We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
402
134
40
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
134
40
17
14
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 607 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I loved the Vanilla place guest house. Kem and Kathy are sweethearts, and Kem is like a bucket of knowledge. Along with happy there dog, always being excited to see you when you walk through the door. The rooms and rent are not expensive and the rooms are small and quant. Really enjoyed my stay here, I hope to be back soon, and when I do I will be staying here!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassidyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our entire experience was great here! Kem and his wife are the definition of hospitality and friendliness. It was a safe, clean and basic accommodation, with good a good (but small) breakfast. Our only complaint was a VERY hard mattress. Otherwise, we were very happy with our stay here!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifewithBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are currently staying at the Vanilla Guest house and are very satisfied. The accommodation is very affordable...basic but very clean.
The owner Klem are absolutely bailouts hosts. They have bent over backwards organizing our time in Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This had been recommended to us by a friend due to the owner being helpful and full of information. As soon as we met him we could see why. He was the most helpful person that we have met since being in SE Asia and he organised all our tours for us and gave us recommendations on where to eat (lemongrass was a favourite of ours). He really does make this hostel worth visiting.

We were originally booked in for 2 nights but ended up staying 6 nights because we enjoyed it so much.

Would definitely recommend staying here whilst in chiang Mai if you are looking to do tours and treks and get advice on the area.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It's strange how the reviews of this hotel are so positive. Bathroom is smelly and mouldy - rooms are basic and the hotel is at the edge of town. Front office smells of dog. After our first breakfast we went out for breakfast! Mango steens at breakfast were rotten inside - tried four then gave up. Many backpackers here so perhaps they are not so discerning.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews