We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chiang Mai
Post
Inbox
Search

“No. 1 bar in Chiang Mai”
Review of The Riverside

The Riverside
Ranked #248 of 2,933 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Always one of the most attractive bar in Chiang Mai. The band here plays a stunning performance. Beers and drinks are more than you need. Go early to occupy a table near the stage.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank DukeOfDevonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

This was our second time visiting in our stay and returned because we had a great first evening; food and music were both great, nothing to fault. Unfortunately this was not our experience the second time and embarrassingly we invited 4 other guests.

In summary, a beer took longer than the starter to arrive, there was a huge wait between the starter and the main course (approx 1 hour) and then our mains arrived incorrectly (most ordered steak, cooked to their preference with their choice of side and everyone ended up with a baked potato). Given the wait we were happy to accept what arrived. However seeing the error, the staff tried to fix it leading to a further delay and our steaks returned over cooked with veg cold, dried sautéed potatoes and one missing. It took a further 15 minutes for some mayo to arrive and 20 minutes for the last meal to arrive by which time most had finished their meal.

We are a pretty chilled out group but given it was a special meal with personal recommendation we spoke to the manager who offered us a bottle of wine to compensate, this seemed generous as we had been drinking wine but turns out she was offering us the cheapest on the menu, not the more expensive one we had enjoyed, 2 bottles whilst waiting for the restaurant to get their act together. When we questioned this, the manager became defensive, almost aggressive. Accept it, pay the bill in full or we call the police?!?!

Bit wanting to spoil our evening, we decided to cut our loses, pay the bill and enjoy the evening elsewhere. Unfortunate as the vibe is enjoyable, the band great and it has previously been a great night.

If you choose the Riverside, there’s a chance you’ll have a great night and a chance you won’t. AND if you accidentally knock over a badly placed glass be prepared to have that added to your bill!!

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Happyholibobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We came to the riverside on the recommendation of friends who had come the night previous. We were a party of 6 that each ordered a steak dinner and bottles of wine in addition to other drinks. To start - it took forever to order. To make matters worse, the food arrived at our table over 1.5 hours after we had ordered. To further this frustration, the dishes that arrived were not correct. The servers took our plates back and we waited once more for our food. It took so long and they arrived so sporadically that by the time we all had our food, we couldn’t eat together. 5/6 dishes arrived within 15 minutes of each other and the final 6th dish turned out much later leaving our 6th guest eating alone. The dishes that arrived were still not correct and were cold. We were just so frustrated that we ate them despite this.

In speaking with the manager, a relatively young lady, she was sneaky and deceptive. She was reluctant to rectify the issues so I proposed that she send our table a nice bottle of wine (we had been drinking a more expensive bottle) or offer us a discount for our bad experience. She sent us the cheapest bottle of house wine. I spoke with her further following this and she threatened to call the police if we didn’t give in and pay for the terrible service and incorrect food.

I would not recommend this place if you’re looking for a good local restaurant as the prices are absurdly high for Chiang Mai, and the customer service was terrible. If you’re looking only for good live music, come after 9 as they do have some good live bands that perform (that’s their only saving grace).

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 821mariannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

One of several adjacent riverside restaurants on Charoenrat Rd. Old wooden house originally. Live music venue. Unique dish - baked mussels with cheese. Excellent service. Family but not wheelchair friendly. Value for money. Free WiFi. Evening boat dining trips available. Book in advance, order your food, board at 7.30pm, 1hr 20mins approx. The food is served at tables and piping hot. There are excellent bathrooms on the two boats.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Chrisvickery2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Just came for a cold Chang this time with a friend. A large Chang was 125 Baht. Free wifi. Fast service. Decent toilets. Nice view of the river

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CraftBeerDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing