We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Elliebum

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elliebum
Ranked #199 of 825 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This was the last place we stayed in our Thailand holiday - and we left the best for last.

The best thing was the personal touch - Gade is a wonderfully friendly person who made us feel welcome and special, and nothing was too much trouble. Even the email messages when booking were chatty and friendly. Breakfast was great, and previous reviewers are right about the blueberry smoothies.


Unfortunately, being in Chiang Mai for 4 days over the New Year, we missed out on getting a room in the main Elliebum. However Gade now also manages "Elliebum 2" a few doors down the road, and the room there was spotless, very comfortable (and with very nice bathroom toiletries) - and we had all the amenities of Elliebum.

Our plane home left late in the day, but we were able to stay in our room until we were ready to leave, at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 133 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Elliebum for a week. The rooms were extremely spacious and immaculate. There is cable tv and dvds in the rooms! The cafe is so peaceful and adorable. We woke up every day and came down and drank wonderful espresso, ate Gade's amazing fresh fruit and muesli parfait, and lounged around reading. Truly relaxing. The location is very central and within walking distance to everything.

Gade is the owner of Elliebum. She is absolutely the most gracious hostess. It was as if we were friends in her home. She speaks perfect english and was so helpful. She provides a cooking class which was super fun and relaxed.

I would absolutely recommend this guest house!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotdogtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This place is incredibly cute and comfortable. I was staying elsewhere, and stumbled upon Elliebum when I was lost walking around the city. I went in and asked for directions, and the owner was so nice, and the place was so charming and comfortable that the next day I went back and booked a room.

The rooms are lovely, the people are welcoming and extremely kind, and the breakfast and the coffee are the cherry on top.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deviled_eggz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I have never written a review but felt I had to write about an amazing guest house in Chiang Mai called Elliebum. Elliebum is everything you could want from a guest house. It is set on a quiet street close to the centre of old Chiang Mai, surrounded by wats and other interesting places to visit. The rooms are stunning - huge, cool and beautifully furnished and the cafe serves a small selection of delicious home cooked food, including to die for blueberry smoothies. Although, what sets Elliebum apart from other guest houses is the host Gade, one of the friendliest people I have met on my trip. Gade treats all of her guests as though they are members of her family, nothing is too much trouble and she is only too willing to give you any help she can. Elliebum only has two rooms but the chilled out cafe is filled with people who have found a calm sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. Gade will soon be managing another guest house very close to Elliebum, so if it is full I would recommend staying there (also lovely) and taking advantage of the Elliebum cafe and of course meeting Gade.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mofmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Elliebum is small 2 room guesthouse in the heart of old Chiang Mai. It is the perfect location, within walking distance of many sites - including Wats, Sunday market and Tai Pai Gate. The night market and Ping River area are a short tuk-tuk or songtow ride away. It is also only a few steps away from the absolute best restaurant in Chiang Mai - Huen Phen.

The rooms are the most spacious I've ever been in and it provided for a very comfortable and quiet place to call "home" during our 6 night stay. Comfortable, cutely decorated and very clean (but you will have to continually ask for fresh towels, toilet paper when you need it. In addition, one small caveat if you use hair dryers or electric shaver - there is only one outlet in the room, by the TV in the center of the room; none in the bathroom...)

breakfast is included with the price of your room. Not your typical continental breakfast - it is a FULL breakfast and you have about 4 choices, so there is plenty to choose from and it's all good. The smoothies and lattes are also great. All served at your convenience. The cafe also offers soft drinks and beer for purchase.

Gade, the owner, is very friendly and will make your stay comfortable. She helped us with tips on taxi prices, getting around, acted as a translator giving specific instructions to our hired guides before we set off, made some reservations for us, recommended local places to eat, etc. We were in Chiang Mai during Loy Krathong and she gathered her extended family and all the materials to make Kratongs and we had a fun evening making our own Kratongs and then went with Gade and her friends to the River, where we lit and set out kratongs on their way. Thanks to Gade, her sister and the "3 M's" for making that a very memorable experience!

Gade also runs a home decor and gift shop in the guesthouse. Very nice things and very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STurner1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

My husband and I are in the middle of a 7 month trip and have written a few postings to chime in on really special hotels that have felt like homes away from home as we hotel hop. And here we found it again at Ellebum in Chiang Mai.
Gade the owner is such a great hostess. She offered to pick us up at the airport before we even met her! When we arrived at her cute coffee shop and guesthouse we immediately felt at home. She and her sister have a great home decorative store adjoined to Elliebum as well so be sure to check that out. Her English is perfect (she’s young and also lived in China for several years so she speaks Chinese too). There are only 2 rooms so you get very personalized service by Gade herself. She had unexpected business come up in Bangkok and let us know right away that she had to leave the next morning but when we told her we had wanted to do the cooking class that comes complimentary with 5 nights stay she put it together for that very evening. She let us help pick the menu and we hung around in the kitchen with the other guests all having wine and cooking. Even though Gade had a flight early the next morning she took the time to sit down with us and go over what to do and see around town including her favorite spots. She also arranged a car rental for the other guests from Bangkok while she was away! She left us in the excellent care of her sister and brother-in-law so it was no problem that she was away for part of our stay. And when she returned from Bangkok she took us out of the city to see things we never would have had the chance to see. We also went with her to pick up her nieces and nephew at their schools to get a glimpse into real life in Chiang Mai. She’s very engaging and glad to have her guests around to swap stories with and hang out. Breakfast is included in the price and she lets you pick what you feel like having each morning so we switched it up between Thai breakfast and good old eggs and bacon (her bacon is the best we’ve ever had). The iced mocha is really good too! We found the location was very convenient, almost in the middle of the old city so a 10-20 walk anywhere around town but there’s plenty to stop off and look at along the way. She also has a computer for complimentary use with Internet and wifi that worked great even in our room on the top floor (which was very quiet at night by the way).
Only downfall is there is not an elevator but we looked at it as a bit of exercise to walk up the three flights of stairs to our room on the top floor!
And just to rave about Chiang Mai for a minute, hotels aside, it’s a really wonderful town. There is something for everyone from adventure sports (we did a zip line course through the jungle called Flight of the Gibbons and my husband bungee jumped), nature activities (we visited an orchid farm, went to an elephant camp where you can even take training classes and played with babies tigers at Tiger Kingdom), cultural activities (we visited a hill tribe and long neck women village and several gorgeous wats) modern art galleries and beautiful home boutiques (make sure to check out the area north of Riverside Bar on Charoen Raj Rd), cheap but nice massage shops on every corner and posh coffee shops and restaurants along side fun local dives.

Hotel website is: www.elliebum.com

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pdsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

What strikes you most about Ellibum is that the owner, Gade, really cares about the service being provided. This helps create a warm and friendly atmosphere for the travel hardened individual or the passing group.

Whether you want to make use of the free internet connection, browse through the arts and crafts on offer, sit and relax over a cup of coffee in pleasant surroundings or base yourself at Elliebums for the duration of your stay. This is what you are looking for.

In the unlikely event that Elliebums does not meet all your requirements you can rest assured that you will be helpfully pointed in the direction of what you seek.

This is a first, and last port of call for any visit to Chang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bobster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
956 reviews
0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#385 of 825 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliebum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliebum

Address: 114 / 3 - 4 Rachamakka Rd | Phrasingha, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 825 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elliebum is a friendly guest house and cafe located in the heart of Chiang Mai, Thailand. Our beautifully furnished, spacious, spotlessly clean en-suite rooms offer superb quality at a very affordable cost. Breakfast is included free, as is wi-fi, cable tv (including international news and movie channels), air-conditioning and use of the kitchen. Our staff speak excellent English as well as Thai, Mandarin and French. Warm welcome is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing