We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Guesthouse with Nice Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #56 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Guesthouse with Nice Owner”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Vanilla Place after reading the reviews here. However, we have been a bit disappointed, as the guesthouse is very (very!) simple and the bed's were pretty uncomfortable. The owner Kem however is great and gave us great tips for lunch, massage and trips. The guesthouse is near the nightmarket, which is great, but about 20 minutes walk from the old town. If you look for a nice and helpful service, then this guesthouse is for you. If you look for a value for money place, one of the places in the old town might be a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    132
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
293
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I know this is an overdue review, which was supposedly to be done like 1 1/2 years ago. Please forgive me Mr. Kem! :D One thing's for sure, this place is simply superb and wonderful. I travelled with my mum and stayed in Chiang Mai for a week and Mr. Kem's always looking out for us. He's always making sure that we were taken care of and he always waits up for us especially when we return to the guesthouse at night.
Even tho' the breakfast was simple, it was still good and wholesome. We had croissants served to us that weekend, so it was a treat. And the room we stayed in were spacious and clean. They had cleaners coming in daily to clean the room, change the sheets, etc. The bathroom was pretty spacious too.
In short, nothing is too much for Mr. Kem and his staff and this guest house is definitely a recommended stay in Chiang Mai :D

Room Tip: Try to avoid having the room which is probably at the back because when you open the window, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitane_mystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here at Vanilla Place. We spent a week up in Chiang Mai and enjoyed the hospitality of this well located little guesthouse. Mr Kem was awesome, welcoming us after a really early morning flight and letting us into our room early, giving us some breakfast and highlighting lots of great options for tours and areas of interest.

We stayed on the top floor with a room overlooking the street and it was spacious, quiet and comfortable (I am aware the some of the rooms don't have windows - so that is worth considering when you book). The guesthouse was well located right near the river and close to the night bazar, and some great restaurants, bike hire etc.

The breakfast was simple but fine, nice brewed coffee and plenty of fresh fruit etc.
Mr Kem gave us excellent tour advice and was able to get quite a discount on prices, organise a driver for us for the day and generally couldn't be more helpful.

The price was cheap - it was basic and clean and comfortable. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Top floor and ask for a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyGalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Owner was friendly and helpful, though when my boyfriend wanted to book maesa elephant camp (that I had researched) he said it was full, but persuaded us to book with another company and that they are great and highly recommended. After the terrible tour experience I looked up TA only to find many people had the same poor experience.
Rooms were basic, clean & super light breakfast provided. I could not justify the price for what was provided.
Again, owners were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashheartsbeards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

When we arrived Kem and his wife were very helpful with arranging a trip we wished to take making all the arrangements for us at a reasonable price. We had an excellent spacious room with a window (it is worth paying the extra for a room with a window). Breakfast was very acceptable. Much preferred this smaller hotel rather than the large hotel we stayed in on our last visit to Chiang Mai. Kem was very helpful before we arrived by letting us know which colour taxi to take from the railway station and the price we should pay - all good advice. We recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick4Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Rocks, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Vanilla Guest House is highly recommended, clean and well located. Owners, Uncle Kem and wife Kat are very genuine and lovely people. Light buffet breakfast included. Kem is very helpful with tour bookings & you won't get dudded !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Finally an excellent room, value, top notch customer service, and Location Location Location. Best value by far all Thailand trip. The owner takes so much time to make sure you feel comfortable and have good plans for your trip. I felt like family the second I got there. So happy with this place!


Cons-
-the bathroom shower and toilet are all connected.....everything gets wet and is very small.
-free breakfast isnt that great unless you just want toast and fruit.

Pros- everything else

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#80 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing