We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vaule for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great vaule for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

When arriving to eco resort I found that the rooms are on the small side and they are very basic. We had bunk beds a table chair and a cupboard which we where able to lock with our own padlock which was handy. The linen was clean and they replaced the towels and made your bed daily. Our room was on the bottom floor with the men's bathrooms which was abit silly for us two girls who had to walk outside and back to a different floor to use the showers and toilets. The soundproofing is abit rubbish too as you can hear everything, even people walking down the corridor and at the time we stayed there was school kids staying who where being really noisy till late hours then waking us up by being loud in the morning. The pool was a great size and had a lot of sun loungers. The lady who can give you tour information was lovely, she booked us on an elephant day package and we requested the 8:30 time but they must have called her back and informed her that was full so she left us a lovely note saying she had to move our times, we didn't mind we just thought the note she left was really nice. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Night Bizarre or if you wanted a tuk tuk you could flag one on the way. The toilets and showers are clean although they don't replace the loo paper regularly enough and we never had the breakfast so we won't be able to comment. The Wifi's free and out of the places I've stayed in Thailand so far the signal for it is by far the best. All the staff where really nice and I'd defiantly stay here again for the price you pay, what more can you expect?

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Regarding to your comment the service of our hotel and staff we accept all you comment good and bad espcially noise and some construction taht we will take direct to step to improve

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    151
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
30
70
101
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This resort is great for location and is good fun. The Eco plants are lovely and the pool facilities is wonderful to have.

There were quite a few Mosquitos and the pool had a few bugs in it.
The rooms were clean and comfy and the showers were clean too. The wifi was strong but the breakfast was not so good.

The housekeeping team were not very accommodating as we wanted them to come back in an hour and they said no! Not helpful!

Worth staying as its cheap and different from any other place I have stayed in.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as result of your observation about breakfast were not good and housekeeping staff no service that have been training them to improve the service , We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had booked a dorm with 2 bunks for our family of four (2 kids, 6 and 9). The room was clean and we slept well! The shared bathrooms are clean and really nicely designed. The pool is large and kids had a lot of fun swimming and playing. The weakness of this place is really the breakfast. The food is good but they are always struggling to have enough food for everyone. Each morning, you have to «hunt» for your food before it is all gone! There is always more coming but it can wait for long minutes before more food comes to the buffet. We were always able to eat good breakfasts but we were always wondering how can they be so badly organized each day!
We had a really good time at the Eco Resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSBouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as result of your observation about breakfast were not enought slow to fill ,we are able to take directs steps to improve all your comment

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I get off from the Chiang Mai's airport, all taxi services charge an extra 40 bahts to go to Eco Resort because it is not located within the city's inner perimeter, but it is all worthy it.

Everybody comes to this location will have their eyes opened the moment they arrive. It is not like any traditional hotel, it is like a mini-rain forest with all kinds of tropical plants all over it.

All the furniture are neatly placed and in traditional thai style. The resort used to be an elementary school and got converted into the resort later on. It must be a private school with the facilities and the open spaces it offers, only private school settings can afford that.

The resort has a full size swimming pool with 5-6 lanes with competition standard. The L-shape pool has a section for children learning to swim.

It has 2 separate living quarters, the family sized ones and dormitory ones. The dormintory ones are for backpackers. Mostly 2 people sharing one room. The room is very spacious with high ceilings. Most importantly, the rooms are very neat and clean. Tropical plants are planted outside the windows to give you light and privacy.

The shared bathrooms are also well maintained with sinks in the center and all the toilets and shower rooms surrounding it. The bathroom area is also very clean and all sanity issues never pop up.

The restaurant area has both indoor and outdoor sections, again, very clean and well maintained. I stayed there for 2 days and had the chance to try out their complimentary breakfast twice. Nothing fancy but they well prepared with minor different entries daily. The food are very good and healthy. The mixed vegetables they offer every morning has a combination of freshly made and prepared vegetables one can sample heartily. They also offer different drinks every morning from lemon grass juice to chrysanthemum tea on top of the regular tea and coffee. They offer both western and thai style breakfast every morning that one should never pass.

The resort also offer travel advice and tour arrangement, a yoga room and various tables under shades for people to chat. Anyone can go and find your secret garden on your own. Many people stayed outside and talked till 2 or 3am in the morning.

The resort details can be looked up from their website and I have no regrets of choosing Eco Resort. If I have a chance to return to Chiang Mai, I would definitely choose to stay at Eco Resort again. With the low price they are charging and the high quality of room and board it offers, it is worth your every penny or baht. A must try for many first timers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here a couple of days in february. I must say that I've been to many many places in Asia. Living in Thailand for 1.5 year and always traveling around to explore new things. by recommendation from a friend of mine I booked a few nights at the ECO resort. Though, by reading this website i got slightly doubts after booking.

So we arrived at the resort and got our keys, the staff was friendly and helpfull. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The showers also clean enough and the whole place is in a nice ECO setting. we relaxed a bit at the swimming pool which is big enough for a whole bunch of people.

Everything so far was perfect. Read bad stories about the breakfast so the next morning with my doubts we walked to to restaurant. To my surprise everything was clean full and delicious. Western food, rice, vegetables, fruits, juices, coffee, eggs and so on.

This made me realise that not everyone expects the same. I think that people should carefully look to the price value of things before writing a bad review. Compared to the prices they charge you get way more than in any other place. And if anyone can tell me places where you get for 700THB a night (for 2 persons in a room so only 350THB a person) A clean, nice room, big swimming pool, and a tastefull breakfast I hope want to share that with me but in the hundreds of places i've stayed in Thailand I never found it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as some result of your observation we will take direct step to approve all.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked this hotel from home before I left for my travels. I had the intention in spending a little extra for a private room (and pool access) so that I could recover from my 36 hours of transit. But after having stayed at some other guest houses in Chiang Mai, this place is ok (nothing extraordinary), relatively clean, a really nice pool, quite a few mosquitos and the included breakfast was alright. I wouldn't not recommend this place, I just think that you can find just as good or better for A LOT cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as result of your observation about breakfast , construction , we are able to take directs steps to improve all your comment

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

There is nothing I could see as particularly Eco here - perhaps another marketing trick?
And I see comments from the hotel manager going back to January about improving the breakfast but I'm here now and it sounds very much the same. How long does it take to provide better quality suppliers in Chiang Mai - I think a week or two would do it.
The pool is great, and a good size for people who like to do laps. There's a shallow area too, so would be safe for young children too.
The advantage of being out of the centre of town is the quiet, rrelaxed atmosphere but we've spent quite a lot on taxis and tuktuk to get into town to find more variety of places to eat.
We had lunch here yesterday and it was really good but we were the only people in the restaurant.
Our room was in the old school house - small but clean with ensure shower and loo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Regarding to your comment the service of our hotel and staff we accept all you comment good and bad espcially for the varity of food in the breakfast and good quality for food supplie even we growed organic vegetable by our staff sucs as salad and friut we have been set up at the breakfast everyday however for other that your bad commen we will try the best to improve

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#183 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#143 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#50 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#77 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 109 Bumrungrad Road | Wat Kate Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Resort Chiang Mai, a new development from Imm Hotel Group, offers value accommodation for nature lovers. With Ecological, environmental and economy awareness, we create with attention to simplicity in design and service that fulfill fundamental needs of travelers who are looking for a pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Eco Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing