We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
27
38
15
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tha pae gate access card lady owner old city loy krathong festival great place to stay within easy walking distance night market balcony wifi toilet thb
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 94 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Great place to stay in the Old City, it is in a quiet area, close to good restaurants on Ratwithi road and close to the Thapae Gate. The owner was so accommodating, we were travelling around on a bike and leaving some of our luggage there for days at a time on several occasions. Rooms were cheap (500 THB), adequate and quiet. fully recommend this place for somewhere to stay within easy walking distance of the many things the old city has to offer as well as close to Thapae gate for the markets etc down Loy Kroy rd. 10 out of 10 for the location, price, rooms and most definitely the owner.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gussi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here in the standard twin bed fan room which was the cheapest and we had a comfortable stay.

The room came with the bare minimum but you don't really need a lot from a room if you are backpacking other than a bed, fan, shower/toilet and it to be reasonably clean. This place ticked all those boxes for sure.

Found no issue with this place and would have happily stayed here for the duration of our time in Chiang Mai. Unfortunately we missed our chance with booking the cheapest room for the rest of our stay so moved on to cheaper digs.

The staff are friendly and the building is safe with plenty of cameras around the building.

This place is a no thrills place and you get what you pay for. I would have no problem whatsoever with staying here again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Thank MatthewT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017

I stayed here the same time as 'Bedbugs" review below. I have stayed here on 3 different times during my Thailand holiday. I use it as a base to explore the rest of the area and return every time to the same Guesthouse. I have found the place not so new but always clean and spotless. The staff are very friendly and try very hard to please. It is recommended by Lonely Planet and I agree. Its a great place to stay in the centre of Chiang Mai. There is also the best place for breakfast right next door [also recommended by Lonely Planet]. It is a great location in the middle of all the action. The owner and the staff always happy and smiling, and will have you smiling too.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bj1484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

I spent 8 nights there and it was just as expected considering what I paid. The room was okay~ getting a bit threadbare but clean enough. The bathroom could use a thorough scrubbing - corners were a bit mouldy. It looked like they only cleaned the highly visible areas so if you look carefully behind the monitor or corner of the room or underneath the furniture, it looked like it's been a while - very dusty. Also, out of the 8 nights & 9 days we were there the room was cleaned only 2 times. We had to ask for new towels once between the two times the room was cleaned. But location-wise, extremely convenient!! Close to many resturants, massage shops, and a 7-11. Also walking distance to most markets so if you are on a tight budget and you don't mind if the place is a little run down as long as the bed sheets and towels are clean, then it's probably a good deal.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jessicakT3649OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights in this guest house via Agoda after the pretty good reviews it has.

So we got there around 5pm. First, we had probably one of the last room, the last one in the higher level. No problem. But when we entered, we just saw an old, dirty, dusty and shabby room. The bathroom was even smaller. And the bed was rock hard. When we saw there was ants in the whole room, it was too much, we asked to change the room.

They gave us their last room. It was pretty much the same, just less ants. They also gave us an insect killer to spread on the floor. Ok we'll work it out. When we came back at night after going out, we laid in the bed. Then, around 1am, we started to see one bedbugs, then another. Too much.

We went down, called the reception and left. The only good thing, the owner gave us our money back without arguing. But we are sure she knew, because first the room had no number on the door (?) and when we said we saw bedbugs, she believed us without even checking in the room. So if you know, why do you give the room anyway? That's really uncommercial and immoral.

Think twice before booking there. There are lot more hotel in this central area.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank artsoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews