We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too expensive for tourists.”
Review of Just Khao Soy - CLOSED

Just Khao Soy
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Not too expensive for tourists.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It took a little while to find as the location on the map in Trip Advisor was wrong, but once there, you have a choice of eating in the airconditioning or not.
As there is only 5-6 tables in the a/c area, these fill fast.
The welcome was nice, and the service good.
You basically get a choice of a 99 bht, or 150 Bht bowl of Khao Soi, and in fairness, the 99 Bht bowl looked almost as big as the 150 one. There are appetisers & desserts available to supplement the hungry eaters.
The restaurant suggests you try the dish as is, then add some or all of the 7-8 additional "condiments" to adjust the taste to your liking.
There is loads of history on the dish and the place-mats carry an explanation of how each of the additions adjusts the flavour.
I chose the "beef" Kaoh Soi, and it was nice to get pieces of tender filleted beef, as often when eating this dish on the streets, you get a real flavour, but the meat includes bones and grizzle occasionally.
As a final note, yes, you can buy this dish on the streets if you want authenticity, but I felt at 150 bht, to get quality ingredients, and a pleasant environment to eat it in, it was well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ-McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place to Bring Friends”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We brought my friend visiting from Texas to Just Khao Soi TWICE while he was in town. First, the portions are big for Westerners who are used to eating more food. Second, the menus explain the history and components of Chiang Mai's favorite dish in English, which is great for tourists and visitors who want to understand the importance of the dish without harassing a busy Auntie at a hole-in-the-wall khao soi joint. Third, the broth is completely vegetarian, meaning that my friend with severe shellfish allergies could eat a bowl of chicken khao soi without worrying about cross contamination or having to eat a completely vegetarian version of the dish. It was his favorite meal in Thailand, and I enjoyed my bowls, too, even if they are more expensive and from-frou than the kind you get on the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our Thai friends were surprised that we have never heard of this dish. I guess it's quite a street food phenomenon in northern Thailand. Just Khao has taken this dish out of the streets into a nice little restaurant, just across from a really cool traditional Thai wooden house that is in the process of being restored. If you like AC, ask to be seated in the inner sacrum. The menu is self explanatory, and you get all your ingredients in separate bowls. You can add flavors as you see fit. Loved it so much we came back twice!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reyledda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice little restaurant after days of eating at food stand. This restaurant is well decorated and the food is good. The price is really not that expensive and for a nice little sit down restaurant, it is totally worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJMontreal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average & Overpriced”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Khao Soi is something of a signature dish around Chiang Mai. There are many little restaurants all over the city that will serve you a bowl of authentic Khao Soi for around 30 Baht (some less). I suppose it's because this restaurant is targeting tourists that the prices are so much higher. The Khao Soi is certainly not any better than most of the other places, in fact I'd risk saying it's just about average really. Do look around... there are lots and lots of unpretentious little places serving this tasty dish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photopical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Khao Soy also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing