We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A good choice for a Chiang Mai-trip"”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #12 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay for a few days in Chiang Mai and you'd like to be right in the centre of things; this is the place to stay! Especially if you also enjoy a boutique hotel with a cosy-feel. This hotel is situated in the middle of the main street of the old centre- with for example the sunday-night-market, which is fun for some shopping, great food and a good vibe. The staff is very helpfull; we stayed in a top-floor-room (like we asked for). The room was not large but very homy; the bathroom was quite large, great shower but the towels could do with an update, don't expect to find a lot of wardrobe-space (we just left some stuff in the suitcases). If you don't like stairs - ask for a room on the ground floor, we had to walk all the way up to the 4th, there are no lifts.
U Hotel really has an eye for detail, compliments! The breakfast was very good actually, we could even order 'á-la-carte' with again very friendly staff. The pool is a nice addition although there are only a few poolbeds- we didn't mind. All in all we had a great stay here and I would recommend this hotel for sure instead of the more well-known hotels on the outskirts. If you are looking for some action outside; we loved the biking tour 'Colors of Chiang Mai'!

Room Tip: Don't like stairs? Ask for a ground-floor-room. Higher floor-rooms have a bit of a view and tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

U Chiang Mai was a great experience.

We stayed for four nights during peak season - Dec 26-30, 2013. The staff were great - you wouldn't have guessed it was peak season, they were attentive and the place was never too saturated with people. We were there for our honeymoon, and of all the places we stayed this was the only hotel to remember it was our honeymoon - our room was decorated with rose petals on the bed upon our arrival <3

The room (Deluxe Room) was well designed, spacious and nice. The toiletries provided were ok, the private balcony was nice, and it included complimentary glass bottles of water in your room which was a nice touch.

The complimentary breakfast every day was amazing - you could order it to any part of the hotel at any time of day. We enjoyed it in our room everyday and tried almost everything - and it was all great. The hotel also offers free bicycle rentals, fresh fruit in your room every day, as well as a pool and gym.

The location is great - it's a contemporary retreat tucked in the old city's walls. It's a short walk to all the sights, sounds, and eats. The Sunday market happens right outside the hotel door, it's really a part of all the action.

Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel and Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Delighted with my stay. Staff are very kind and efficient. Really think it was the ideal hotel location wise. Ate breakfast at the hotel and a couple of meals. Would not hesitate to return. Bed was so comfortable and the room in general was cleaned to a very high standard.
if I only had to pick one negative it would be that I thought there could do with being a bit more choice on the menu

Room Tip: Loved that each room had a balcony or terrace. The day beds are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We and another couple stayed for a few days right after Christmas, and found lots to praise about this hotel and nothing to complain about. The location is great, the hotel is in the middle of the action and within walking distance of a number of sites, services and restaurants. The building is well designed, with an open concept lobby that lead into the pool area. Although the rooms aren't large, they have a very relaxing, warm ambiance, are well furnished, with nice amenities (like a preloaded iPod, and minibar). The balcony is large enough for comfortable use.

Service from all stay was very good, we found the dining servers to be particularly pleasant. An iron and ironing board were promptly provided upon request and left in our for the duration of our stay. One feature of the hotel is breakfast where you want / when you want and we took full advantage of this. A couple of days we went off touring first thing in the morning and asked for "breakfast" by the pool in the earlier afternoon. This was accommodated cheerfully and efficiently. The breakfast menu was quite complete, promptly served and high quality. Our Christmas dinner in the restaurant was also very good.

Wifi service was good throughout, but the two-device limit was a minor pain (maybe I'm just too connected, but between 'phones, a laptop, tablet, and reader there are lots of things to hook up from time to time), but not really a big deal. There is a small by good fitness centre and bicycles available for use.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We only spent 2 nights here but would definitely come back! The staff was very friendly. The hotel was awesome. I think this was the most comfortable bed in Thailand! The location is great. You are right in the middle of everything!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KJ7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. It is located right in the centre of the Old Town and is on the street the the Sunday Night Market is on, so you can step out of your front door straight into the action! The hotel has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere with a small, but functional, pool and gym. There are plenty of places to eat and drink on the same road as the hotel and you're right in the middle of the temples if that's your thing.

I really enjoyed my stay here and the hotel helped to make Chiang Mai the highlight of my Thailand adventure :-)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chirocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have spent 4 night with 2 kids (9 and 3 years old). Even if the hotel was fully booked on the arrival they have done all the possible to give us a larger room than the standard for 4 people. Than the room itself was gorgeous with all the comfort including an iPod with thousand of songs. Breakfast and food at the restaurant was good as well the swimming pool in the patio. The hotel is located in the heart of the city walking distance from almost all the attraction nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guglielmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
986 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 389 in Chiang Mai
980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $129 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing