We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favourite hotel!”
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #13 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We travelled around thailand and stayed in a number of hotels and this was our favourite! from the minute you arrive the staff make you feel welcome and are very friendly, the hotel is in the best location, right infront of the sunday market and a bike ride away from the temples and evening market (free bikes at hotel). nice little gym with air con. great breakfast selection for a boutique hotel and made to order breakfast. rooms were clean and spacious, ipods with music, choice of pillows and choice of soaps was a sweet touch and overall great value for money - i would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizzypeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had an excellent 2 night stay at the U Chiang Mai. We were upgraded to a pool access room which was really lovely. The hotel is very zen like, and the open air lobby and pool area are very modern.

The location is perfect for walking to the main sites in the city. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes in close walking distance. The night markets are a short tuk tuk ride away.

The breakfast is nice as well - decent selection. We actually ate dinner at Eat and Drink as well and LOVED it.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Chiang Mai. We found it really affordable and convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abanana07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have been at U Chiang Mai for four nights so far. I am travelling with a friend and we have two ground floor rooms with our own plunge pool. We are enjoying our stay in Chiang Mai so much that we have extended our stay. It is a relatively small hotel, with rooms positioned around a central pool area with plenty of tropical plants and fish ponds. The decor is tasteful and relaxing. The hotel itself is well positioned with many cafes close by (we particularly like the Terrace on the nearby corner). U Chiang Mai is well run and clean. The shower is spacious, the air conditioning works well and the bed is comfortable as are the pillows. The bath towels are soft and generously sized. The breakfast is delicious with a great selection of food and beverages. The stand out for this hotel is their great staff. They are obviously proud to work here and keen to assist. They have made our visit very special and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truffle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel on the Sunday Market street.Well located for sogjtseeing..Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great free Yoga class on Wednesdays. Early breakfast.Nice ground floor room with private pool shared with one other bedroom. No hesitation in recommending!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owens1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay. Entrance lovely. And each time we returned to hotel. It was lovely. Even witnessed others not staying at hotel taking pictures and venturing inside. Bed, so comfy. Bathroom shower once pulled up blinds open airy and still private. Pool great. Breakfast so good and actually to much. I know shhh. But husband and usually split one main( eggs Benedict. ) and one small fruit plate. So enjoyed lounging in lobby area while waiting for pick up service. Front desk so helpful. Housekeeping was a giggle. The three of us had a private laugh. I loved all the details. The purple accent color. The single banana tree thru the view of one window and the choice of soaps. Wished I bought some if they were offered in a quiet corner. iPod perfect. Towels. So big. Hubby happy. Overall our best choice of hotels this trip. And they give back. Did not disappoint. So no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smscout31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 4 nights and I'm very glad I did. This hotel completely surpassed my expectations for service - I've been telling everyone about it. The staff are so polite, kind and helpful.

The hotel is well located - about 15 mins walk from the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar and a convenient ATM just outside the hotel.

One evening I tried the U Spa, a 90 minute Thai Lanna Massage which was on discount for only 499 Baht and I didn't want it to end :)

If I travel to Chiang Mai again, I won't have to think twice about where to stay. A superb hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haroon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at U Chiang Mai and it was simply fabulous. Located within the old city, the road outside becomes a walking street market on sundays which is a must.

Only 15 minutes from the airport, the warm reception we received was excellent and we both got to choose which soap fragrance we would like in our rooms. Each of us was given a free drink from the mini bar and water was topped up daily.

Our room was a standard room with king bed and balcony. The rooms are decorated in modern thai design and the small extras and attention to detail throughout the resort and rooms are beautiful.

The pool was a godsend after you have been out all day in the heat and when lying out there for an afternoon, you wouldn't know there is a city just outside.

Breakfast was also excellent, the option to have it in your room is such a great idea, if only other hotels could offer this!

All in all, don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $132 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing