We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #14 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I really can't find anything bad to say about this place, and my choice of hotel is usually hilton. Not even a "it would have been nice if...." staff, service, rooms, beds, and pretty much anything you can think of, all top notch. And echoing other reviewers, they don't care when you have breakfast. Rock up in the evening and get bacon and eggs! I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeoswordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

Fab hotel - from the beginning we had fab service we were met by the lovely Jimmy at the airport. Check was fast and by lovely smiling staff at front desk. Lovely bedroom which had direct pool access and small seating area outside also. We had three nights fabulous sleep in that bed it was just gorgeous - and fab sheets etc felt so soft!!! The novelty of having your breakfast anyime anywhere was just so brilliant ...my only little complaint would be that the cooked breakfast was not that hot despite asking each morning for it to be hot .... and if this was fixed it would be a completely faultless stay. However saying that I ould definetely return - the hotel is in a fab location brill for seeing all the temples and the city and anything the staff can do they will book for you or help you out just ask. In fact they put us in touch with a fabulous tour guide aswell who I must mention Mr. Chai Sorapong 081-9509220 - super knowledge of everything and we had great fun with him. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the U - its just lovely!!!!!

Room Tip: we had room 105 - pool access lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GersyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent 3 nights at U Chiang Mai and loved everything about it. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and have all the expected amenities of a boutique 5 start hotel. The service is outstanding. Check in was fast. Breakfast was also great, and the hotel allows you to have breakfast anywhere in the hotel at no additional cost, and at any time of the day. Helped us with booking activities around Chiang Mai. High recommended, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKCHICAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the U Chiang Mai and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are wonderfully helpful. Our room had direct pool access and balcony furnished with a day bed and plenty of cushions. The bathroom is rather dark. Very good breakfast with continental buffet and hot food cooked to order. Very good coffee. Mosquitos are evident, our room had a plug in repellent and the hotel was "fogged" while we were there. I had a spa treatment which was excellent. The hotel is very well located for walking around the Old City.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I think I echo the majority of the reviewers at how impressed I was with the hotel.

Location: excellent within walking distance of all major temples within the old city. Would recommend the airport taxi for 120 baht instead of pick up service.

Check-in: fast, efficient and welcoming. 10/10

Room: dark decor, good sized rooms, opening out to the central pool with your own mini deck and day sofa. Good amenities: daily fresh fruit, complementary welcome drink, iPod with Dock, good selection of soap.

Restaurant: a selection of about 6 or 7 hot meals made fresh to order, as well as a Buffett of fresh fruit and bakery. I especially love how it can be enjoyed in room!

Service: genuine, personal but never intrusive, with excellent English

Overall, affordable boutique hotel with excellent amenity and location, 5 star service and innovative ideas. Will be recommending to all my friends!

Room Tip: Bug repellent a must I'm afraid. Rooms located towards the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good hotel , slightly small room but good friendly staff who recommend where to go and what to do, Great location opposite the best restaurant ( The Old City Inn) in chiang mai ( if you like Thai and European food ) a black swimming pool ! but only gets a couple of hours of sunshine a day... would stay again...

Room Tip: The food was ok but I mostly ate opposite in The Old City Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamontecollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We spent 4 nights at U Chiang Mai at the end of April 2014 and were thrilled with our stay. We were lucky to have a room on the first floor with one of the private plunge pools which was wonderful. The hotel staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The daily breakfast was included in the stay and it was the same every day, however it was certainly adequate for our needs. The location of the hotel in the center of the old city is ideal for exploring and the hotel was very quiet. The only night we noticed any noise from the street was Sunday evening when the Sunday night walking market is on the street right outside the hotel. This was not an issue for us and we just went out to the street to enjoy the market. If you will be in Chiang Mai on a Sunday, having the market right outside the hotel was a lot of fun. We would highly recommend staying at U Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNiedner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 403 in Chiang Mai
2,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 403 in Chiang Mai
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 403 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $113 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing