We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four days. It was a beautiful place to relax after a month in Cambodia volunteering. The decor was lovely, the service incredible. Very helpful people at the desk, central to everything in old part of town. Great banana and choc. Pancakes for breakfast

Room Tip: Just wonderful, no negative comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ncharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

This is a fantastic small hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai. The breakfast is served any time that suits you between 06:00 & 23:00. This is close to everything and the staff are all really friendly & efficient. I would have no problem in recommending this hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank scratchy_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Lovely hotel and very picture postcard. Staff were amazing and so friendly. Pool area not huge but really nice. Only 10 sun beds, but we were busy all day with excursions it didn't really bother us. Plenty to do in the area. Bathrooms are very dark and not enough lighting. Our group consisted of two groups of three, we found the rooms to be very small when the extra bed was put in. One group was three girls sharing, there is a lack of mirrors. two big ones in the bathroom but none in the main area, they found this to be an inconvenience. Lack of storage. When we were in Bangkok our guide put us in touch with her friend who showed us around and took us to some amazing places. So I would recommend if you do happen to have a tour guide anywhere else you visit might be worth asking them if they could recommend you to anyone. The elephant treking was fantastic and a dream come true. We visited chaing dao training centre, but there are so many to visit, we also visited tiger world. I did read the reviews before going, there were mixed emotions. I can honestly say, hand on heart that the tigers were not drugged. They were very happy and interacted with us with cuddles and play. It took my breath away and an amazing feeling sitting there playing with a cub.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room, I would say this is not suitable for 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelvedonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is amazing. The reception is beautiful, it has that wow factor when you steep in that you expect when you picture yourself in Thailand.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, they always had a huge smile in their faces when ever they saw you or ask them for anything.
The room was beautiful, very nice decorated and very clean, the balcony for me was a plus, I loved sitting there and just relax with some music.
The shower was huge and great. The entire bathroom was amazing, maybe an extra light in the mirror would be nice
The location was very convenient, right in the middle of the town.
The only thing that It wasn't a 10 was the breakfast maybe it was a 7, I think they should work a little bit more in the hot dishes, the ones you order from the kitchen. I ordered one morning eggs Benedict and they weren't very nice and the day after I ordered scramble eggs and didn't like them either. The cold station was nice.
Apart from that little detail, if I ever come back to Chiang Mai I will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the top floor and we love it. There is not elevator but we didn't mind that, but mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gema L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel is located slap bang in the middle of the old city in Chiang Mai, at most a 15 minute ride from the airport. The entrance to the hotel is already beautiful as you arrive, with stone slabs and reeds over a koi pond, and the reception is extremely welcoming. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. We stayed here for a couple of nights either side of a 3 day hiking tour, and we were able to leave our bags safely in their storage room at no extra charge.

The rooms are a good size, and look like new. Bathrooms are also beautifully done. Everything is super clean, and nicely decorated with everything you'd expect and more. There's also a nice pool and a few places to lie and read a book out in the courtyard. Overall we thought it was fantastic value. The included breakfast is also pretty good: buffet and menu style orders available.

If you're there on a Sunday then the market is in town and the whole road in front of the hotel is closed and given over to clothing, arts, and food stalls. It's fabulous, but try not to arrive after about 3pm or you'll have to walk the last 1/2 mile to the hotel! There are also some good restaurants opposite the hotel: plenty of choice. Plus you can easily walk to Wat Chedi Luang (one of the old temples in town) in 5 minutes. Fantastic location.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank Claus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I can't say enough about U Chiang Mai! The location was great, the pool is really nice, and the rooms all have balconies overlooking the pool courtyard. Some rooms even have private "plunge pool"-type areas in the courtyard.

You get a free "welcome drink" from the minibar when you arrive, and free breakfast served all day, anywhere. We had it in our room two days and there was so much wonderful, HOT, food. Really great. It seems that everything was thought of to make our stay great.

I highly recommend this hotel! Also very decently priced!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. Room was gorgeous and the hotel is so small we could literally step into the pool. Extremely clean. Very nice staff. The breakfast is very nice and as the hotel is small you won't have to wait for a table. Fantastic location with beautiful temples right across the street and some nice restaurants and bars. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $132 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing