We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but the food is nothing special”

Peppermint Coffee House
Ranked #18 of 98 Dessert in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Thai, Cafe, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great Thai, Western, and English food - Open Everyday 0800 to 2200,
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice location but the food is nothing special”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to the Peppermint Cafe for an American breakfast and it delivered but it was nothing exceptional. The coffee in particular was very bad but keep in mind we are cappucino and latte drinkers. The person who appeared to be the owner seemed indifferent to his customers. Our female server was excellent but the male server was not. So roll the dice when it comes to service. The best of this restaurant is its', off the main road, location. Excellent place to wake up in the morning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank punk_n_tiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    112
    36
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So lovley”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

During a walk through old town we have found this lovley restaurant.

The location is very cosy, it feels a little bit like a living room. Everything has nice colors, little games are on the table, so that we often stayed longer having an other drink and played a little bit.

They have nice western food on the menu, which we enjoyed because after travelling a long time, sometimes we miss our food from home. Furthermore the thaifood is superyammi.

The staff is super friendly, always smiling and joking.

Try the Veggie-Burger or the Khao Soi (Nothern Curry Soup wiht noodels).

So if you are looking for a place with very good food and cosy atmosphere, try Peppermint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner in CM”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Tuppenny will always great you with a beautiful smile and enthusiastic welcome and her lovely staff will serve you with a delight of Thai to Western with yummy mashed potato. I am remembering a lovely cup of real ginger and honey to go to bed with.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elixirsmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Way overrated, mediocre at best.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the most disappointing food we had in Chiang Mai- boring, bland with very little effort put in. The omelette we had was just that-eggs on a plate, pretty half-assed, my smoothie was icy, truly uninspiring. There are several other options within a five minute walk from here in the old city if you want a western breakfast/smoothie bar feeling (Angels Secrets is just up the alley and is fabulous, Blue Diamond is also close and is fully organic with gluten free delicious baking), I honestly don't know why anyone would go to this place more than once. Its not particularly good, its certainly not cheaper, and every similar place in Chiang Mai old city has similar amenities (books available, free wifi, open air dining); this place is seriously coasting on its strangely good reputation. It doesnt deserve it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ellietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
563 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were first time visitors to Thailand or indeed anywhere west of Europe, so there was a bit of a "culture adjustment" that had to be endured before we could truly enjoy the place.

I preface with that only because this place is tucked down a small side road ("soi's" I belive they're called) and is the equivalent in layout to a breakfast caff or pie and mash shop in my native London, please don't expect the Ritz.

The service is though as attentive as it can be and the food is of more than decent quality - but the price.! My wife and I shared a starter and had three mains shared between the two of us and had two cold beers each. It came to around 7 pounds (350 baht). While one should never review solely on the basis of cost, this was just ridiculous for the quantity and quality of the fare consumed.

Five stars all the way from us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppermint Coffee House also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Peppermint Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing