We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful teacher!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Best Thai Cookery School

The Best Thai Cookery School
Ranked #14 of 66 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wandering Nomad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful teacher!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Be sure to sign up for the full day class. You get acquainted with the markets, an organic country garden, and a really sweet kitchen. Carnivore, vegan, vegetarian, any dietary restrictions, allergies, etc., no problem! This guy can accommodate all types. The food's delectable, the cookbook is actually helpful, and the teacher is super experienced, calm, friendly and helpful. You're missing out if you don't take a cooking class while you're here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EiffelBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    28
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a great course and a great day out. the teacher had brilliant english and was enthusiastic about teaching us. I can now cook thai food. It is a little more expensive then other places we looked at but we're glad we went with it. the kitchen was clean and spacious. Worth doing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelleGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took the full day class and it was just great! Went to the market first off and learned a lot about the ingredients of Thai cooking. Afterwards we were taken to our teachers home, where we had a stroll around his herb and veggie garden to fetch some last ingredients before entering the kitchen. The cooking was heaps of fun and our teacher was the funniest and nicest guy! We got given a Thai cookbook with all the recipes and the food we cooked was insanely good (Pad Thai, Spring Rolls + Sauce, 3 Curries, Soups, Noodles, Sticky Rice with Mango, Fried Rice, .....). Highly recommended!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frangipani2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Same, same but different...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I just got back from the afternoon/evening course and had a really fun time. Perm is great, speaks good English and made me laugh a lot. He is also very knowledgeable and there was little I felt I needed to ask. If you've done a little bit of cooking before, but want to learn about Thai ingredients and dishes then this school is for you! As previously recommended, bring your camera and turn up hungry! I learnt a lot and had a great time and I can't recommend this enough if you're interested in learning about food.

Helpful?
Thank SiBoy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking school”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We did the full day one and it was fantastic. We had a range of nationalities and had so may laughs. It was fantastic and what we learnt was great too. I will definitely do it again and I recommend it to anyone who wants to do a cooking class in Chiang Mai. A Thai chef teaches you and his knowledge is fabulous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jules1986_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best Thai Cookery School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Best Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing