We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcade Inn(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montri Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
158
170
43
14
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
170
43
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig pooltuk tukgreat poolprivate roommy entire staylaundry facilitieslovely resortair conbed dormcheap pricegreat place to stayfresh fruitbreakfast includedold townguest housenight bazaarbaht
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 396 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The very laid-back Eco Resort is only 5 minutes from Old Town Chiang Mai but feels as though it's miles away. A 6-acre botanical garden (with all the trees labelled for us tree-huggers), fruit literally falling from them, and a staff happy to make wonderful, exotic smoothies from it. My favorite is the mulberry smoothie, made from the fruit of the graceful mulberry tree under whose boughs you walk to the pool.
And it's a real pool. 25 meters long, crystal clear, with tons of lounging space around its perimeter. It's also cool on even the hottest day, which is a minor miracle. Beside the pool is a tiny table,behind which is an even tinier lady who serves cold beer and, of course, more smoothies. Mostly young couples and young families. A mellow scene.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.

Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
NITTAYAPORN POLSRI
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel at all. Staff were excellent, value for our dorm was brilliant (£8 pppn) and the location was perfect for us - outside of the main town but close enough to get a taxi or tuk tuk in if we wanted. The pool and bar were nice, the restaurants food was delicious and the atmosphere there was what made it so easy to stay longer!They offer lots of advice on which tours to book and help you find the best deal (elephant national park and tiger kingdom are our reccomendations). Easily the most luxurious place we stayed in while backpacking round thailand, but we guessed as its only £8 a night we could indulge a bit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.

Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
NITTAYAPORN POLSRI
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Typical SE Asia mid-range hotel – cheap, small, clean rooms. This place gains two stars for its big, included breakfast buffet and its great pool. It loses a point for catering (because of the great pool I suspect) to a loud, hard partying fraternity/sorority clientele. Who comes to Chiang Mai to sit by a motel pool all day and drink all night? Australians?

Also, gains half a star for communal showers with private stalls, plenty of hot water, and good pressure, and loses half a star for a staff that although friendly is reluctant to recommend any tourist activities that aren’t package deals with one of their contractors.

Finally, it’s worth noting that there is an exercise class for elderly Thai people that meets every morning at 6 a.m. in the alley behind the dormitory that faces the pool. They exercise to some pretty bizarre, very loud music. And they are led by a slightly less elderly woman who is apparently only able to communicate through a PA. Her voice is also loud, bizarre. Did I mention that this happens at 6 a.m.?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Regarding to your comment the service of our hotel and staff we accept all you comment good and bad espcially noise from the pool by other guest that our management and head department we will take direct to improved and control by our policy

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Bloody fantastic! I nearly cried before I left!
I stayed 10 nights, I have been travelling for 2months, and this is the best place I have stayed, and would beat any 3star hotel in Spain!
Amazing wifi, amazing air con, amazing breakfast, amazing pool, amazing people!
A little out of town, but it's in a nice area with a cheap 30baht dinner man in the cafe across the road, 20baht into town but we had bikes so was pretty easy! I would one hundred percent to recommended if stay in Chiangmai, I would go back tomorrow! The beds are comfy, crisp white sheets and duvets!!! Book over 4nights for 299baht a night! On promotion 150bahtM dorms are usually just two people!
Please stay here! Book through there website! The kindest staff working there and you can book travel and tours through Fon the tour girl :)
Amazing, loved Eco!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckent2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.

Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory about our room accomodation and other facilities , and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,
NITTAYAPORN POLSRI
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We intended to stay quite a while in the resort, but left after 2 nights.
The restaurant is dark and sombre, with heaps of mosquitoes (we are quite sure to have been stung by an AEDES and got DENGUE FEVER and had to be hospitalized!). At first the breakfast buffet looks like a good choice but it is absolutely tasteless ! The coffee undrinkable.

We didn't give a try to the restaurant...

The rooms are small, and there is nothing to put anything, no chair, no table, no hook.
It's very noisy, you can hear each step on the wooden floor outside the room as if it where in your own room.

The only thing I really liked is the open bathroom / toilet outside, and which very well kept.
And yes, the big pool is quite nice, too.
And yes again, the garden is quite charming, but too near the road. No quite place to find.

All in all, Eco Resort is not better than an average youth hostel.

Room Tip: Get a room next to the reception building and UPSTAIRS
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.


Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory, however, as result of your observation as specialy restaurant is dark and sobre , the mosquitoes our management have improved it all and always follow up

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.
Best regards,

Best regards,

NITTAYAPORN POLSRI
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews