We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #45 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, basic room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Vanilla Place Guest House is the best way to start a trip to Thailand, because the owner Kem makes you feel at home right away. He and his wife were there to greet us when we arrived which was pretty late at night Kem helped us set up most of our activities and called our future hotels to confirm our rooms. The only reason we give this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 is because the rooms are very basic, so we don't want to surprise any one when they get to their room. The shower is basic and is not separate from the rest of the bathroom, so it can turn into quite a mess when getting ready. Also, there was not a safe in the room, but Kem is able to keep all of your documents safe if you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gark_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    130
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
291
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Vanilla Place with a friend in mid-November for 3 nights in a twin room. We booked the day before we arrived and Mr Kem emailed us straight away to confirm the booking, he also emailed to ask what time we'd be arriving but unfortunately we were on the sleeper train from Bangkok without internet access so didn't receive this in time but it was a nice touch.

When we did arrive Mr Kem greeted us warmly and his staff helped take our luggage straight to our room, my bag was really heavy but they wouldn't let me help carry it. Mr Kem helped us organise a couple of trips on arrival, he wasn't pushy but clearly wanted to help us make the most of our short stay. We booked the Baan Chang Elephant Park day trip, which was excellent and a morning trip to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep with Mr Ting. He also talked us through the map of the city explaining where we were and suggested routes to take and restaurants to eat in.

The room was basic but comfortable and as it was just a base to explore the city we were very happy, especially given the price. We had good working ac, wi-fi in the room and a tv if we needed. The bathroom was small and more of a wet room but it was a good working shower and clean so again we were happy. Breakfast for us was perfect, a couple of slices of toast and a drink set us up for the day.

The guest house is close to the night market & river and about 15 mins easy walk to the old city. We ate at the 2 neighbouring restaurants either side of the guest house (Riverside Bar & Restaurant and I forget the other) and had fantastic meals both nights, we also ate at a restaurant across the river, over the Nawarat Bridge, which was great too (The Gallery)

On the trip back from the Temple, Mr Ting dropped us at Th Nimmanhaemin, by the boutiques where we enjoyed an afternoon shopping, don't try and walk back from here, it's too far especially in the searing heat!

All in all Vanilla Place is a great guest house, Mr Kem, his wife and staff were all very helpful, friendly and made this a welcoming place to stay. My friend also fell in love with their little dog, Happy, who is kept out of the way but welcomes cuddles if you want to give them!

We would both definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found Vanilla Place on Trip Advisor and are SO glad we stayed there. Kem is SO nice and helpful, he really made us feel at home. The room was great, very clean. The price was reasonable, and 100% worth it for having a great place to stay and a super helpful and kind host. I would recommend Vanilla Place over everything else in Chiang Mai. We loved our time there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guerrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My sister and I traveled to Chiang Mai, Pai and Bangkok. We picked Vanilla Place as my sister had stayed there before years back. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Mr Kem. He recommended us several tour packages, offered us maps and even planned transportation to Pai and Bangkok. He was polite and not pushy at all. In all, we booked a day trip to Doi Inthanon national park, a day trip to Winter Palace, Doi Suthep, Huay Tung Tao lake and a coach ride from Chiang Mai-Bangkok.

My most memorable experience would be the night where my sister and I got back late from Pai. We left our luggages with Mr Kem (who kindly offered his place for storage without additional charge) and were scheduled to return back to Vanilla Place to pick up our luggages before heading to the bus terminal to catch our bus to Bangkok. However, there were some interruptions along the ride from Pai-Chiang Mai and we had to switched vans. As a result, we returned to Chiang Mai at a later time. When we reached Vanilla Place, we saw Mr Kem sitting outside Vanilla Place, waiting for us. He looked so relieved when he saw us and hurriedly got up to stop the traffic so that we can cross the road safely. He told us how worried he was as he thought we were lost. My sister and I was touched beyond words! The genuine concern and care that Mr Kem showed was really touching.

The VIP coach ,from Chiang Mai to Bangkok, which Mr Kem booked for us was a pleasant surprise. We had previously taken the train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai but it took a total of 17.5 hours and hence, an overnight 10 hours coach ride will be a better choice. The coach ride was so comfortable. We were offered cakes, mineral water, blanket on board. You can also charge your phone and watch movies on the coach. We enjoyed the ride thoroughly. Thank you Mr Kem for being so thoughtful and kind!

All in all, our stay in Chiang Mai was definitely more convenient and safe with Mr Kem around. My sister and I really appreciate your kindness and warm hospitality. We will definitely be back to stay in Vanilla Place Guest House :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Kem (the owner) was amazing! This was recommended by a friend who also found the place excellent! The location is brilliant - right near riverside restaurants, night bazaar and also restaurants and spa places on your doorstep! Kem and his wife are excellent - they help you to book everything you want - from elephant trekking to Thai cooking! Would 100% recommend to everyone!!! Such lovely people made our holiday! Book this guest house and you will not be disappointed - Catherine and Marc x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booking: We are a family with 3 young children, aged 9, 7 and 5. We booked a superior room through email. Standard rooms have no mini fridge and window. After reading the good and bad reviews, we were prepared for really basic rooms. We paid 1100 baht for the room and additional mattress for 300 baht for 3 nights inclusive of breakfast for all. We stayed 2 nights, went for trekking on the 3rd night and return to stay on the 4th. night. Mr Kem was very kind not to charge us for the night that we were away while we get to keep the room and have our luggage left in the room.

Location: Great location. 5 minutes to night market, to the left is Anusarn Market (Lots of halal food) and to the right the masjid & muslim town. (Halal food street opens every Friday nights only.)

Rooms: Room 35 with view of main street. Queen size bed, additional thin mattress, working air-conditioner, fan, TV with lots of working channels but mostly in Thai. There was also a small fridge. Toilet is BELOW average. Look some where else if you plan to stay in your room most of the time comfortably. My children were not so fussy, they loved Mr Kem. But my 7 years old girl did find the toilet yucky.

Breakfast was basic with hot drinks, toast and fruits. We like it, good enough for a guest house standard.

Other facilities: Wi-fi was working well in our room and elsewhere in the guest house. Some guests we met did complained that wi-fi was not good in their rooms. We spend some time on the second floor dining area for breakfast and packed dinners. There's also a computer for guest use, TV and books. We did not like the smell at the reception area on the first floor and would usually wait for our rides on a nice bench outside the guest house.

Mr Kem: Everything mentioned about Mr Kem was true. It is like having a friend in a foreign land who is willing and happy to answer every single question that you have. A+ hospitality! Well he did suggest some tours but he was not pushy. Mr Kem recommended for us to take a car with a driver to drive us to the Tiger Kingdom, Umbrella factory, silk factory and back to the old city for 800 baht. Driver did bring us to where we wanted but he is just a driver who speaks little English. I have been to better handicraft centres which are real factories and not just for show. He continued to render his help even when we called him after we left his place to stay in Chiang Rai. He was also very kind to our kids offering them extra snacks without charge and even made pop-corns with them before we went for a tour.

Room Tip: Room with a window brightens the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hana_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We picked Vanilla Place after reading TA and would recommend it to anyone. Mr Kem is a top class hotelier. We booked over email a few days before as we were going to be in Chiang Mai for the Loi Krathong festival and knew it would be busy. We were due to arrive at about 7 am in the morning off a night bus from Ayutthaya. We were allowed into our room straight away and slept for four hours that morning with no extra charge. Kem was INCREDIBLY helpful regarding things to do but not pushy. He got us to Ban Chang Elephant Sanctuary at a discount 36 hours before we wanted to go when they had previously said they were full. He also got us a discount at Asia Scenic cooking school. He deals with these places directly and so works like an agent but without the fees. The room was clean and functional, nothing special, but the air con was good and who needs a room in Chiang Mai to do anything other than sleep well? - which we did. Breakfast is simple but included - can't complain at fresh coffee and fruit, and there's toast too. Location wise, it's very near the night bazaar and very near the river, which was great during Loi Krathong. It's about a 20 minute walk from the Tha Phae gate which may annoy some who want to be right in the thick of it, but for us it was brilliant. Only question mark - if you want to go to Doi Suthep then you're offered a chartered sangtheaw for 500 Baht. We did it but aren't sure it's a great deal, as there were trucks at the temple offering journeys back to the city at 60 baht pp. We paid for convenience I guess, and the truck dropped us at a very cheap and very tasty restaurant Kem had suggested. Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#39 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#62 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing