We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like a guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanilla Place Guest House
Ranked #45 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Felt like a guest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

It's been a year since our family (including 3 teenagers) visited but I was singing the praises of Vanilla Place Guest House to a friend just the other day. This was our favourite accommodation during out two week stay in Thailand. The accommodation was beautiful and the service excellent. We lashed out and spent two nights in a 'posh' hotel in Bangkok and found the service and friendliness way below the standard that Kem offered. He organised tours for us that were cheaper than booking directly online. ( I checked). He picked us up from the train free of charge. He recommended places to visit and places to eat. One tiny negative - the beds were very hard. If I ever get a chance to return to Chiang Mai I know exactly where I will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    130
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
291
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nor cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Family trip to Chiang Mai and booked 2 rooms at Vanilla Place for our stay. One for me and my bf and other for my bf's sis and cousins. And we all have no regrets! Mr Kem and his wife (and their dog Happy, whose name fits him most perfectly) define hospitality and customer service. The location is close to everything so you can walk or have short tuktuk ride. Rooms are modest but clean and comfortable. A/C, good water pressure, and wifi...happy happy. Mr Kem will be more than happy to arrange anything for you and he won't pressure you or try to oversell you on anything. I can't explain how genuine this guy is! For instance, he recommended that we use the songtao for our day of excursions 'cause the weather was cooler and its cheaper than an A/C van. And he also recommended Mr Ting. I thought Mr Ting was just gonna drive us from place to place. No, he walked with us for a bit in the elephant camp and took pictures for us and showed us around. When it came to lunch, he made sure we got everything we wanted and got all the fixins for a picnic by the waterfalls and pointed us in the right direction. After our last excursion, we caught him playing his guitar to pass the time. We asked him to play us something and sure enough, we got a little Simon and Garfunkel serenade (and he was good)! And he tried to give his tip that we gave him back!!! Who does that!?! He honestly was pushing the bahts back into my bf's hand. Yes, Vanilla Place is not the most luxurious accommodations but if you want quality people to make sure you have the most fabulous time you can in Chiang Mai, you can not go wrong with Mr Kem and co.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meliss1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in June this year.Room very clean and comfortable.Mr. Kem was very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was great.We left early on our last day,so was not expecting breakfast,but Mr Kem had it ready for us.I would recommend this hotel to anyone,wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Vanilla Place for 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay. Kem is really nice and helpful. He books tours for you on a discount which is really great. I went trekking and everyone else paid about 300 baht more than me. The guesthouse is clean and welcoming. The location is also very convent. It's a 5 minute walk from the night market. The only thing I didn't love was the price. It is definitely a little pricier than other houses. However, for about an extra $10 a night, it is very enjoyable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lmb5337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights in February this year, and although we did not get to meet the famous Mr Kem, we were well taken care of by his daughter. The guest house is clean and comfortable, and there is free wi-fi which was very convenient. We did have to climb up several flights of stairs to get to our room, but this was not a major issue. It's located close to many restaurants and it is a little bit of a walk to the city centre, but it's definitely doable (just go in the early morning before it gets too hot). Mr Kem's daughter was really helpful in helping us organise activities and tours but was not pushy about anything. The vanilla scent around the guest house was a really lovely touch :) Overall, Vanilla Place is really good value and I would recommend staying there if visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtaluv_gne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Welcomed with cool water and a warm smile. Pay cash upfront. City explained and map provided straight away. Wonderful location. Close to markets, old city etc. however u r not right in the middle of it! It is just like staying at your families house! Amazing!!!!!! Chiang Mia is the best city in thialand.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timjohnhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I would highly reccomment Vanilla Place!! Mr Kem is a true treasure he is one of the nicest people I have met. The location of this place is great very central to food places and things to do. The rooms also are very cosy. I will definitely be coming back to stay at Vanilla place. :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyrock90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#39 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#62 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla Place Guest House

Property: Vanilla Place Guest House
Address: 73 / 2-3 Charoenprated Rd | Tombon Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla Place Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla place a boutique guesthouse located at the heart of Chiangmai. Our 15 beautifully decorated rooms can offer you the convenience and comfort like you are living in your own house. All rooms are fully furnished with teak wood. Night Bazaar is around 5 minutes walk and we're also close to all tourism areas such as Anusarn market, Ta Pae and Rim Ping, which can be reached very easily. Warm welcome is awaiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vanilla Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla Place Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Vanilla Place Hotel
Vanilla Place Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing