We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in chiang mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #64 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

A huge thank you to the team at vanilla place we had a great time. The guest house is well located near the night bazaar and is a 20 minute walk from the old city.

We stayed in a superior room (1100b) which is spacious and cool with an ensuite bathroom. decor is simple but the room and communal spaces were always immaculately clean. Breakfast is very basic but does the job.

The highlights of our stay were ziplining a days cooking course and visiting the baanchang elephant park all of which were reccommended and booked by Mr Kem the owner. Mr Kem speaks great English, he's friendly, welcoming and not only took the stress away from booking activities but also saved us around 5000b by recommending different companies to the ones we had researched (all of which were excellent).

We had a great stay and once again thank you very much!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 599 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at Vanilla place 3 times in the last 3 years. It isn't the Hilton; it is like going to a B and B run by family friends. Mr Kem, his wife, driver and staff are all genuine warm, helpful folks. You don't stay here for luxury, but the breakfast mezzanine is a nice place to relax and the location is more than good. You have the night bazaar minutes away and the riverside restaurants likewise. There is a string of restaurants across the bridge and to the left and they are all very pleasant. There is every type of shopping nearby - Dan's emporium is great for quality tourist stuff. If you don't like shopping, but like music, The Boy Blues Band atop the night market will give you an alternative 'free' cultural show. This band is talented, friendly and tight. I've used Mr Kem's driver to take me on custom day-trips that have been highlighted by the Queen Sirikit gardens. Just beautiful. Vanilla Place is just a good place to stay that is convenient to so much and run by sincerely good people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed in Chiang Mai with friends for three days and I am so glad we chose Vanilla Place. The guest house is very nice and in a great location. It is about a 3 min walk to night bazaar and about 15 min walk to the Old City. The rooms are very comfortable and have AC. They are cleaned every day, and fresh towels and water are provided every morning. When you check in, you will meet Mr. Kem, his wife, and their adorable dog Happy! Mr. Kem treated us like his own children. He suggested and arranged tours for us, recommended restaurants, gave us directions, and even arranged taxis for us. A nice breakfast with toast, muffins, croissants, fruit, coffee, juice, and more is provided every morning!

This truly felt like a home and I would highly recommend Vanilla Place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Vanilla Place will never get five stars but you will live there as if you were home and if you are lucky enough to spend more than few days, you will find a new family. The rooms are rustic but they are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The breakfasts are basic but healthy: fruit, toasts and when you are lucky, sticky rice with mango.

However, the owner and her spouse will always stand beside you when needed and they will do almost everything to help you enjoy your stay. They will find for you the better deals fo any tour and give you as well tricks like how much could cost a tuk tuk drive to the old city. One of the big plus of the Vanilla Place is its location. A five minutes walk and you are on the Night Market and another five to ten minutes and you are in the older city where stand most of the more venerated temples of Chiang Mai. I have always been under the imppression then when you have seen one temple, you have seen almost all but it is not the case. My preferred one is the teck temple.

If you are lucky enough to be here during the Songkran festival, let you go and join the personel along the street. You will rediscover how fun it could be to throw a bucket of water to the incoming vehicles and how to appreciate when someone in one of these vehicles has been able to throw his bucket on you. You should have seen my girlfriend doing that. She was almost dreaming to steal a firefighter truck to be part of the fun. Gone was her empathy.

In few words, when I will be back, you will know where to find me.

PS There is no pool or fitness center there

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor rather than on the third and stay away from rooms given either on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I chose to stay at Vanilla Place Guesthouse based on the reviews and I am very happy with the decision. Kem is wonderful and treated us like his kids, took care of us with making sure we ate well and ate at great restaurants and booked best deals for the tours. Guesthouse was very pleasant and quite, as well as comfortable. Also bonus is their adhorable dog, Happy! Highly recommend staying at this place, 3 min walk to night bazaar, and 15 min walk to Sunday market.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKalam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very basic and not going to blow you away with amenities, so if this is the type of hotel you are looking for go elsewhere.

If you are looking for a hotel with a great breakfast, all the basic necessities, cleanliness and the absolute best service you will ever receive, then this is your place.

The hotel is right around the corner from both markets and only a short walk to the old city of Chiang Mai. 120 baht ride from the airport makes this guesthouse in the most ideal location.

Upon check in you will meet the owners and their dog happy. Mr. Kem went above and behind to make sure all out plans coincide and we received the best service at the cheapest price.

If you are staying in Chiang Mai, and don't care about useless things like flat screen TVs this is your place!

- Mr. Kem hooked us up with a great taxi guy, so if you are in the area and don't plan on staying here please call Mr. Ting for any taxi service. He was nice, efficient, cheap and even bought us waters, snacks and gifts throughout the day!

Ting-freebirds@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Date of stay: from 10/03/13 to 14/03/13

I really appreciated my stay at Vanilla Guest House.

The house is nice and clean and well maintained.

It's location is very convenient:
- You can find most of the things you need nearby (bars, convenient stores, motorbike rental shop, spa, ...)
- You can visit downtown by foot
- You can go to the Night Bazaar Market, Night Saturday or Sunday market by foot

What is very great is the kindness of the landlords - Kem and his wife (and their funny dog)
They do their best to make you feel comfortable and they can help you a lot by advising you what, where and how to visit around / in Chiang Mai.

Be aware:
- Wifi is available and free
- Breakfast is included (sticky rice with mango is absolutely delicious the rest is standard)
- There is a nice common room where you can rest, read or chit-chat
- Every guest has a pass in addition to the key in this way you can go in and out whenever you want
- Rooms by the street are a little bit noisy on the morning because of the traffic but it's quite ok since most of the time you will get up early to do your activity of the day
- From the airport, it costs 120 baht to go there

Hope it helps

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l80_stephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#23 of 392 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
929 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#89 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing