We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best budget place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #130 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

the hotel is very near to the old town. the staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room size is good enough and designed very beautifully. The hotel is very peaceful. breakfast is served and its good. A shouldn't miss hotel at very good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabingrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here as a solo traveler for one week.

Positives
1) Great location steps from Thapae Gate
2) Friendly staff
3) Laundry services- 40 baht per kg
4) Bike rental for 40 baht per day
5) Cheap- 750 baht per night


Negatives
1) Bed is rock hard!
2) Geckos get into the room- the staff removed them for me once I learned the Thai word for lizard- cingck!
3) I had a noisy room on the third floor- people talked loudly outside my door and housekeeping made a lot of noise every morning
4) Shower has no curtain or door so water gets all over the bathroom each time you shower
5) Same breakfast every morning (one fried egg, two pieces of toast, a hot dog, a piece of ham, watermelon, and juice/coffee)

Even with all the negatives I would stay there again as I visited many other guest houses in Chiang Mai that were FAR worse and more expensive!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiRN05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We found Thapae after walking along trying to Fonda place that was cheaper than what we'd paid the previous night,stayed 4 nights at 800 baht a night it was great, close to old city, good rooms, bathroom, air conditioning, TV,breakfast included, friendly staff,would stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel was full when we arrived so I think we got the dodgy room with the broken mattress. But the room was a good size and had air con. Also this place is very reasonably priced. The second night we were in a smaller room but the bed was OK. I've found all beds are on the solid side of hard during our stay in Chiang Mai so this hotel was no different. But the staff were very helpful when we were trying to organise a hire car over the phone with someone with very little English. The breakfast was great. But best of all is the location. On a quiet street but in the middle of where everything is happening.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieV69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Here goes... Being a self proclaimed experienced traveller who opts for guesthouses rather than high end hotels, this place is kind of a letdown, as I had expected better based on the reviews I read from TA.

Firstly the PROs. Location is excellent, though nestled in a tiny lane wide enough only for 1 car. 15-20mins walk to Night Bazaar & Warorot Mkt, 5mins songthaew ride to Sat walking street, & 2-5mins walk to Sun walking street. Except the Sun mkt, the rest were a bit tricky to find for 1st timers so be sure to ask for the right directions. Even when taking a songthaew, u'd need to know when to press the stop bell.

The guesthouse looked pleasant with its cheerful and relaxed ambience. Breakfast was also surprisingly good though simple, and you could ask for additional items if you wished.

Some staff members went out of their way to help & were always smiling.

Now for the CONs. We requested for the bungalow directly opposite the guesthouse as there were 6 of us & we read from a couple of reviewers that it was big, comfy and well equipped. To be completely honest, though the descriptions were true, the bungalow was also poorly maintained, dirty/dusty & full of mosquitoes. I think other than the big flat screen TV, nothing else in that house was new!

The floor creaked even with the slightest footstep causing the 'knocking' sounds by the closet doors, & the toilet doors creaked loudly as well making it so difficult to get past your partner without waking him/her up.

The towels were stained, bathroom shelves dirty, floors & bed corners extremely dusty with cobwebs. Kitchen utensils & cups were also quite dirty.

The water heater in one bathroom broke down on the 2nd day & all of us had to share 1 remaining toilet/shower for at least 12hrs. When we complained, the guesthouse did make an effort to ensure it was fixed asap. One toilet couldn't flush well, one air-cond kept shutting down & restarting & was not cool enough, & some lightings not working.

Mosquitoes were abundant and you could hardly open the door without letting in some. This could be caused by a stagnant pond right by the front porch of the house. The guesthouse provided electric repellents for each room but this was hardly effective.

The porch of the house served as the parking lot for the entire guesthouse. Guests who had motorbikes would park them at our doorstep, some very noisy talking/laughing loudly especially in the middle of the night. 2 out of the 4 nights we stayed here, cats were screeching & fighting right outside our windows in the middle of the night! I could say we only slept well for only 1 night!

The hard beds caused some pain making it difficult to sleep too.

Overall, I would rate it a very average experience, passable but nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Friendly informative staff.
Very clean rooms, cleaned everyday with fresh linen.
Fantastic breakfast
Great location
Quaint and homely feel.
Authentic chiang mai Style.
Well done to all the staff and owners, great little hotel. Attentive, friendly guys who dont rip you off!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruthington2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location of this "hotel" is good for sure as it is within easy walking distance of all of the good sites that Chiang Mai has to offer though you could probably find a better place to stay and take a tuk tuk to these sites just as easily.
As a place to stay it is not ideal if you expect any type of luxury. First off, the bed is as hard as a rock and I am not exaggerating. I pulled up the sheet and the "box spring" is super hard and the only padding is a thin mattress pad which is not comfortable at all. I didn't expect a luxury accommodation but a semi comfortable bed would be nice. We talked to the staff and they said they would add more padding but one more thin mattress did not make any difference. Spend some money on some cheap mattresses and this problem would be rectified. To contribute to the crappy mattresses the sound proofing is virtually zero so any type of noise in the complex carried through all of the rooms. The rooms are super rustic and very cramped so if you have a few pieces of luggage it is hard to move.
As a positive the staff is very nice and accommodating and the breakfast is alright.
In closing, the Thapae Boutique House would be alright for certain people but if you expect a little "luxury" I would not recommend this hotel. There are probably many better options in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#247 of 395 in Chiang Mai
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#99 of 395 in Chiang Mai
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#154 of 395 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#65 of 395 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#124 of 395 in Chiang Mai
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#79 of 395 in Chiang Mai
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $21 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing