We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasion diner”

Le Crystal Restaurant
Ranked #213 of 2,069 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $117
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Crystal Restaurant is the finest French Cuisine blending Northern Thai Culture with a contemporary Thai Teak Wood building Outdor seating is available on the terrace bringing you closer to the Ping River and into our garden for the perfect romantic evening. Being the recipient of the Best French Restaurant awarded by Thailand Tatler Magazine for the ten consecutive years, leaving no doubt that we offer only the authentic French Cuisine. Our chef presents a wide selection of dishes using the finest ingredients. from the famous Pan-Fried Foie Gras to the mouth watering many kind of Souffle . Our restaurant also carries a wide selection of Fine wines to compliment any of the dishes you order. With its superb Lanna architecture styling and sumptuous food, Le Crystal Restaurant will take your breath away. Visit our exceptional wine cellar and indulge in our outstanding French cuisine As the restaurant sits on the bank of the Pink River you can enjoy a warm atmosphere with live jazz music and our attentive service. Thus making it appropriate for hosting many events, such as weddings, birthdays parties, anniversaries, celebrations, private parties or launching new products. Our menu can be tailored to your specific needs with various set and buffet menus. Le Crystal Restaurant can accommodate up to 120 people, and is divided into 2 sections: Main dining room 40-80 people and the terrace 30-40 people. Reservations are recommended. The finest French Cuisine, right in Chiang Mai. Free transportation is available within the city limits. may not be available for our buffets and special events . Please contact us for any inquiries Open daily: 6.00-10.30 pm. For dinner. With a live jazz band starting at 7.30-10.00 pm. (Except on Sundays)
Holland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Special occasion diner”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

One of our friends gave a goodbye dinner and we were invited. The live music was jazzy and evergreens.The menu promisseed a good choise of delicious food and so it was. Black truffle soup in a small cup was the right started for me. The other guest took had lobster soup and were enthousiastic about the taste. The main course, lambrack and and for me the doversole were perfect. So just a little dessert made the dinner to a wonderful goodbye party. I know it is pricey, but for a special occasion it is the right place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceesentheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had Christmas eve dinner there, a 7 course set meal. The food was wonderful, the ambiance lovely and the owners were perfect hosts- even picking us up and delivering us back to our hotel. It is French food with a modern twist and well worth the short journey from Chiang Mai centre. It is beside the river and therefore has excellent views. We found it reasonably priced for the food we received and would definitely recommend it to anybody looking or something a little special. Thank you for a wonderful Christmas eve

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gillibee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place in town to celebrate our 3rd Anniversary.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, romantic, fine dining at its best. The food is amazing the service is fantastic. We had a beautiful table by the river and live music. The service i couldnt fault, never had service like this before. The food was devine we had the duck and steak beautiful. I've been to alot of resturants all over the world and this has to be one of the best. So freindly and relaxing. Will def be back!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb - always”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have visited Le Crystal restaurant many times over the last couple of years and have always thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This time we had a set Christmas lunch which was very enjoyable due to the seasonally merry staff and management and of course the wonderful dishes.
This is one of only a few fine dining restaurants in Chiang Mai and has a superb setting alongside the river - outside dining is optional. Complimentary transport is available. Also , at the end of each month the restaurant offers a superb buffet which is a perfect way to enjoy fine dining at a very reasonable price.
We highly recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous French and Steak!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The BEST french restaurant in Chiang Mai (although good cases can be made for Coq d'or and Dhara Devi). Excellent steak, and well prepared and presented French food. Expect to pay US fine dining prices: $50+ per person + wine (selection excellent)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereUg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Crystal Restaurant also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Le Crystal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing