We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice For Backpackers And Those Who Just Want To Relax By The Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

OK I spent three weeks here in January whilst doing a course. I was in the accommodation block by the pool. The accommodation in that consists of simple rooms equipped with air conditioning, a bed and a small table and not much else, including no TV, but wifi is available. The toilet block is down the hall and was always alive with mosquitoes, often lacking in toilet paper and in my experience empty bottles of shampoo, old plasters etc could hang around for days without being cleaned away. There was always hot water in the showers. The rooms suffered from lack of sound-proofing so late at night (early hours of the morning) you could be woken up by revellers turning up drunk etc. Some of the recent reviews confuse me. Firstly to say this is 'a bit out of town' is a joke it's actually in a great position and the centre of town is an easy walk or a quick ride away. And that same person who wrote it they could hear the sounds of the jungle, how? I mean really how, the jungle is a thirty minute drive away! The in-house tour people are based next to the cafe and provide a very good and helpful service, you can even hire motor bikes there. The swimming pool and the gardens are beautiful as is the original colonial style property. The staff in my experience were both helpful and efficient. The cafe food was nothing too exciting but instead of moaning why not walk across the road to the cafes, some people will moan about anything! I never ever experienced the bathrooms being overcrowded and in the time I was there the place was very busy. As for "Eco Resort" personally I would like to know if it's just a name or is there some substance behind it?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acerockolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Regarding to your comment the service of our hotel and staff we accept all you comment good and bad for our hotel room, toilet paper and cleand , food and other facility , however for he other that your bed commen we will take direct to step to improve all.

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Eco Resort Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 368 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in double private room. The location was outside of the central city, so it was nicely quiet and peaceful. It was a pleasure coming back to the resort from outside.The gate guard was always polite and kept an eye on the place.

I must say that it is not a 4star hotel (as it is rightly advertised), rather somewhere between hostel and guesthouse. So with that price range, it is hard to criticise the average breakfast, slight lack of privacy (the next room was filled with students sometime) etc etc. They do make an effort.

I enjoyed their breakfast, we bought the mosquito killer in town which worked, and loved the Thai local food market nearby for dinner. Room was cleaned everyday nicely, air conditioning working fine, and the swimming pool was really really nice.

Day tour they organised was fabulous. It is easy to get into the central town by tuk tuk, but I found the enjoyment of Chiang Mai is really going outside on tour, not much in busy central.

I recommend this resort if you do not mind a bit of hostel atmosphere. I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as result of your observation about breakfast , construction , we are able to take directs steps to improve all your comment

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The place is a good value but the front desk staff are the rudest people I have ever encountered. Totally uncaring, unhelpful and completely disrespectful. Please either fire or retrain your front desk staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.


Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory asfron office staff , room , and other facilities , however, as result of your observation about food we are able to take directs steps to improve your comment, and will training our front office staff

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,

NITTAYAPORN POLSRI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After enduring one night in our mosquito infested room (with no mosquito net) we requested a room change. when that was denied, we said we'd rather stay somewhere else and could they please refund the charge for the 2nd night we had booked. They said no, and added that "no one can control mosquitos". Which is funny because at the Empress hotel which we ended up staying at, they had achieved this very same miracle.

Apart from the bugs and the rude and un-helpful staff, this place has a few other deficiencies and i'm really surprised at the positive ratings on trip advisor, which I usually trust so much. The breakfast is not good and the hotel doesn't serve enough for all the occupants. unless you get to breakfast really early, you'll probably be relegated to the Eastern options. fruit and eggs are gone and never replenished.

Also, the bathrooms are very crowded. the hotel allows public access to its pool and the guest bathrooms double as a public restroom for anyone using the olympic sized pool on the premises. In fact, the whole ambiance is very at odds with the "eco resort" name: from the large chlorine saturated pool to the preponderance of concrete and the cinder-block dormitory style rooms.

I would strongly recommend avoiding this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us

Regarding to your comment the service of our hotel and staff we accept all you comment good and bad espcially for the food , Mosquitions in room , and other facility, however for he other that your bad commen we will take direct to step to improve all.

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We switched rooms mid stay, so bear with us.
First, we stayed in the less expensive cost-effective, hostel-type portion. The accommodations are nice clean and tidy. The Bathroom area was a round about with toilets on one half and shower rooms on the other which is a bit of a novelty in Asia. Several of the rooms nearby had a lot of people staying in them. The traffic during the night was difficult for us because there was no sound absorption and we were adjusting from EST. I would recommend this for someone on a budget and wouldn't hesitate to stay in this part again.
However, staying poolside was more our speed. The rooms were very similar, but the structure was poured concrete so we didn't hear the foot traffic through the night.

The food offerings were average and breakfast was extensive and varied each morning.

Room Tip: The Buildings closer to the pool seemed to be less noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanyandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility. however, as result of your observation about breakfast , construction , we are able to take directs steps to improve all your comment

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Eco for 3 nights just before New Years. I was supposed to be in a shared room but ended up being in a double all by myself at no extra charge, so that was great.
Room was very clean and functional and there is free wireless everywhere!
Breakfast is OK though if you come late (9:30am) there is hardly any left. I didn't try the pool but it looked very clean and inviting. They even have a couple of cross trainers you can use from very early in the morning.
Location is outside the river that is West of the city walls, so you have to get a Songthaew to the West gate (cost: 40 baht or 60 in the evening).
Staff is very lovely and helpful (especially the lady booking the trips) and you can rent adaptors for 50baht.
All in all it's a great hotel, very reasonably priced in a quiet area. If only it were a touch closer to town...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netty1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent comments following your stay with us at Eco Resort Chiang Mai.


Whilst we were happy to note that you found service satisfactory as room , food, and other facilities , however, as result of your observation about food we are able to take directs steps to improve your comment,

Your co-operation in bringing this to our attention is much appreciated, and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again in the near future.

Best regards,

NITTAYAPORN POLSRI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked Eco Resort in the morning of the day we flew up from Bangkok. We managed to get a great deal last minute so booked for a week.
The rooms are fine, quite bare but me and my girlfriend only really need them to sleep. Communal showers and toilets with our deal which was fine for us. I small walk into the centre or 60Bhat on a tuk tuk.
The place is nice and peaceful and has a swimming pool which we were more than happy with being on a budget. I definitely recommend it, We managed to get £11 a night including breakfast for us both.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't pay more than 60 Bhat for a Tuk Tuk.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitt_8, General Manager at Eco Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. We are happy to note that you found our service satisfactory, room, food and other facility.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel.

Best regards,
Nittayaporn Polsri
Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#151 of 387 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#192 of 387 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 387 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 387 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#68 of 387 in Chiang Mai
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 109 Bumrungrad Road | Wat Kate Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 888 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $18 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Resort Chiang Mai, a new development from Imm Hotel Group, offers value accommodation for nature lovers. With Ecological, environmental and economy awareness, we create with attention to simplicity in design and service that fulfill fundamental needs of travelers who are looking for a pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eco Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing