We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so special”
Review of The Riverside

The Riverside
Ranked #98 of 2,137 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so special”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The view over the river shoud be great the dinerboat is blocking it perfectly. The thai food is allright and of a good price. The international food is very expensieve. Service is so busy that they are not realy able to help you correctly.

I'm not going here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Job V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    812
    346
    127
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Extensive menu something for everyone”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a fabulously located restaurant on the river which is always busy. The menu is the most extensive I have seen anywhere which for me is a bit OTT as I cant decide what to order :( We have been a couple of times on previous trips however im not sure the food was as good this time. That however may be down to me ordereing a dish off the menu that wasnt a speciality, thats the problem with an extensive menu. My husband was blown away by his curry so this says it all.The food was hot and tasty and promptly delivered, great views too if you can get an upstairs table overlooking the river. Not the cheapest meal you will eat in Chiang Mai but a lovely restaurant with great views.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,806 reviews
699 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“Nice, but overrated”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Riverside is one of the best known and most visited restaurants in Chiang Mai. The location on the banks of the Ping River is great and the atmosphere is very pleasant. Service is OK, but not great. Food is average on any scale of people living in or frequenting Thailand. Prices are a bit on the steep side, probably because the place has such an established reputation. Worth a visit, but don't expect it to be the highlight of your trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food here was awesome! The view is great being on the river. You do have to wait a little while to get a table but they are quick to get you in as soon as someone leaves.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We decided to go to this restaurant after seeing it was recommended in the Lonely Planet guide, so we walked past many good restaurants and away from all the main sights to get there. The place was crowded but lively, with live music on all be it western songs. We had to wait for about 30 minutes for a table, so ordered a drink first, two bottles of Chang Beer, which were so overpriced it is unreal. There is an unbelievable choice of food however it can only be described as ‘less than average pub grub’ and when compared to the other places we tried during the three weeks I certainly wouldn’t consider going back.
If you’re into a lively night scene with live western music and a place to meet fellow backpackers then head down there otherwise steer well clear.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside also viewed

 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing