We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but for a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 363 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but for a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The U Chiang Mai is one of the nicer hotels in Chiang Mai and is a good choice if you don't mind the price.

The location is excellent, being in the middle of the old town and an easy walk (or bike ride - they have free bikes on hand for guests) to the main temples and a lot of great restaurants. If you stay on Sunday, there is a weekend market held in the evening. Interesting, whilst the street outside is reasonably busy the hotel is built in such a way that the rooms are very quiet.

The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable of our trip in Thailand. The bathroom has all the mod cons and a great rainshower. We had the pleasure of our room opening directly onto the pool.

The breakfast was excellent, with a great buffet (including lots of fresh fruit) and a cooked to order main of eggs and some Thai and Chinese options.

There is a spa on hand, with some very good discounts given to guests. I'd recommend booking early, as it's quite small and if you are keen on a specific slot you may find it has already been booked.

My only reservation about recommending this place wholeheartedly (and why I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5), is the price. Whilst it was a very nice hotel, it fell short of being a great hotel. To pick some nits, the grounds were a bit small (which can make the pool area feel a bit claustrophobic) and the staff were professional but didn't go hugely out of their way to help. Overall, I felt they priced themselves a little bit high for what they offered. But in general, a very nice hotel and a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens out onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    287
    64
    16
    7
See reviews for
183
667
66
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is right in the middle of the old town. VERY good location. We walked all over the place from the hotel. Easy to get to massage places and great restaurants.
The hotel is modern, new, and clean. Small botiqute hotel. Very comfortable and great service. They allow you to have breakfast anywhere you want: room, pool, lobby, etc. nice touch.
You get to pick out your soap scents too!
I was there for my honeymoon and they made the stay extra special by decorating our bed with roses.
We really loved it and hope to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel centrally located in the old city. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, as we could not get into another hotel that we had used on a previous vacation. We were not disappointed.
The rooms are in good condition. The public areas such as the pool, lounge, and library were all very nice. Breakfast was very good with a la carte along with a buffet. A la carte had Chiang mai sausage which was a nice change from breakfast fare in other locations. Staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always greeted when we entered the hotel.
Hotel is well located, within walking distance of many restaurants and some of the major temples.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wpgoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 2 nights with my wife and another couple. The hotel is very centrally located, an easy walk to just about anywhere in the old part of the city, and a short tuk-tuk ride to the riverside restaurants. It's a little more expensive than most other properties in the area, but much nicer from what I could tell. We booked online and got a better flexible rate by booking early than we would have if we had waited.

The #1 thing I took away from this hotel is its impeccable service. Staff was always eager to help us and answer our questions. They recommended restaurants for us and suggested activities for us to do during our stay. We realized a few days after checking out that we had inadvertently left behind a pair of boots, so I emailed the hotel. They confirmed the boots were there and promptly shipped them to our home in the U.S.

The property is very clean and seems recently updated with modern decor. We stayed in a superior room with a pool view. One quirk that people should be aware of is that the bedroom is raised a few inches above the outside hall and the bathroom. We had to be conscious of the small step in the room when going to the bathroom (especially at night) or entering/exiting the room. The only other room complaint is that the shower water pressure was a bit weak.

The hotel has a restaurant which is just okay. We ate there for dinner one night because we were tired and didn't feel like leaving the property. There were no other customers and the food was just average. The breakfast, included in our rate, was pretty good. You choose from a list of several hot items made-to-order, and there's a small buffet of fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, and breads/pastries. Coffee or tea is also served with breakfast.

We scheduled massages in the hotel spa one night and were disappointed, not in the masseuses but in the spa rooms. The room temperature was cold, we could hear music which I think came from the U Chiang Mai bar, and my wife got attacked by mosquitoes during the massage. The next day, the hotel had the entire property fumigated for mosquitoes. Props to them for addressing the issue, but we weren't offered any discount on the massages. Maybe that's our fault for not asking. If we had time for another spa treatment, we would have gone to the place next door, which was a little less expensive.

Chiang Mai has many temples to see and an overall great vibe. I only wish we had more time to spend in the city to take advantage of U Chiang Mai's central location. We spent most of our short stay on excursions outside of the city: an afternoon at Doi Suthep and a full day at Elephant Nature Park (highly recommended).

Room Tip: Pool view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at U Chiangmai before, we loved it then and enjoyed our stay again. The service is great, friendly staff and nice rooms (albeit a bit on the small side). Lovely pool area which is so nice to relax by after a long day exploring. All day breakfast is an excellent service as is their 24-hour policy (if you check-in at 2pm, you can checkout the last day at 2pm, not 10am like most places). Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Sunday Walking Markets right outside your door. Great gym and do take advantage of the free activities. The early morning bike ride is really enjoyable. Please note this is a small boutique hotel, it is most suited to adults, not big families. We found our last visit far more enjoyable as there were only one or two quiet children. This stay was ruined by the screaming three children of one family who took up half the small pool area. It was really disappointing. Please don't bring your big families here, it is not suited for that many children. Stay at a bigger hotel or resort that specialises in accommodating big families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice,Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We slept here after reading the good reviews and we were very happy with the choice. When we collected our bags after the flights, one of them was broken, as we asked the transfer directly to the hotel, the boy who was waiting for us helped us with the lost and found(sometimes in thailand they do not speak very good english), and also at our arrival the nice lady took care of the situation and we got a new bag in the evening! The staff is very nice, room clean, very good breakfast with no extra charge for cappuccino! The location is perfect.Our room was quiet and bed very comfortable.We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elismina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Location is great, near to Sunday market. But air condition is noisy, the room is not very clean. There are some ants although our room is on the second floor. For the restaurant we can not have more choose. The price is not worth this value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fx017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear fx017,

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments are invaluable in ensuring that we provide the best standards and service for our valued guests and rectify any problems that may arise.
I was delighted that you enjoyed our location with the Sunday Market literally on our doorstep as along with our high standards of service and comfort this is one of our big pluses which is why many guests choose to stay at U Chiang Mai.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
If you could kindly find the time to contact us with the details of your stay I will locate the room you stayed in and instruct my Engineering Department to attend to the noisy air conditioning. It will also allow me to investigate the ant situation and take the necessary action to rectify this. If you could also kindly specify why your room was not clean I can follow up with my Housekeeping Manager on this matter as complaints about our cleanliness are practically unheard of.
I regret that you considered there was not enough choice at breakfast as the majority of our guests are very satisfied with the buffet selection we provide as well as the cooked to order Western and Asian breakfasts on offer. I am also sorry that you thought us to be bad value for money as this is the exact opposite of the usual feedback we receive.
I hope that you have a chance to visit Chiang Mai again in the future and would like to end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you as out honoured guest.

With Warmest Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#2 of 363 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 363 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Chiang Mai

Property: U Chiang Mai
Address: 70 Ratchadamnoen Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncomplicated. Inspiring. You. A low-rise hotel comprised of 41 rooms located in the heart of the city on Ratchadamnoen Road. The Residents’ Lounge to welcome all of our guests is located in the refreshed past residence of Chiang Mai’s governor with a modern Thai accented interior design in keeping with its heritage setting. Only 20 minutes drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and minutes walk to the city’s famous walking streets. Unique concept of service such as 24 hour use of room, breakfast whenever/wherever and U Choose Programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your U Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
u Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai u Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing