 of 394 in Chiang Mai
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#52 of 394 in Chiang Mai
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 394 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $21 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing