We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thapae Boutique House
Ranked #123 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff was so helpful calling out tour group when we were afraid they wouldn't pick us up. They did. The staff knew us by name on our arrival after I worried on the plane that I had left my Priceline proof of payment in Ohio. I worried for nothing. When we left on our tours before the official breakfast start time they made breakfast for us anyways along with other guests who also were leaving early. The location is just fantastic. It's a 2 minute walk from a gorgeous Temple. It might be 5 minutes from the night market past interesting stores and money changing places. The room was clean and quiet. We asked for a quiet room and the only thing we heard were the caged birds chirping in the morning at the restaurant/hotel across the alley way from them. The staff is so helpful answering any and all questions and it's free Wifi with 2 free computers in the front lobby.
The best thing about breakfast is the fruit smoothies and the coffee. The eggs were cooked to order but the toast looked like Wonder bread and the eggs came with a sausage like hot dog and a piece of ham. But it was enough to get going in the morning and after the 1st morning the cook gave me a double size coffee all by himself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
79
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pingtung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Originally we booked this guesthouse for 3 nights, but we stayed 5 nights cause my kids were pretty sick during the trip. We had to cancel one of our main destination and stay in Chaing Mai for kids to get better. Our room is on the 3rd floor. I like the big bed a lot. Very roomy for my 2 kids and I sleep in. The room is big, quiet and clean. One of the female staffs(I think she maybe the manager or senior supervisor.) who was very helpful during our stay. The location is great. Just outside of the Tapae gate. We had a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This lovely little guesthouse is situated down a small soi just off Thapae Rd. Turn right on the road and you're a 5-10 minute walk away from the night bazaar. Turn left and youre 2 minutes from the east gate of the old city and where the sunday walking market is. Theres loads of places to eat nearby you will never be stuck. The staff are nice and helpful, the laundry service is reliable and quick too. The rooms are of a decent size, ours was a little dark but not so much that it became an issue. Some dodgy plastering in the bathroom which makes it look like they forgot to tile it but its spotlessly clean so doesn't put you off. In room safe is ideal. The breakfast is served in the very pleasant sitting area at the front of the guesthouse. Breakfast is freshly cooked served with tea/coffee and pineapple shake. We would happily stay here again when back in Chiang Mai, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icdlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location -- within easy walking distance of Tha Phae Gate/Old Town (location of the Sunday Market) and also the Night Market. Plenty of restaurants nearby and there's a 7-11 right around the corner for drinks or snacks.

Reception was very friendly and helpful -- especially "Gai", who used to be a tour guide, would always make recommendations on what to do or see. She even turned into our taxi driver on her day off!

My only complaint would be the bed. As others have stated, they are FIRM. Like, super-hard, there's-no-give-whatsoever-when-you-sit firm. That left me a bit sore but the benefits of this hotel far outweighed the negative; noise wasn't an issue, the bathroom was bare but clean, etc. -- Plus, there were 2 cats who roamed the reception/outside sitting area and cats make everything better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pteryndactyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place was very well located. Well within walking distance of most of the cities major attractions (walls, gates, markets etc). Staff were very accommodating and friendly (as you expect throughout Thailand). Had nice communal areas and breakfast was basic but good. They did make an effort (misguided) at a European style breakfast, but it's best to stick with the fruit - and lots of it!
A word of warning about the beds. At check in they asked if I liked a firm or soft bed. I answered firm. They did say it was very firm, and I said that was fine. Well it was a brick!!! I think they knew all along that I wouldn't like it (expect these rooms are reserved for locals only) and the concierge chap waited while I tried the bed, and then promptly moved me to the room they thought I should be in all along. Great service, but if asked in Thailand if you want a firm bed the answer is always NO.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from 4 weeks in northern Thailand and used Thapae Boutique regularly over that period. The location is excellent within easy walking distance to the night market, restaurants , walking street markets. I found the service good and the reception girls were always obliging with information etc. I stayed in a few different rooms and found them all ok to my needs - I dont recall mosquitos being a problem - but to my thinking if they are you take appropriate precautions. I left my bags there on several occasions whilst I travelled away and had no issues. The garden is pleasant and the common area also good. Most of the rooms I stayed in cost me less than AU$30 - good value when you think about it!!

Room Tip: some rooms you can really hear the floor noise from the above room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,121 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,012 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family had 2 twin rooms which were well appointed, big and clean. Effective AC, HC shower which was nicely tiled. Very friendly people including 'Gai' who was standout. Nice breakfast in peaceful setting, Centrally located within walking distance to the night market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#155 of 386 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#167 of 386 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 386 in Chiang Mai
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#154 of 386 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#83 of 386 in Chiang Mai
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#133 of 386 in Chiang Mai
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapae Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapae Boutique House

Property: Thapae Boutique House
Address: 4 soi 5 Thapae Rd | Changklan Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thapae Boutique House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and immaculate rooms are finished in a harmonious blend of chocolate teak wood and cool pastel hues of green, lemon and cream. All have air-con and televisions. Beds are positively sleep inducing and mounted in custom designed teak frames. Bathrooms are spotless and elegantly finished with attractive fixtures and colorful ceramic tiling. Our large open air lobby gracefully leads to a lush garden patio. Located in the heart of downtown for your continence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Thapae Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapae Boutique House Hotel Chiang Mai
Thapae Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing