We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owner, good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #56 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Tianjin, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great owner, good location!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place would usually just be considered a regularly priced and well located guesthouse with a spacious living room area...however the owner Kem is a fantastically wonderful man who not only helped us book all of our travels and transport but is an amazing person himself once you get talking to him more! Highly recommend. Having the anusan night market close by is also a huge plus!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    132
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
293
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have now stayed here twice and I would recommend it to anyone. Near the night market and 20 minutes from the airport or 5 minutes from the train station. The owners are delightful and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable both in the guest house and in northern Thailand. Rooms are clean and large, they have both fans and aircon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 350highlandlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. Very basic though. Clean rooms with air con, tv, hot shower, comfortable bed. 2 bottles of water provided free per day. Cheap laundry service. Included brakfast of toast, coffee, fresh fruit, juice was pretty good. The owner, Kem, is the real highlight though. Kem was able to organise everything we could need without being pushy. From tours to things to do and see in town to arranging a motorbike for us. For the money, this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludicrousgib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just spent 8 nights in Chiang Mai, all the while at the Vanilla Place. This was the first time we had ever stayed at a Guesthouse as we are usually at hotels. I think it is excellent value. It is centrally located, close to night market. There are lots of amenities and services on the same street. . The rooms are basic, but very clean. The breakfasts are simple, with coffee, fruit, and toast. Mr. Kem and his wife Kat are very gracious hosts and invaluable resources for things to see and do while in CM. They are lovely Thai people who work tirelessly on behalf of their guests. They make bookings, order taxis, etc. the 15 rooms were all booked while we were there and it was just so great to meet other travellers and share experiences.....something we do not do when in a hotel or resort.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the street. If you are a light sleeper, ask Mr. Kem for earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leftyKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was admittedly a little skeptical of the extent to which people raved about the owners of this place - I am not in the habit of interacting with hotel management/staff any more than I need to. With that said, meeting Kem was one of the highlights for us in Chiang Mai, if not Thailand. He is so friendly and accommodating and genuine - he feels like your favourite uncle or grandfather, and takes pleasure in helping you organise your excursions. (We arrived with only a vague idea of what we wanted to do, and ended up with a full itinerary each day). The place itself is conveniently located. You can also get your laundry done through the guest house - at 40 baht / kilo (~$1.33) - and they do a good job.

The rooms themselves are clean but of a basic, no-frills set-up - and if you need an extra mattress, it is more like a cushion on the floor (i.e., you can't sleep on your side). Our room did not have a window, and the shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom so it does become a bit of a waterpark after you're finished taking a shower (with good water pressure). Had it not been for Kem, I would have rated this place somewhere between a 2 and a 3.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Passportable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

In all of my travels, whether staying in a flash 5 star or a humble hostel, I have never experienced such excellent customer service. Kem and Kat were the kindest hosts, who welcome every guest into their bnb as a long lost daughter or son. Mr Kem helped us to organise everything we wanted to do and was a font of knowledge on Thai customs (he explained all about the amulet tradition to us), best places to eat, what to do and pretty much anything else you might want to ask he will know. He even gave us a lift in his car to a temple as it was on his way.

We extended our stay here as we had such a fun time in Chiang Mai and so much of that was to do with our stay at Vanilla Place. The rooms are super clean and functional, nothing out if the ordinary and breakfast is good. The location is really good too, just a short walk from the old city.

If you have any sense stay here, it's worth every penny for the customer service alone.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but we never had any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicthighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in a wide range of hotels n inns but despite having simple amenities it was e genuine feel that our host Mr Kem n his team have so graciously shown me that made my trip memorable.

It was a stark contrast to my experience at BKK n i truely enjoyed my stay at Vanilla Inn. Should you have anything that you need Mr Kem n his spouse wld be more than glad to assist in any manner possible. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiyamuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#80 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing