We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
U Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$214
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
$122
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$78
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$456
$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rachamankha(Chiang Mai)
$308
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$90
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,580)
Filter reviews
1,580 results
Traveler rating
1,105
374
77
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
374
77
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday marketold townall day breakfastboutique hoteldirect accessa ground floor roomprivate poolwat chedi luangour honeymoonwalking marketperfect locationlovely boutiquefree bikesday bednice balconywonderful hotelstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,580 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel centrally located in the old city. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, as we could not get into another hotel that we had used on a previous vacation. We were not disappointed.
The rooms are in good condition. The public areas such as the pool, lounge, and library were all very nice. Breakfast was very good with a la carte along with a buffet. A la carte had Chiang mai sausage which was a nice change from breakfast fare in other locations. Staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always greeted when we entered the hotel.
Hotel is well located, within walking distance of many restaurants and some of the major temples.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Wpgoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at U Chiang Mai for 2 nights with my wife and another couple. The hotel is very centrally located, an easy walk to just about anywhere in the old part of the city, and a short tuk-tuk ride to the riverside restaurants. It's a little more expensive than most other properties in the area, but much nicer from what I could tell. We booked online and got a better flexible rate by booking early than we would have if we had waited.

The #1 thing I took away from this hotel is its impeccable service. Staff was always eager to help us and answer our questions. They recommended restaurants for us and suggested activities for us to do during our stay. We realized a few days after checking out that we had inadvertently left behind a pair of boots, so I emailed the hotel. They confirmed the boots were there and promptly shipped them to our home in the U.S.

The property is very clean and seems recently updated with modern decor. We stayed in a superior room with a pool view. One quirk that people should be aware of is that the bedroom is raised a few inches above the outside hall and the bathroom. We had to be conscious of the small step in the room when going to the bathroom (especially at night) or entering/exiting the room. The only other room complaint is that the shower water pressure was a bit weak.

The hotel has a restaurant which is just okay. We ate there for dinner one night because we were tired and didn't feel like leaving the property. There were no other customers and the food was just average. The breakfast, included in our rate, was pretty good. You choose from a list of several hot items made-to-order, and there's a small buffet of fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, and breads/pastries. Coffee or tea is also served with breakfast.

We scheduled massages in the hotel spa one night and were disappointed, not in the masseuses but in the spa rooms. The room temperature was cold, we could hear music which I think came from the U Chiang Mai bar, and my wife got attacked by mosquitoes during the massage. The next day, the hotel had the entire property fumigated for mosquitoes. Props to them for addressing the issue, but we weren't offered any discount on the massages. Maybe that's our fault for not asking. If we had time for another spa treatment, we would have gone to the place next door, which was a little less expensive.

Chiang Mai has many temples to see and an overall great vibe. I only wish we had more time to spend in the city to take advantage of U Chiang Mai's central location. We spent most of our short stay on excursions outside of the city: an afternoon at Doi Suthep and a full day at Elephant Nature Park (highly recommended).

Room Tip: Pool view is nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at U Chiangmai before, we loved it then and enjoyed our stay again. The service is great, friendly staff and nice rooms (albeit a bit on the small side). Lovely pool area which is so nice to relax by after a long day exploring. All day breakfast is an excellent service as is their 24-hour policy (if you check-in at 2pm, you can checkout the last day at 2pm, not 10am like most places). Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Sunday Walking Markets right outside your door. Great gym and do take advantage of the free activities. The early morning bike ride is really enjoyable. Please note this is a small boutique hotel, it is most suited to adults, not big families. We found our last visit far more enjoyable as there were only one or two quiet children. This stay was ruined by the screaming three children of one family who took up half the small pool area. It was really disappointing. Please don't bring your big families here, it is not suited for that many children. Stay at a bigger hotel or resort that specialises in accommodating big families.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We slept here after reading the good reviews and we were very happy with the choice. When we collected our bags after the flights, one of them was broken, as we asked the transfer directly to the hotel, the boy who was waiting for us helped us with the lost and found(sometimes in thailand they do not speak very good english), and also at our arrival the nice lady took care of the situation and we got a new bag in the evening! The staff is very nice, room clean, very good breakfast with no extra charge for cappuccino! The location is perfect.Our room was quiet and bed very comfortable.We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elismina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Location is great, near to Sunday market. But air condition is noisy, the room is not very clean. There are some ants although our room is on the second floor. For the restaurant we can not have more choose. The price is not worth this value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fx017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itthipon, General Manager at U Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear fx017,

Greetings from U Chiang Mai.

May I begin by thanking you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. Your comments are invaluable in ensuring that we provide the best standards and service for our valued guests and rectify any problems that may arise.
I was delighted that you enjoyed our location with the Sunday Market literally on our doorstep as along with our high standards of service and comfort this is one of our big pluses which is why many guests choose to stay at U Chiang Mai.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
If you could kindly find the time to contact us with the details of your stay I will locate the room you stayed in and instruct my Engineering Department to attend to the noisy air conditioning. It will also allow me to investigate the ant situation and take the necessary action to rectify this. If you could also kindly specify why your room was not clean I can follow up with my Housekeeping Manager on this matter as complaints about our cleanliness are practically unheard of.
I regret that you considered there was not enough choice at breakfast as the majority of our guests are very satisfied with the buffet selection we provide as well as the cooked to order Western and Asian breakfasts on offer. I am also sorry that you thought us to be bad value for money as this is the exact opposite of the usual feedback we receive.
I hope that you have a chance to visit Chiang Mai again in the future and would like to end by saying that it was a pleasure to serve you as out honoured guest.

With Warmest Regards,
Itthipon Meesawat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews