We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & great learning experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School

Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are the First and Best cookery school in Chiang Mai. Owned and operated by "Master Chef" Sompon Nabnian... you will unlock the secrets of traditional Thai-style cooking. Have you ever wondered why Thai food tastes so different from restaurant to restaurant? The ingredients are the same, so it should taste the same, you would think...not at all! The best Thai food comes from using the freshest ingredients, along with the skilful art of preparation and combining the right ingredients at the right time to create an exceptional dish.Our school offers five fine mouth-watering courses for you to choose from (vegetarian options are available for all dishes in all courses):There is simply no better place to learn about the joys of Thai cooking!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun & great learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The chef and instructor was incredible knowledgable and very good at demonstrating each dish. This was one of my favorite experiences in Chiang Mai!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank shabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    49
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were picked up from our hotel this morning. We were running late due to new years celebrations last night but this was no problem for Pon, our driver/host/personal shopper/chef/instructor, who said he would give us time to finish breakfast.

We were taken shopping first at a local market. Pon helped us to pick the best ingredients, teaching us lots of new along the way. When we arrived at the school we got stuck in straight away. We were relieved that the school was clean and hygienic. It was in a great location, just outside the city.

For each course, Pom demonstrated first in a witty and engaging way. Then it was over to us and Pom was there to lend a helping hand when required.

The day flew by and we arrived back to our hotel with full bellies! We really enjoyed our day at Chiang Mai Thai cookery school and will definitely be trying out our new skills using our recipe book which was included in our package.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Nice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've had a fun day at the cookery school. Very well organized en friendly people. Great way to learn the basics of Thai cooking for a very decent price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martijn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uga, Spain
Level Contributor
494 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love to cook this experience didnt really teach me anything substantial but it was fun to watch other tourists in action Particularly the newly weds that criticized each other on every thing that they did. Forget reality tv cooking shows, this is the live show.

Good for a first time one off experience, it is however a little pricey. When I returned tonthe hotel and told the staff in the restaurant how much i paid, they said I am welcome to join their kitchen staff anytime for free. Certainly worth considering particularly if you haveca favorite dish.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but not great value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did a couple of different cookery courses during our time in Chiang Mai. This was considerably more expensive so I was expecting something special. I had a fun time overall, we made 6 different dishes and it was useful learning about Thai ingredients. The book you get to take away with you is excellent.

However the whole thing felt a little impersonal, I didn't warm to either of the chefs and the day felt quite rushed - more of a half day compared to the full day you pay for. We arrived at 1030 and were done by 230. You also have to stick to the menu for the day - at the other cookery school we went to there was much more choice. So, for the money we paid I came away a little disappointed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing