We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best choose in Chiang Mai old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best choose in Chiang Mai old town”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed two night. They upgrade my room to the room with bathtub. Beside, they made and write a card for me. They are so nice and helpful. The most important tample is just near by. Sunday walking street in front of the hotel. Morning bicycle riding cruse is the best way to know the old city and traditional market. Nice breakfast and pools.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    318
    66
    16
    7
See reviews for
206
756
72
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I'm in agreement with the other 5 star reviews on here regarding the excellent staff and the lovely rooms. But putting aside all that the reason you should stay here is the ideal location. Walking distance to Thapae Gate, Wat Chedi Luang is right across the street, the Sunday market is right outside your hotel door, and there is a delicious restaurant (The Writer's Club and Wine Bar- cheap food, amazing pad thai). Yet amazingly, I was never bothered by street noise. It really is just about perfection. The only suggestion I would make to other travelers is to bring a small mirror because the bathroom lighting is very dim and it is about impossible to apply makeup in there even though they have magnifying mirrors on the wall.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was in the center of Chaing Mai. It is a little Oasis.
The staff are delightful and charming.
The rooms are lovely and the air conditioning Fabulous.
The breakfast is super and all day.
The Spa Lovely and extreamly reasonable.
A wonderful place to stay in the old city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived to this hotel without a reservation and were able to get a room. We stayed for two nights in a room with two single beds and then decided to stay an additional night but had to move to a different room. This room was a deluxe room with a kingsize bed. The first room was in a much better location. Although the hotel is small all the rooms appear to have a balcony, our first room overlooked the pool our second room over looked what appeared to the a mechanics garage which meant we didn't feel comfortable lying there in our swimsuits.

Room and bathroom were clean and there was a safe in the room. Good location. There was complimentary wifi. The food was good and there was a good selection at breakfast, we also had lunch there one day. The staff were very helpful. One complaint would be the price of the laundry. I can't remember exactly but know it was ridiculous and a 10% service charge was added on to the bill. I would stay there again, best hotel during our three weeks between Thailand and Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiRiAmAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a room with direct access to the private pool. This was the best thing about the room, you could relax a bit swimming after a day out walking.

The staff:
Although most of the staff was nice and helpful, there was a woman at the reception very rude, who made us very uncomfortable welcome to the hotel very aggressive in the way she talked to us when she asked for documentation, passport, etc... she made me pay the hotel the first day instead of taking the usual credit card

Transfer: We took transfer from the airport to the hotel for 600 baht. I dont recommend to take it, is very expensive, take a regular cab it would be cost you 1/3 (10 mins from the airport more or less)

Breakfast: Breakfast was good enough for us, variety of bread rolls, toasts, fruit and they make you on the moment eggs, pankakes etc..

Rooms: They were nice and big enough, but quite a lot of mosquitos in them and not 100% clean as you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

We booked the room with dinner included, i would not do that again because the menu is kind of short and only Thai food (is true that on the third day as we complained they gave us some other options to choose)

The location is perfect inside the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mananya U, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear JVMadrid,

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Your feedback is essential in allowing us to maintain the reputation for high standards we strive to achieve and attend to any issues our guests may encounter during their time at U Chiang Mai.
Despite your overall positive review I must offer my sincere apologies for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations.

I was very concerned to learn that you considered the member of staff who checked you in to be rude as she has an exemplary record for guest service and has been singled out for praise by our guests for her service mind. I spoke to her about this issue and she was somewhat taken aback and would like me to pass on her deepest apologies that you considered her to be rude. I have reminded all staff to show our guests the utmost courtesy at all times as this is one of the main reasons we have achieved such a high ranking on this website.

One point I would like to clarify is regarding your payment. When you booked your room you used a debit card to make your booking. Hotel booking engines can only process credit cards not debit cards so upon arrival we requested a credit card to guarantee your booking. I must politely point out that this is only a guarantee and not a request for full payment which was only made upon check-out. Unfortunately the first credit card you supplied us with was rejected by our machine so we asked for your stay to be paid for and you then kindly supplied us with another card.

It is true that a taxi to the airport is cheaper than using the hotel’s transportation. However I must politely point out that we use a full sized passenger van as opposed to a standard saloon car which the taxis in Chiang Mai utilize.

I have spoken to my Housekeeping Manager about your comments concerning your room for her immediate attention.

I regret that the dinner was not to your liking but must once again politely point out that the package you booked clearly stated that it included a Thai set dinner as most of our guests do like to try the local cuisine. However I am delighted that we were able you offer you some non-standard menu items in our dedication to guest service.

May I end by saying that we hope should you ever return to Chiang Mai you would consider staying with us again. Our only desire is that you have a wonderful time with us.

Best Regards,
Mananya Uanon (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here last week for 6 Nights. After much trawling through tripadvisor for reviews this was our choice. And yes like everyone else it was THE BEST. Had pick up from Airport. Yes its cheaper to organise your own but after a long flight nice to have someone stand there with your name on their card and take your luggage, hop you into a bus and explain Chiang Mai. Position was fantastic in the old city. We walked most days to find another Wat or market or quirky cafe or massage or meal. Walking market on the Sunday night was fantastic.Straight out the front. It was not noisey at night, busy road at certain parts of the day like any town but easy to get around. We were lucky enough to have a deluxe room with a share plunge pool (114). The room was fantastic. Quite big and a very comfortable bed. Yes wifi was available . Room service were very prompt and quick. Nice to have a dip after a day in the heat. Yes agree with other reviews, make sure your room is not near the stairway or walkway as some travellers don't care about the noise they make at any time of the day. We were lucky ours was in a corner. Looked onto a wall but who cared we had our own pool. Breakfast was great. Asked for a hot cappuccino and that's what I would start my day with. Juice bar great. A lot of choices. Nice to sit and watch the world go past. Had a drink at the outdoor bar upstairs a couple of nights. Nice place to sit and people watch down below. Had a meal on the last night (couldnt be bothered to venture out) . Bit more expensive than some of the Eating places across the road but good. The staff were very friendly, organised. They arranged for Chia a guide to take us around Chaing Mai at short notice. Very good. Enjoyed his company. Dont hesitate to stay here. You will not be dissappointed. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 114. Tucked in the corner , with a plunge pool to share with other room. Also has a nice back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyndo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice hotel in super center area, this is the place! Te location is the best because it close to all the temple and restaurant.
The room was nice and clean. The service was good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simonoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,283 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing