We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for People Watching”

Black Canyon Coffee
Ranked #28 of 141 Coffee & Tea in Chiang Mai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cardiff UK
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Good for People Watching”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice outside seating area overlooking two roads. We went in twice and sat outside on the corner could have spent all day there watching everything go by.
The first visit we had coffee and it was good, on our second visit we had Strawberry Smoothies and they were really good again we took our time.
We did not eat here but there was an extensive menu and the food being served look good.
Very well worth a visit .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    119
    73
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i have been in this, Black canyon coffee, its not my first time i love it”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

black Canyon coffee is i love it because, they don't have only the coffee but, they have others local food too,and also its very comfortable, to sit and chat

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Dambar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang mai
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great menu”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

They have a great menu with food that caters to both Thai and Western tastes. Service is usually very good, and most Black Canyons have free wi-fi. Prices are a little high but within reason. Very popular with both Thais and Western eaters and coffee drinkers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited this cafe many times.
I like this place and surely will visit in future, though there were some disadvantages which, I hope, will be fixed in future:
1. Sometimes you can have your steak in a largely cleavaged plate
2. If sitting outside the building, you can spend a lot of time awaiting the waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Loved their coffee, loved their fresh juices and the sandwiches were great as well. We had the tuna sandwich. Staff is not serviceminded at all. They leave you to yourselves continuously, so you have to ask for everything (menu, taking an order, drinks etc.) Also they first brought me my sandwich and my boyfriends sandwich arrived, after I finished mine. All in all, if you're dying for a strong, good, decent cup of black liquid, go here, just don't expect any service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bo2Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Canyon Coffee also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Black Canyon Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing