We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
U Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Dragon Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viangluang Resort(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Gallery House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anodard Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kavil Guesthouse(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
1,092
370
75
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
370
75
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday marketold townall day breakfastboutique hoteldirect accessa ground floor roomprivate poolwat chedi luangour honeymoonwalking marketperfect locationlovely boutiquefree bikesday bednice balconywonderful hotelan oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,142 - 1,147 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We already knew the U Chiang Mai from our last visit in Chiang Mai. We liked it so much that we we did not even look at other hotels.
The U Chiang Mai is a small exquisite boutique hotel. The location is great; this is probably the "most central" hotel in Chiang Mai. The Sunday walking street market takes place right in front of the hotel.
What we like most is the friendliness of the staff. Since the hotel is relatively small, the hosts know every guest. No matter if you need something or go dining in the restaurant, everyone without exception is friendly and helpful with the famous Thai smile. Even if you do not need anything, the staff will make suggestions and help you to plan your day. But of course, you can also spend a nice relaxing day at the pool and in the spa.
The restaurant is small, but the food is of best quality (try the "sticky rice with mangos"!).
Since we returned the second time, it was a very warm welcome. It was almost like coming home and meeting good friends again. And when we come to Chiang Mai again (we surely will), we already know where we will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gueLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at the U Chiang my for 3 nights during a short, last-minute trip to Chiang Mai from Bangkok. As a constant business traveller it is such a treat to stay in a hotel focused on relaxation, comfort and guest services. The U Chiang Mai did not disappoint. The location was outstanding 5 mins walking distance to 2 of the more impressive temples in Old Town Chiang Mai and to a variety of bars, cafes and restaurants providing everything from western/european food to traditional/regional Thai.

The staff upon arrival were gracious and helpful until we left the hotel well after our planned check out. Thanks for holding the baggage! I was most surprised at the variety of people staying at the hotel as well (families, older people, younger people, etc) - so clearly something for everyone all underpinned by the exceptional service.

U Chiang Mai has found a way to embrace a blend of modern luxury and old world charm - which is really what we wanted in accomodation at U Chiang Mai. The entire place is built around the original old manor home still standing and in use today as the main reception and upstairs spa and library - very cool!

Any visit to Chiang Mai will mean happily mean another stay at the U!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusLeisTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Small hotel but feel relax. Reasonable price. Good food. Nice service with great help. Good location but no parking. Good for short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pangkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed one week in this lovely cityhotel. In one word everything was excellent. Nothing to much, anything we wanted was fullfilled in à very short time. The manager and her staff knows how to treat their guests and made them feel very welcome and honored. We hope to come back. Highly recommanded!
JJL The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The staff at U Chiang Mai have a passion for every one of their guests that comes from the very heart of their souls. They see their very purpose as to make each individual have a perfect stay with them. They understand a customer's need before the customer even knows it themselves. They seem to know instinctively what to do in any situation.
I have stayed at many great hotels throughout the UK and US. The service experience in this hotel is the best I have ever received. They are leading the field in global customer care. I guarantee you will not be disappointed with U Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-GreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews